We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #10 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

In every aspect, this was an amazing hotel.
One of the warmest welcomes we have come across in over 20 years of travelling.
Room was in a traditional ottoman style. Bathroom was slightly odd, however you get used to the format.
Breakfast was delicious especially the omelettes, variety of food and the service was amazing.
We enjoyed the apples, walnuts, hazelnuts and the apple/mint/lemon water for guests in reception.
Afternoon tea was also provided and always excellent.
The location of the hotel is perfect. We walked up to the Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque every evening. The Spice Market and Bosphorus are also walking distance.
Lots of interesting places to eat particularly Kitchen Blue which is around the corner from the hotel.
In conclusion, we enjoyed our stay and would happily return here and bring friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,085 - 1,091 of 2,960 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We booked direct with the hotel and got a fantastic deal for an 4 night stay. The taxi transfere from the airport worked perfectly , the driver was waiting for us as agreed.
Checking was smooth and there we arranged the trips and meal at the Oliv resturant .
The hotel is extremly well placed in the heart of the old town, and it was so easy to move around as a tourist from Sultania. It also felt very safe.
Right out the hotel there are several resturants, on our last night we ate at Pasazade. It was excellent ! Having said that so was the Oliv resturant at the hotel, here we had the best Meze of all we ate in Istanbul, and great choice of wines !
Being so well located this is an excellent choice for your trip to Istanbul , the tram stop is just down the road as is the New Metro over to the Asia side, it took just 4 mins and cost 3lir each way, well worth the trip and then take an hours Cruise for 10 lir - extremly cheap !
We had a delux double on the 4th floor, it was well equiped and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast is server until 11, great for tired tourists and they serve a wonderful spread, even eggs to order and different coffees.
We used the pool, it was warmed to 27 degrees , great after a hard day walking around.
We can without doupt reccomend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwedenAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and it lived up to our expectations.
Location:
The hotel was within a 10 min walk of most of the key sights on the old side of Istanbul. There were plenty of places to eat nearby with particular mention to the place next door....think it was called Pazadena?

Hotel:
The hotel itself has good facilities with a small pool and a small gym. I didn't try the spa but compared to prices elsewhere it looked a bit pricey. We stayed in two rooms during our time there both were nicely decorated, reasonably sized and well looked after. The only niggle that we had was the sound proofing. In the first room we stayed in there was a family next door with a child who cried a lot. As we were on a weekend away from our own children we asked if we could change rooms and this was seen to almost immediately. The food at breakfast was great and very tasty.

Service:
All the staff couldn't have been better. Anything we asked for or looked for help with was always answered with a smile. They really did seem to go out of their way to make your stay special.

A would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms hirer up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Located right in the centre of all the attractions with only 10 minutes walk to most places. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly, clean nice rooms and a great view from the lovely roof top restaurant. Would stay again. The spa downstairs was a little oasis where we had a massage by a great guy called Mehmet-I would advise everyone to give one a try he did my husbands back no end of good! Overall an excellent value for money hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Hi, just back from 5 nights in Istanbul at the Sultania. Nothing bad to say. Great location centrally located (5-10 min walk) between the Spice Market, Grand Bazaar, Palace, Aya Sophia and the Blue Mosque. Lovely rooms and the staff and service across the board was sensational - nothing too difficult, relaxed, friendly, helpful. Great breakfasts, views from the Olive restaurant/bar on the roof. Good food options at every turn nearby as well.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is a rare hotel that strives to please and achieves. One of the highlights is a breakfast that is hard to beat anywhere in the world for diversity, quality and service. Where else is there a hotel catering for a modest number of guests that you could expect to be tempted with such variety of well presented local delicacies as well as including a hot buffet and chef prepared omelettes and waffles? My favourites were locally grown, red, dried apricots and smoked trout. The catering staff were delightful. We experienced excellent customer service that included advice and sourcing of myriad tours.
If pressed, the few niggles include American "pop" music played over the sound system and an annoying picture of a burning fire displayed on a TV screen at breakfast. It also took us a few days to work out the quirky shower cubicle system, attached to each bedroom, that involved moving a door through 180 degrees and leaving the toilet exposed to the bedroom!
But this has to be one of the highest rated hotels we have visited due mainly to staff attention to detail. We have no hesitation in giving this hotel a very high recommendation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickcrabbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Thanks to Trip Advisor, we booked for 5 nights in this hotel (16-21 March 2014. So glad we did. Delightful welcoming staff; good location sufficiently off the beaten track so that noise is not an issue but close to tramline and all centrally located historic must sees. Fabulous room, on 4th floor with balcony, unusual, exotic even, clean, spacious. 24-hour reception, nothing too much trouble; all staff friendly and helpful - special mention to Gursoy.
Offered tea on arrival and departure; even a small gift to us both on departure; really good breakfast, no stinting on what you could have, and great coffee.
We had a massage, used the haman and swimming pool; peaceful, relaxing and worthwhile (rather expensive),

Room Tip: There is no view from the rooms as the building opposite is very close but it was nice to have a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,081 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,425 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#20 of 1,160 in Istanbul
2,145 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#9 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,005 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#26 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £59 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing