We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous - location, service, breakfast....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #13 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous - location, service, breakfast....”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Hi, just back from 5 nights in Istanbul at the Sultania. Nothing bad to say. Great location centrally located (5-10 min walk) between the Spice Market, Grand Bazaar, Palace, Aya Sophia and the Blue Mosque. Lovely rooms and the staff and service across the board was sensational - nothing too difficult, relaxed, friendly, helpful. Great breakfasts, views from the Olive restaurant/bar on the roof. Good food options at every turn nearby as well.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,479
    347
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
533
1,496
150
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is a rare hotel that strives to please and achieves. One of the highlights is a breakfast that is hard to beat anywhere in the world for diversity, quality and service. Where else is there a hotel catering for a modest number of guests that you could expect to be tempted with such variety of well presented local delicacies as well as including a hot buffet and chef prepared omelettes and waffles? My favourites were locally grown, red, dried apricots and smoked trout. The catering staff were delightful. We experienced excellent customer service that included advice and sourcing of myriad tours.
If pressed, the few niggles include American "pop" music played over the sound system and an annoying picture of a burning fire displayed on a TV screen at breakfast. It also took us a few days to work out the quirky shower cubicle system, attached to each bedroom, that involved moving a door through 180 degrees and leaving the toilet exposed to the bedroom!
But this has to be one of the highest rated hotels we have visited due mainly to staff attention to detail. We have no hesitation in giving this hotel a very high recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickcrabbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Thanks to Trip Advisor, we booked for 5 nights in this hotel (16-21 March 2014. So glad we did. Delightful welcoming staff; good location sufficiently off the beaten track so that noise is not an issue but close to tramline and all centrally located historic must sees. Fabulous room, on 4th floor with balcony, unusual, exotic even, clean, spacious. 24-hour reception, nothing too much trouble; all staff friendly and helpful - special mention to Gursoy.
Offered tea on arrival and departure; even a small gift to us both on departure; really good breakfast, no stinting on what you could have, and great coffee.
We had a massage, used the haman and swimming pool; peaceful, relaxing and worthwhile (rather expensive),

Room Tip: There is no view from the rooms as the building opposite is very close but it was nice to have a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The transfer worked smoothly and the welcome was friendly. We enjoyed the spacious and exotic room, amazing lighting over the canopy, under the bed and everywhere else you would normally expect it. The glass bathroom wall was etched with a tasteful, semi-clad concubine. We had the package which included 2 free transfers, a meal, a trip on the Bosphorus, a complimentary bottle of wine and thought it good value at 167 euros (for 2). The position is perfect for the key sights - just stroll to the Topkapi, Agia Sofia, the Blue Mosque. We found the upstairs restaurant pleasant but a little gloomy with its overhead lighting. Breakfast offered a terrific choice of good quality food (real honeycomb, fresh pomegranates, omelettes to order but coffee was dreadful). We met with nothing but courtesy although we did have a small confusion about departure times but this was resolved. My husband tried the swimming pool which was nice but the changing arrangements were a little confused.

Room Tip: It is quieter not to have a street side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FGHB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at Sultania for 3 nights and it was superb. The location is fabulous, the hotel is little sand cosy but the staff takes the cake.

Nothing was ever any problem for them. Change in dates change in package, help with forex - No problem at all Sir!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guarangd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Where to start? Picked up by private transfer (€40 payable to hotel was way over the rates as we found out so don't book this as it is only 50TL for a taxi from the airport which is approx. €15) Arrived at hotel at approx. 1am to a very enthusiastic receptionist and concierge and we were offered tea and given a map showing us where we were and where all the main attractions were we were then given our key after what seemed like ages and shown to our room. We only had large denomination notes in TL therefore didn't give a tip and facial expressions showed us that there was disappointment. We came down for breakfast following morning which was lovely and plenty food to meet all tastes. We asked the lady at the hospitality desk about the Gallipoli trip and she made a call and told us that a rep would be with us in 10 minutes. Rep arrived and the cost was more that it would have been if we had booked it on the internet however as time was precious we just paid the price. This trip is worth the effort as it is a 4 hour drive to and from Gallipoli from Istanbul. All the main sites are what they say on the tin however make sure you visit the Basilica Cisterns across from the Hagia Sophia they are amazing and you get a chance to dress up. On the morning of our departure I had completed the hotel review and was about to put it into the box at the welcome desk when one of the male managers said No please give it to me and as I was entering into the breakfast area he said why did you only score a 3 (good) on information on reception I was a little embarrassed at this as there were people in the lobby and wasn't expecting an interrogation on my opinion which is what they wanted and I would have had no problem discussing on a one to one. My overall score was excellent and I would recommend. I understand that the hotel and hospitality is a major source of income however with the constant expectation by staff and generally to tipping just for smiling at that stage I almost wanted to change my overall scoring. This hotel was not cheap and the rooms are very comfortable and clean however I believe that the 5 star experience was not prevalent as mentioned by other reviewers (and we have stayed in 5 star hotels) and we certainly did not get any departing gifts as the other reviewers did maybe we just didn't tip enough!!!! Istanbul is fantastic and we will be returning however we will be a lot more prepared the next time. Location of this hotel is great but there are also many other hotels in the vicinity that I am certain also give a very good service therefore on my next return I will research more. I know I have put in a lot of negative comments and this should not reflect the hotel as it is lovely and small and really relaxing and the bed is super comfy - bathroom certainly not what you would have at home but I really liked it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrannigansClonmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Small room with view over alleyway. Bathroom tight but otherwise ok. Breakfast varied with pleasant staff serving. Lost count of the times our waffles were snaffled by others, they were good. Good point for sight seeing but don't be tempted to drive in city. Fab restaurant on top floor food alone makes it worthwhile then view to match. Be prepared to be hassled in city and pay over the odds for food. Interesting culture so be open minded

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BanjoAppleton56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
2,918 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3,185 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,129 in Istanbul
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#6 of 1,129 in Istanbul
2,914 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,129 in Istanbul
2,938 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#4 of 1,129 in Istanbul
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Property: Hotel Sultania
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing