We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good boutique hotel with excellent location”
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #11 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good boutique hotel with excellent location”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed here for a short four-day citytrip, room on the fifth floor (Hammam style). While most Turkish hotels and restaurants give the uneasy feeling of being "overly friendly" for commercial reasons, at least these guys give you the feeling it's genuine and they enjoy looking afer you.

The hotel itself is on the smaller side, and part of a chain of two or three hotels in the same area (they also share the pool and fitness downstairs). From check-in to check-out, everything is done with a smile and friendeliness.

Our room was spacious, both bathroom and sleeping accomodation. The breakfast buffet is sufficient, they try to do it a bit continental style but a rather limited choice of things. The restaurant on top (Olive) is above par when it comes to service, the food itself is good and very tasty but not Michelin-star quality. Nevertheless, I would recommend for one evening. The city offers too much taste and options to only eat in.

The one downside are the trips you can book through the hotel (not the hotel's fault, but the company hosting the trips). We took the full day tour, worst tour ever. They rush you to all the landmarks, you have little time to absorb or ask questions. Felt like an Asian tourist who only have time to take pictures and then move on.

Location wise you could not ask for better. In walking distance of all major landmarks, also close to tram and taxi stops.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christophe_Olenaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,505
    351
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
539
1,514
154
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Clean, well decorated & maintained, great breakfast, central location (but without any excessive noise). Really friendly staff - especially Hilmi who helped track down my wife's baggage after it went missing on the way into Istanbul.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

A nice boutique hotel suited to couples. We stayed here for 1 week and found that the location was quite convenient with the trams located just at the bottom of the walkway. The breakfasts were amazing with a good selection of fresh produce and staff friendly and accommodating. We had a deluxe room which was clean and cosy; however I feel that for what we paid I would have like to have a balcony or view of some sort and maybe a slightly bigger room. I would call what we had a studio sized room as we just had a window and the room was quite small for a “Deluxe” description. Our room was on the 3rd floor. The only other downfall was that the lift is quite small and sometimes you may have to wait a few minutes for it to come back. It is only a smaller boutique hotel so this is not a huge problem. If you are looking for an authentic experience this hotel certainly provides that and the restaurant just across from the hotel has amazing authentic Turkish cuisine which is nice to sit down to after a long day knowing that your hotel is just an arm stretch away.

Room Tip: Ask for more detail on the delux rooms, I recommend next grade up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsTepeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Staying in the heart of historic Istanbul is fabulous, but to do so in such a glorious, small hotel is even better.
The rooms are magnificent and there are so many good restaurants in the street directly outside (we dined at Hatay, immediately opposite the entrance on several nights). The hotel's own restaurant has the advantage of views up the Bosphorous or back to the Hagia Sophia. The bar also has the views of Hagia Sophia.
The breakfast spread sets you up very well for a day exploring this wonderful city.
The hotel's location means that you can get to the main sites in a few minutes, well ahead of the crowds, which is so much better than traipsing in from Beyoglu and the other parts of hotel-rich parts of town.
We got here from the airport by way of the train and tram which stops a short walk away. A very easy trip and good fun. Beware of the offer of a taxi trip back as to which currency is being quoted/used, as you can get caught for the trip costing three times what you thought it would due to a "confusion" between the currencies used.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FriskyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
208 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This relatively small hotel is in a great location - walking distance to most of what you want to see. It's exquisitely clean and the room decor is lovely. We had the corner room with 2 balconies. Room was quiet. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

An amazing experience due to Semih that really put a big smile on our faces. Walking distance for many attractions. The most beautiful rooms I've ever seen around. Awesome and relaxing moments in this lovely evening: two thumbs up :)) highly recommended

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gheorghe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

the room was very comfortable and clean breakfast was amazing everything was there.staff were very helpful and polite my favorite member of staff was SEMIH.rooftop restaurant has an amazing view you could see all of Istanbul .the location was great .I highly recommend this hotel

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Karim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,274 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#6 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,962 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,038 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,141 in Istanbul
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Property: Hotel Sultania
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing