We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #10 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

I will be recommending this hotel to everyone i know who plans on visiting Istanbul. The service is close to if not of a 5 star standard. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the rooms are spacious and well decorated. Its perfectly located for anybody visiting the city for the first time as its walking distance to all the big historical sites and to the convenient tram line should you wish to leave the old town. If I return to the city I will definitley stay again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Irf83
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,480
    347
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
533
1,496
151
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, especially Ms Serap at guest relation. She is good. Cosy room, comfortable bed, reasonable location. Room is small with damp odor for > USD 350 per nite. This is my first stay for three nights in Istanbul and would try other hotel as there are many good recommendation at Tripadvisor.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank EYSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki Region, Greece
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Sultania is most likely the best hotel you'll find in Sultanahmet, the number of positive reviews have a reason.
The location is ideal, a minute walk to Gulhane tram stop and a few to the major attractions of the old city Agia Sofia, Top Kapi etc.
Rooms are spotlessly clean and so is the whole hotel, breakfast is superb and waiting stuff were efficient.
The decoration of the room was simply GREAT and since it´s always a main reason to choose accommodation we were easily impressed once we got in. There is an ottoman touch everywhere from the sofa to the sink, five star amenities and the room we stayed at 1306 was very very spacious (bathroom was small but that´s ok) with even speakers above our bed. Honestly one of the most well decorated rooms I have ever seen. Tv is a bit small though and the dvd player provided looks outdated.
What needs to be fixed is their elevator which is tiny and we had to walk down the stairs most of the time, but they are working on it I guess.They also charge you for the Hammam and Sauna and that´s due to the number of hotels using the common facilities there.

Last but not least is our impression for the rest of the stuff.
They totally met all our requests and the main guy at the front desk cleared up a misunderstanding regarding our accommodation´s extension within a few minutes.
HOWEVER boutique hotels are not Hiltons or any other 300+ room hotels so maybe they should be more focused to every individual guest and that's something we didn't quite feel.
Our unique Guest Relation, Concierge and Hospitality person there was Semih who communicated welcome with a smile and made us feel like home.They also offered gifts at the time of departure which was a nice gesture.

Overall a unique and unforgetable experience in the city of the cities

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ioans81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I've just returned from a weekend in Istanbul staying at the Hotel Sultania.

The hotel & room were lovely, with nice touches such as complimentary drinks, pastries & Turkish delight on arrival.

All of the staff were lovely and extremely helpful. Helping with directions, tips on how to get around the city and arranging cabs.

On arriving back at the hotel late one night, when the staff realised I was celebrating my birthday, they brought out into the reception area the most delicious birthday cake with candle and sang happy birthday!

We had drinks in the roof top restaurant at the hotel next door (great views but slow service).

Room had a interesting bathroom arrangement with the door to the en suite doubling as the shower door, which took a few moments to work out.

Great central location - walking distance to the Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, cisterns and grand bazaar.

Would go back to Istanbul and stay in this hotel again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferH105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have just returned from a four night stay at this hotel.We were given an excellent welcome with a complementary drink on our arrival. All the staff were most helpful,the rooms are quite unlike the usual you get in most hotel chains, each having some unique features. An Iron and ironing board in the wardrobe was a useful feature.The breakfasts offered great variety and the service was generally excellent. The location is excellent with most of the cities historic sites within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodneyW352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

At arrival we were surprised with coffee or thea and cake, during the time we were registered as a guest.
We had a room for three persons next to the elevator, so we thought this would give a lot of noise, but we didn't here it once. In the room there where a double and a single bed (real bed) with indirect lighting beneath.
The room was spacious and very clean.
This hotel has also a very good restaurant (olive), which has a normal european price but now with great food.
Other restaurants are also good, and somewhat less expensive, but the quality of the Olive restaurant is very good and it has a very nice view of topkapi and Aya Sofia.

The breakfast in the morning is incredible! I would like to point out that they have honey directly from the honeycomb (very special and delicious).

The only small negative point was the quality of the sound from the seperate speakers (above the main bed).

When we went home we got a nice present and when they said goodbye it felt like leaving friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard van der Rijt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I recently organized a small company meeting / retreat (25 ppl) at Hotel Sultania and its sister hotel next door, the Yasmak Sultan. Throughout the preliminary process (all done remotely, via email) the hotel was very kind, professional and accomodating of our constantly changing demands. Once we arrived, the setup and management of the group and meeting was impeccable, and ultimately (considering most attendees stayed in the less expensive Yasmak Sultan) quite affordable. The staff was tremendous, and made me feel that my requests were of the highest priority; the room was adorable, with a new 'gift' (flower, etc) on the bed every day; the breakfast was one of the most sumptuous I've seen. The location was safe and ideal for touristing (not, however, for nightlife - which is relatively near but definitely requires a taxi). Would highly recommend for both boutique business and personal travel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCvoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,187 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#17 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#5 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,915 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#4 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,941 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#12 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Property: Hotel Sultania
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing