We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every comfort is there...”
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #11 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had been recommended Hotel Sultania by friends. Excellent location, wonderful breakfasts. It is a boutique hotel so the bedrooms are not enormous but every comfort is there. My husband left something behind in the safe and the Manager contacted us immediately and made provision for its return without being asked. Outstanding service. I treated myself to a spa massage in the Hammam; this was not my first but certainly the most thorough I have ever experienced. Friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevL757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,941)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sultania
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 2,941 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Excellent location. Great welcome on arrival with friendly knowledgeable staff and a refreshing glass of mint and apple water. Room was modern with all the conveniences but Turkish style. Breakfast offered a vast choice. Would definitely stay there again. Couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor possibly lower floors might experience street noise, but only might.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoshbirdCrowthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I really liked Hotel Sultania very much. Its location cannot be better, the service and kindness are outstanding. Breakfast is very nice and the roof top restaurant offers delicious food at very reasonable prices. Topkapi Palace ist at 5 minutes walk, Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque a mere 10 minutes. Outside the door there are dozens of restaurant to choose from, just opposite is wonderful Hatay restaurant, always full, always excellent. Why do I hestitate to give five stars ?
If this hotel wouldn't have been so pricey I would have given five stars. But at this price level I would expect a more spacious room and a real bathroom, not just a small cell of glass integrated in the sleeping room. Quality of the construction is not a problem, all is of high quality, but at this price level you should have at least a separate toilett further away from the bed and a bathtub. Rooms are vey nice - but just a little disapponting when you look at your bill. What is even a bit more disappointing is that they charge you 10 Euro for using the sauna and the hammam ! This is an absolute no-go for a hotel which charges around 200 Euro a night !

Besides these issues: a wonderful place with dedicated staff in a perfect location. But I'm pretty sure there is similar quality in Istanbul for less money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stefandreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had 5 day stay and took up offer of Istanbul Explorer package. Every bit was great. Fast efficient and comfortable transfer, great welcome, superb room, olive restaurant amazing views, spa massages wonderful, bosphorous cruise fab. Location perfect for all other sight seeing. However, what makes this hotel stand out was the team. Everyone we met was charming, helpful, and really wanted to make our stay special. You can't put a value on that. First Class!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agscamden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I am sure if I wrote a large review on this hotel, I would run out of superlatives to describe it.
From the hotel booking through to hotel departure, nothing is too much effort.
I stayed there recently for my anniversary weekend with my wife and 7 month old.
Aside from a lovely, unique room, we have a 1/2 bottle of wine, a welcome gift, various sweets, a beautifully made up crib, and a personalised welcome note.
The private transfer through the hotel was superb, our bags were whisked away on arrival, and the check in was smooth.

Every single member of staff was top notch. Friendly, courteous, and nothing was an issue. And they loved Euan. Constantly trying to make him smile. The hotel valet was extra keen to please, rushing out of the room he was cleaning to give you a smile and a 'Good Morning'.

The location is spot on. Plenty of restaurants (and good ones) on the street, which is extremely close to the main tourist sites. We could walk to Topkapi & Aya Sophia in 10 minutes with a pushchair.
Even though there is was a bar right outside, it never kept us awake, even when the USA played in the late game.

I cannot recommend this place enough. You simply have to stay.

Room Tip: Any room is a good one!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neiljgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had an amazing experience, right in the middle of Sultanahmet where all the sites are, good place to relax after a busy day of walking! Rooms are very soundproof so unable to hear anything outside! Buzzing with restaurants outside and of course cannot forget to mention amazing cocktails as well as good variety of breakfast and ask for Turkish tea for the full experience!
As for the staff cannot find any faults at all! They were all very attending. Serep and Hilmi gave us useful information of where to go in Istanbul. Semih and Arafa watched the football matches with us, Kahraman with his knowledge of greetings of pretty much all the languages.
Would definitely go there again and highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linasal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had an amazing time at Hotel Sultania. The location was perfect - within walking distance of the Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, spice market, various museums, a multitude of restaurants, and of course the beautiful sea. There was a tram station nearby, but staff were kind to call taxis for us (with a meter) when needed.
The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. They made us feel very much at home. Thanks to everyone, especially Gursoy, Hilmi, and Semmi.
We booked a deluxe suite, which was quite spacious. The room was kept clean daily and we always had fresh towels - thank you. There was a nice spread for breakfast and the made to order eggs and waffles were a nice touch. We were very grateful for the cool lemon/mint/apple water and afternoon spread of bread and cake available in the lobby, especially after a busy morning of sightseeing. Cocktails from the Olive restaurant were second to none.
Overall, my friends and I would highly recommend the luxurious Hotel Sultania, and will definitely be staying here again during our next trip to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,161 in Istanbul
3,043 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,161 in Istanbul
3,382 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,161 in Istanbul
2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,161 in Istanbul
2,115 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#6 of 1,161 in Istanbul
2,992 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#27 of 1,161 in Istanbul
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £68 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing