We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #13 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

What can I say. This hotel is just awesome. We got the honeymoon suite and I was wowed by the traditional decor. The staff were lovely and there was a good range of food for breakfast. The location of the hotel meant we didn't need to catch a taxi to see all the lovely sights of Istanbul like the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Grand Bazaar and Topkapi Palace. The bed was so comfortable and there was no noise at all from the streets as I had been led to believe by some reviewers. We were there during the Ramadan celebration so there was a lot of activities around. We cant wait to go back and this time we will definitely will be spending all my time staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bol Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,492
    350
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
536
1,508
151
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hassocks
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We've just returned from 5 nights at this hotel, and it pretty much lives up to the comments on TripAdvisor. We received a very warm welcome on arrival (probably a bit too warm for my British sensitivities) and had two rooms on the first floor overlooking the street restaurants. I was a bit nervous but there was no noise in the room at all; with the windows closed and the air con on we had perfect undisturbed sleep. The rooms are a bit small (especially by American standards), but the room was clean, the beds were comfortable and there was enough space to store clothing for 5 nights. The breakfasts were good too and everyone at the hotel was very pleasant. The hotel was conveniently located for all noteworthy places to visit, everything (well nearly) was within easy walking distance. It's a very pleasant place to start and end your day, and who visits a city like Istanbul to stay within the confines of your room ...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel is brilliantly located, within walking distance of Topkapi, Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. There is a tram line only a few hundred metres away with direct links to the Grand Bazaar and the Galata Bridge.

The staff are, probably, the best we have met anywhere. Professional, friendly and super-helpful.

Our room was a decent size and interestingly decorated. Each room is dedicated to a different Sultana(no, not a raisin).The AC worked perfectly but the wash hand basin is inside the room, separate from the toilet and shower facilities which are located in a glorified cubicle. A bit of a downer.

Breakfast is copious and caters for most tastes. The roof top restaurant is fairly priced with views of the Bosphorus and Hagia Sophia and the food is tasty and varied. The only fly in the ointment, but this is true of all restaurants in Istanbul, is the extortionate price of wine. Once again, the restaurant staff are superb.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Montrose65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Can't say enough about Sultania. From the moment you are greeted at the desk, to the really nice Turkish themed rooms, to the location, you can't miss with this hotel. It is located right in the old part of Istanbul just a short walk to the Blue Mosque area, close to the Golden Horn, right near many very good restaurants (Hatay being our favorite which is right out the door), and a very short walk to the Spice Bazar and Grand Bazar. Breakfast was always pleasant with a great staff serving you. When going to Istanbul, this is where you want to stay! Thanks Sultania for making our trip fantastic!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darrelldd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent our honeymoon in this beautiful king suite..its a lovely place, very friendly and helpful staff. Though the suite did not have a beautiful view, the room was so beautifully lit with lights. The complimentary breakfast was good too. Its centrally located which makes it an accessible place for all the attractions nearby. Really loved the stay there

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

great little hotel in the old part of town, wonderful WIFI super fast and stable.
staff really helpful made you feel welcome and appreciated. room was smaller than I am used to (600 SQ FOOT +) but I never felt camped, ingenious show toilet combo with beautiful painting on the glass doors. friendly staff to provide bountiful FULL breakfast in the AM I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We felt like home,hotel staff was very friendly,they helped a lot.Rooftop Olive Anatolian Restaurant dishes were delicious you have to try.Spa was not so big but enough for daily exercise.Turkish bath was perfect.Transfers to airport is well organized.I would definitely advise this hotel.
Summer time restaurants on the street is crowded so if you want a quiet room you have to mention it at the reception,they will help you.
We stayed at rooms 1407 and 1408 we were satisfied.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Orkun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,234 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#12 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Property: Hotel Sultania
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing