We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in a Crazy City”
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #11 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I had a fantastic stay at the Sultania in June. The staff are so friendly and helpful and really treat guests like royalty. They couldn't have done more to help us and advise us on the best sites and experiences, we felt we had the inside track! The breakfast is amazing and set us up for the day, which was certainly needed for the full on city of Istanbul. We also ate in the roof top restaurant, which was great and has lovely views all over the city. Our room was beautiful, very clean and well appointed, and really quiet despite being above the main street. Its a real retreat from the madness and crowded streets and feels like a luxury hotel without the price tag! We loved it, just wished we'd stayed a bit longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lollyjampot82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,000 - 1,006 of 3,008 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great hotel! Very professional and attentive staff specially the Concierge Arafa very helpful young
gentleman who provided all the information that we needed for our stay during the check in and booked a great Bosphorus Dinner and show boat Tour for us. Our room was lovely, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast buffet is excellent and the staff is extremely kind and helpful.
10 minutes walk to the main attractions of the old city, awesome location!
We definitely highly recommend this hotel, and we would love to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Yadira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

One Thousand and One Nights or more is the time that I could spend here, in this superb Hotel.
Like its name Sultania, you will feel like a Sultan.
We spent here 5 nights in July. Check In and Check Out in minutes, giving you all information that require.
Nothing is much trouble for this wonderful staff, always smiling and attentive.
Superb Location in the Heart of the Old City, walking distance (I mean 5/10 minutes) to some of the biggest spots in Istanbul, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Shophia, Blue Mosque, Gran Bazaar, Galata Bridge, etc. Tram Stop just couple of streets away and lots of Restaurants and Bars around, so location is just Perfect.
Spotless Room and Public Areas. When you walk in the corridor and in your room you think that you are on a tale, decoration is beautiful. Our Room no 1303 was a "normal" one and it was just perfect so I can't imagine a Suit.. Plenty space to tidy your clothes, lights all around, mirrors, sofat, complementary Coffee and Tea, anyway everything that you need. The room smell gorgeous.
What else can I say, just go and you will see.
Thanks to all of Staff, it has been one our best holidays ever. We will come back.

Room Tip: We had room no 1303 (third floor) and was perfect I think all of them they are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiriamEndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a very lovely stay at the Sultania, for six nights in June. I am an older, fussier traveler - and was completely comfortable and happy in this hotel. The staff was very helpful and accommodating; they helped us efficiently and kindly with a number of requests throughout our stay.

The location of the hotel cannot be beat - easy walking distance around the old city, and to top attractions such as the Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi and the Archeological Museum, the Grand Bazaar, etc. The tram is just a block and a half away. Istanbul is not an easy city to get around, and while taxis are plentiful and inexpensive, be sure to have your destination written in Turkish for the driver. We had some trouble at times getting back to the hotel - even with the name of the hotel - and finally realized we could provide the driver with the name of the tram stop nearby (Gulhane) and that worked great. There were many good restaurants and markets of all sorts in the blocks surrounding the hotel.

Breakfast was excellent at the Sultania; eggs available cooked to order, varieties of cereals, breads, yogurt, fruit, cheeses and meats, etc. - as was espresso, fresh juice, and other drinks. In the afternoon, tea and coffee, bread, pastries and fruit were offered in the lobby. The hotel also left "Turkish treats" in our room - a date and nut confection.

We stayed in Room 1503, a suite, and we highly recommend it. It is a corner room with a small balcony at the top of the hotel. Since there are height restrictions on buildings in Istanbul, we didn't have long views, but it was lovely to have such openness.

A special thanks to the great concierge staff - Serap, Hilmi, and colleagues, to the very cheery and kind breakfast staff, and housekeepers. We look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Our corner suite, 1503, was very comfortable and lovely; highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maryjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A lovely clean hotel with welcoming, attentive staff. We had a lovely room on the 4th floor with a small balcony, the room was spotless. We returned from breakfast to find the room had already been cleaned.
The location is spot on and everywhere that we wanted to see was no more than a 15 minute walk away.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, they couldn't have done enough for us.
The breakfast had a huge choice of fresh food and would suit all tastes. It was lovely sitting outside each morning, eating and watching the world go by. We also used the rooftop bar in the Olive Restaurant which had lovely views.
It was our wedding anniversary so we went as a couple but I would return again with our teenage sons to the same hotel. I'm already recommending it to friends who are thinking of visiting Istanbul.

Room Tip: We were pleased with our 4th floor room that faced out onto the Main Street (room 1404) It wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were delighted after a long day of travel from the States to arrive at the Sultania. Its location down narrow cobblestone streets is scenic and convenient to the historical sites, as well as the Grand and Spice Bazaars. The staff is very helpful and gracious, and the rooms are exotic, like the city, without being kitschy. We had a triple room and the staff immediately set up an extra bed for the third person that was actually a bed, and not a flimsy rollaway. Breakfasts were fantastic; the made-to-order eggs and omelets were a nice touch for westerners, but the local and bountiful Turkish breakfasts, complete with an entire honeycomb, were amazing. For a nearby dinner the Pasazade restaurant at the Hotel Erboy was very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamilleInVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had an absolutely lovely stay in this hotel. The reviews were all great and we were delighted that the hotel lived up to our high hopes. We stayed there over both of our birthdays and the hotel provided cakes, candles and made us feel really special. We couldn’t recommend it more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,173 in Istanbul
3,158 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,173 in Istanbul
3,557 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,173 in Istanbul
3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#27 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,377 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,173 in Istanbul
2,204 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#7 of 1,173 in Istanbul
3,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £50 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing