We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top spot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #13 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Top spot.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Brilliant tourist location. Close to everything historical you would wish to see on a short visit.
Great and friendly staff. Very efficient and helpful.
Just lovely and charming quiet rooms which are generous in size and features.
Lovely old fashioned courtesies were performed by staff throughout our stay.
The breakfast spread is terrific.
Close to some very good affordable restaurants.
Lovely pool and health spa.
Try the Turkish Bath with massage. Just great !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,479
    347
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
533
1,496
150
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Everyone at this hotel went out of their way to make our stay a good one. From our late arrival (we hit Istanbul just as Ramadan was ending and the traffic was at a standstill) to our restaurant bookings, to room service, everything was tremendously smooth and responsive. Laundry was returned in a wonderful condition within a few hours. The roof top restaurant was sensational. Reception went out of their way to assist with delivering our hire car back and booking our airport transfer. The room was large, well furnished, comfortable - perfect for our needs. Thanks to everyone on the staff who made it such a warm and pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Hotel Sultania is a smallish boutique affair tucked away on a relatively quite Old Town street. But don't let the "tucked away" description turn you off, as the Sultania is, in fact, ideally positioned just steps from Topkapi Palace, and a short walk from the Sultan Ahmet Park, Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Hippdrome, the Fountain of Keiser Wilhelm II, and more. We booked too late to snag a larger and better appointed deluxe room. But our standard room was more than adequate -- pleasantly decorated, very clean, with adequate wifi and a free full breakfast included in the price of the room. The best part, however was the staff. They couldn't have been kinder or more accommodating. The Hotel Sultania was a very good value, and we will most certainly return on our next vista to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room, which is worth the up charge from the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights with another family as part of a 3 stop holiday around Turkey. It was our first trip to Turkey and we used Trip Advisor to help us select our destinations / hotels. The location of the hotel is fantastic, within 5 / 10 mins walking distance of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and the Basilica Cistern. The Grand Bazaar, Galata Bridge and the Spice Market are about 15 mins walk away, plus there is a modern and efficient / cheap tram system running close by for getting further afield. The hotel was well fitted out / clean / comfortable and the staff were excellent and very helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A group of us stayed in this hotel for a few nights before a cruise in July 2014. Each of us had nice rooms, and each had a different layout. The rooms are surprisingly spacious, very clean, and mine had a great balcony. The decor is old-world charm with traditional furniture and a comfortable bed.

It is located in the central part of the old city in a very convenient location. The staff was great, the linens were great, and breakfast was included (although the breakfast wasn't anything to write home about).

I think the value was great for the room and would recommend it.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallTexan75229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I visited hotel Sultania with my girlfriend. During the week we were there, we both celebrated birthdays. I had written to the hotel in advance to warn them of this, and to book the "romance package" that they offered on their website.

When we got there, we were very impressed by both the decor and the proximity of the hotel to all of the main attractions in the city. We were happy to see that complementary snacks were left on our bed for when we arrived and there were lots of complementary snack and drinks available in the hotel lobby.

When it came to our birthdays, we were spoilt with a birthday cake, and much to my delight, the hotel waived the cost of the "romance package" as a treat to my girlfriend on her birthday. It really was a wonderful thing to do, and made us feel very fortunate.

Overall, the staff at the hotel were all very welcoming and friendly, and were more than willing to help with everything they could. If ever in Istanbul again, we would definitely look into staying at Hotel Sultania again.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the main street, which can be slightly louder, but not so much as to detract fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

There can be nothing more pertinent to say than this hotel offers all that one needs for a wonderful start to a stay in Istanbul. Fantastic staff. Excellent rooms. Great breakfast. We had two stays here over a month and can find no fault in any aspect. So close to the sights of Istanbul. Tram nearby. Short walk to the port. Right in the heart of the old city. Excellent.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seagull90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
2,919 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3,183 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,129 in Istanbul
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#6 of 1,129 in Istanbul
2,914 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,129 in Istanbul
2,938 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#4 of 1,129 in Istanbul
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Property: Hotel Sultania
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing