We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfulfilled expectations after TripAdvisor's excellent rating”
Review of Topdeck Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Topdeck Hostel
Ranked #381 of 1,240 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The Hostel is located in the tourist part of Istanbul - Sultanahmed district, near all major attractions, everything in walking distance. This is a huge plus, but basically, all Hostels/Hotels are located in the same area. The service was good, people running the Hostel were very friendly and nice, you can't complain. Booking was done online with no problems.

We booked a double room with private bathroom, the room was not in the main building, but in the building just beside (they have rooms in 2 buildings next to each other). Every time you enter this building you have to ask someone from the reception to open the front door (they have only 1 key). This was kind of annoying, but no problem, the reception was working 24/7.

Our room was in the ground floor (when you enter the building first room left). The room and bathroom were very small, but OK, we didn't expect it different.

All the reviews on TripAdvisor said that the rooms were comfortable and clean, but it turned out the total opposite!!! It was dirty, the smell moldy, no towels (they were at the laundry service and we got 1 terrible towel the next morning, they weren't changed during our 3 nights stay). The room looked as it was completed a day earlier, electrical installations were carried out on the outer walls and covered only with cloth/linen! The windows were dirty, full of wall-paint and mortar. Electrical installations in the bathroom were done totally amateurish, in a way that it was dangerous. The drain was a simple hole in the middle of the bathroom, so when you have a shower the bathroom is flooded with water. No warm water in the sink, only the shower. The room had airconditioning, also, if I have had installed it - it would have been better I guess. The hole for the aircon main pipe was bigger than the actual pipe - so you could look through on the street!!!! The breakfast was OK, you have 6 or 7 dishes you can choose, but you better forget about cleanliness, just as in the entire building (furniture shabby, walls painted as it was done by my 10 yrs old nephew etc.). Wireless internet for free, sometimes with problems to connect.

All together, thnx - but no tnx again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

Topdeck was clean and location was great. It is just back from Akbiyik Cd so it was a lot quieter at night. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and the Aussie/ Turkish couple that work there were so lovely and helpful with what to do around Istanbul and Turkey.
Breakfast was great too.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kezbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

A new hostel, owners and waiters are all so kind. Sea view from 402, nice clean rooms. Turkish breakfast was so excellent, quick service. The next time we wont look for anyother place, address will be the same.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton23moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

This hostel was absolutely amazing! You wıll meet so many amazing travellers here. It is right next to all of the best things to see in Istanbul, and has an awesome rooftop terrace overlooking the sea wıth couches and good people to relax with after a long day. Metin and Emmy who work there have an excellent local knowledge, meaning you can experience the real Istanbul rather than just the tourist sites. They even organised a rooftop party for my birthday and took us all out, very fun! I would highly recommend stayıng here if you are coming to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtney_hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Not serious hostel! One price on the web-site, but a 4 time bigger requested at the reception, when we reached there for the check-in (having a booking done 2 months before!). No receipt, no price shown at the reception, so they charge you after they look at you... Our car was scratched in the "free parking", which is actually on the street, not in a real parking. Very hot inside (no A/C), specially when 4 people in a 6 sqm room. The "free internet" was not conecting. Don't check the spoons and the dish if you eat there! I would never go there again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleniaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

As Mavi's Guesthouse was fully booked (after I stayed there one night), they arranged me another hostel – Topdeck. What a nice surprise!
The single room (with bathroom) had a small window with a great view, staff is very friendly, breakfast is delicious (you can choose among Turkish breakfast and others) and is served on the beautiful terrace. The room was very clean and they have free wi-fi available.
The hotel is very good value – it was the same price I had payed at Mavi's (48 TL), but the room at Topdeck was bigger, it had its own bathroom (forget about the long queus to take a shower) and was quiet. I alos met some nice people there: an iranian family that now live in Norway, a polish couple, a South-corean girl.
It's crazy that a lot of people go to LP guide book's hostels (like I did) while there are a lot of other (better) choices. I totally recommend Top Deck.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raftz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

- very clean rooms
- more like a hotel layout then a hostel
- excellent breakfast with a great choice of dishes
- the staff was very friendly and helpful recommending accommodation for our next destinations in Turkey
- the rooms can get very hot in the summer because there is no air conditioning
- very close to the Blue Mosque and walking distance to the tram

WE LOVED IT!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186370Ginster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#760 of 1,159 in Istanbul
621 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,077 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#80 of 1,159 in Istanbul
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#67 of 1,159 in Istanbul
505 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#109 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,635 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#64 of 1,159 in Istanbul
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topdeck Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topdeck Hostel

Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Terbiyik Cikmazi No:6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #381 of 1,240 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £8 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The time for Istanbul is now, this is the city where you will come for one week and want to stay for one month. And there is no better place to stay than Topdeck Hostel! We are a small hostel, in the perfect location. With the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia & Topkapi Palace just seconds walk away from our hostel. We are also located close to great restaurants and bars, but far away enough so the noise doesn't reach us. From our rooftop terrace (plus some rooms) you can enjoy the beautiful view of the Marmara Sea & Asian shores! We have 24 hour reception and friendly fluent English speaking staff to answer all your questions and we can also show you around our beautiful city :) We hope you will be our guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topdeck Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing