We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like a sultan ! :)”
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #12 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feel like a sultan ! :)”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Everything was perfect! I love the room, the accommodation, the services and the people here ( especially Semih - ( girls he is sexy!! :) . The spa also is a place of heaven. I strongly recommend!
Ps: I almost forget about the roof top restaurant - the atmosphere is very nice and the view is amazing!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Amalia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,520
    352
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
545
1,519
156
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our trip details - 2 nights in August 2014 in double room with balcony. My wife and I went for a few days break in Istanbul. If, like us, you have never been to Istanbul before then this review is for you:

1. You need to be based in the old city. Sultania is simply perfect for this, as it is in some charming narrow streets (traffic-free) five minutes walk from Sultanahmet, which is where you will need to be. It's also very near tram stations which will help you get around cheaply and easily if you want to go further afield.

2. Istanbul is frankly mad and you need an oasis of helpful calm with good English-speaking staff. Sultania has that and is staggeringly quiet. Once in our room we heard nothing. Even the aircon was whisper quiet and easily adjusted.

3. Breakfast was exceptional and varied, served by highly attentive staff. We also had tea and coffee facilities in our room (unusual in Turkey I believe).

4. The room was really big, well equipped and superbly decorated (exactly as shown in the room picture associated with this hotel entry on Trip Advisor). The bathroom was perfect with an enormous walk in shower, great for two people!

5. The roof top terrace restaurant and bar is lovely, has great views of the seafront and Hagia Sofia and, for us as visiting Brits, was really pretty cheap (I guess because the exchange rate works in our favour). Note that alcoholic drinks are European prices but that is normal in Turkey and this hotel is the same as everywhere else in that regard.

6. The restaurants opposite and next to the hotel (one serves good, traditional Turkish (kebabs etc) and the other serves Ottoman cuisine) are both fantastic and really well priced at less than £10 for main courses. There is little need to go further for food for a few days.

Overall this is one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had and I simply cannot fault it with one tiny exception: The 'creamer' provided with the tea and coffee facilities in the room was disgusting and made my tea taste vile. Take your own! In every other respect - PERFECT - and would gladly go back. THank you Sultania.

Room Tip: Use their offered transport to/from the airport. It's reasonably priced and good quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasmak Hotels T, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Tim H

Thank you for writing a review on tripadvisor.com. We do appreciate you took the time to write it and so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in our Hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us as our guest satisfaction is our main priority

We would love to welcome you back,

Warm Regards,

Guestrelations Menager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherwood, wi
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just got back from Turkey and our stay at the Hotel Sultania in Istanbul. The hotel is in a perfect location for visiting the main historical sights of Istanbul. It is in walking distance to the Blue Mosque and the water front. It is in a great location.

Breakfast was the only meal we ate at the hotel but it was excellent. A good choice of hot and cold food. I especially appreciated that the hot menu was changed everyday we were there. We stayed three days.

Our room was 1504 and I can highly recommend it. It was on the top floor and away from the street. It was quiet and the private patio, while not having a view was comfortable and quiet. The bed and bathroom were great. The only thing I did not like was that the tv was built into a mirror and was small....but that is a minor complaint.

The spa was nice, small and quiet. The service in the spa was good.

Overall this is a terrific small hotel with excellent and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musikmanSherwood_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasmak Hotels T, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear MusicmanSherwood,

Thank you for writing a review on tripadvisor.com. We do appreciate you took the time to write it and so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in our Hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us as our guest satisfaction is our main priority

We would love to welcome you back,

Warm Regards,

Guestrelations Menager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Looking for the perfect hotel in Istanbul then look no further than the Hotel Sultania. Located on a picturesque street in the heart of the old city it is within a 15 minute walk to the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern and Galata Bridge and ferries. The Covered Bazaar is 20 minutes or three stops away on the tram (fare: two Lira). The Gehane tram stop is five minutes away. As for the Sultania, it is more like a boutique hotel. The rooms are modern with all of the conveniences and spotlessly clean. Bathrooms are excellent with great showers. We had one of the smaller rooms with a balcony, but we thought it quite spacious Opposite the bed was a large mirror that turned out to be a television screen. The décor of the room was very tasteful. The bed was very comfortable. It was very quiet so one can have a restful night. The hotel provides a buffet breakfast that should satisfy with a huge variety of items including freshly made waffles. Service is very friendly and efficient. The neighborhood is very quaint and there are plenty of restaurants in the area. Exiting the hotel to the left and walking two blocks will bring you to Hoca Pasa Street which is like a restaurant row with reasonably priced food. All in all, the Sultania is a marvelous place to stay to enjoy this fascinating city.

Room Tip: We had a room with a terrace on the fifth floor. We understand that there are also rooms with views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelNili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasmak Hotels T, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear JoelNili

Thank you for writing a review on tripadvisor.com. We do appreciate you took the time to write it and so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in our Hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us as our guest satisfaction is our main priority

We would love to welcome you back,

Warm Regards,

Guestrelations Menager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We spent 2 nights at Hotel Sultania following a cruise. The location, accommodation and staff were all excellent and I would highly recommend this hotel. The only negative experience we had was taking a boat trip which was recommended by the hotel: it was awful. I advised the hotel staff, so hopefully they will reconsider their recommendation. Conversely, we enjoyed the restaurant recommendation by the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John1591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

If you want to feel like a sultan, we recommand you Sultania hotel. We stayed there one week (16-23 august), the service was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast offers a large and diverse choice of food (delicious) served by very nice waiters (try the waffles!). The rooftop restaurant is a must. The spot is exactly where you need to be in Istanbul, steps away from monuments, and turkish restaurants which provide you with the best culinar experience. There is a gift shop on the street up from the hotel, the prices are very attractive and the owner kind and not a shark (you understand).
In overall a wonderfull experience in istanbul which for sure will not be the last.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hachem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannoversch Munden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Location: Well positioned between all the main tourist sites. Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar and Spice Market all easy to reach by foot. Street is relatively quiet – there are some restaurants and cafés on the streets around the hotel but they make little noise.

Rooms: Spacious and decorated in a traditional Turkish style. The rooms on the fourth floor have balconies. The rooms on the fifth floor have roof terraces. We had the choice between both and decided on a balcony room – felt more spacious. There are no views from the rooms. The welcome treat of home-made Turkish Delight in a traditional copper dish was lovely. The rooms are starting to show their age but are still very nice.

Staff: A fantastic team that all speak great English and really do as much as they can to make your stay a good one. The day we checked-in, there was a group of Australians (from Cronulla) who did nothing but complain about things not worth complaining about and the staff took it in their stride and did everything to appease them.
A special mention to Hilmi who helped us with booking the car ferry which can only be done online with a Turkish credit card. He used his own card to book the ferry for us! Fantastic customer service and far beyond expected.

Facilities: There is a small gym, spa and pool in the basement level which was very nice after a long day on our feet.

Dining: Very good breakfast buffet with a mix of Western and Eastern style foods. Eggs cooked to order is always a nice touch. You can eat in the breakfast room or outside in the laneway which we did most days. The rooftop restaurant, Olive, has an incredible view of the Hagia Sophia which seems to be a bit of a secret. They don't advertise the view, just the restaurant, so that benefits hotel guests.

Summary: A very good hotel with good location and everything you need for a short stay in Instanbul.

Room Tip: The fourth floor rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJL_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,149 in Istanbul
3,323 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#5 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#6 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,974 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,068 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#29 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Property: Hotel Sultania
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing