We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, comfortable, clean and welcoming!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #12 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Ravenna, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Central, comfortable, clean and welcoming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The old part of Istanbul, where the hotel is located near Topkapi Palace, is full of winding back streets and when we were first approaching the hotel by taxi we thought that it couldn't be such a great place ... but on arrival we were greeted by the friendly and informative staff and were shown to our room, which was splendidly modern and full of all the necessities that make your holiday comfortable. Great design! One evening we ate at the rooftop restaurant and the food was excellent. In general, everywhere we ate was very good, even in the bustling street cafes just outside the hotel.
We'd like to go back because we found it such a friendly break and all the staff were really obliging.
One thing .. I'd avoid the wine because it's very expensive. Living in Italy, we're used to good quality, cheaper wine. Here we had two great bottles of Turkish wine in two different restaurants but they ranged from 40 to 60 euros a bottle.

Room Tip: 5th floor was good. View not great, but that's compensated by the position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia_5590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,455
    346
    27
    7
    0
See reviews for
521
1,492
149
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in the Hotel Sultania. It has a great location and really is a 10 minute walk from all the main sites and 15 from the main bazaars.The welcome was very warm. Serap who checked us in was full of useful information and explained how together about. The breakfast was of a high standard. We did not have enough time to use the spa but it looked nice and again the staff were helpful. The room had every thing we needed except a view as we booked late and got a dark first floor room. It was comfortable and very clean so was fine as we were out so much. We would definitely go there again and would recommend it very highly

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect,in walking distance of all attractions in the old city.Each room has a character of its very own.Cosy,very cosy hotel.The staff are attentive and very curteous.We had only breakfast in the hotel which was more than acceptable.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the high floors for a bit of peace and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c01sl0ugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stay with friends. Friendly, helpful, and resourseful. Feels like friends. Close to the sights of "Old Istanbul" and the Blue Mosque and the Haga Sophia, and great places to eat and drink. Walk out and you are in the heart of Turkish life. Safe, nice rooms (get one on the top floor), and wonderful breakfast buffet. Five Stars!
wmbrain

Room Tip: Top floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank w l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

In every aspect, this was an amazing hotel.
One of the warmest welcomes we have come across in over 20 years of travelling.
Room was in a traditional ottoman style. Bathroom was slightly odd, however you get used to the format.
Breakfast was delicious especially the omelettes, variety of food and the service was amazing.
We enjoyed the apples, walnuts, hazelnuts and the apple/mint/lemon water for guests in reception.
Afternoon tea was also provided and always excellent.
The location of the hotel is perfect. We walked up to the Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque every evening. The Spice Market and Bosphorus are also walking distance.
Lots of interesting places to eat particularly Kitchen Blue which is around the corner from the hotel.
In conclusion, we enjoyed our stay and would happily return here and bring friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We booked direct with the hotel and got a fantastic deal for an 4 night stay. The taxi transfere from the airport worked perfectly , the driver was waiting for us as agreed.
Checking was smooth and there we arranged the trips and meal at the Oliv resturant .
The hotel is extremly well placed in the heart of the old town, and it was so easy to move around as a tourist from Sultania. It also felt very safe.
Right out the hotel there are several resturants, on our last night we ate at Pasazade. It was excellent ! Having said that so was the Oliv resturant at the hotel, here we had the best Meze of all we ate in Istanbul, and great choice of wines !
Being so well located this is an excellent choice for your trip to Istanbul , the tram stop is just down the road as is the New Metro over to the Asia side, it took just 4 mins and cost 3lir each way, well worth the trip and then take an hours Cruise for 10 lir - extremly cheap !
We had a delux double on the 4th floor, it was well equiped and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast is server until 11, great for tired tourists and they serve a wonderful spread, even eggs to order and different coffees.
We used the pool, it was warmed to 27 degrees , great after a hard day walking around.
We can without doupt reccomend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwedenAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and it lived up to our expectations.
Location:
The hotel was within a 10 min walk of most of the key sights on the old side of Istanbul. There were plenty of places to eat nearby with particular mention to the place next door....think it was called Pazadena?

Hotel:
The hotel itself has good facilities with a small pool and a small gym. I didn't try the spa but compared to prices elsewhere it looked a bit pricey. We stayed in two rooms during our time there both were nicely decorated, reasonably sized and well looked after. The only niggle that we had was the sound proofing. In the first room we stayed in there was a family next door with a child who cried a lot. As we were on a weekend away from our own children we asked if we could change rooms and this was seen to almost immediately. The food at breakfast was great and very tasty.

Service:
All the staff couldn't have been better. Anything we asked for or looked for help with was always answered with a smile. They really did seem to go out of their way to make your stay special.

A would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms hirer up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#15 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#6 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#7 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Property: Hotel Sultania
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing