We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have asked for more”
Review of Topdeck Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Topdeck Hostel
Ranked #392 of 1,200 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could not have asked for more”
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We stayed at Topdeck for 5 nights and honestly could not have asked for a better place to stay.The location of this hostel is perfect, only a 10 minute walk to Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque. Emmy and Metin who run the hostel were so friendly and accommodating, as were all the other staff. No question was too small and they were happy to arrange day tours and taxis to and from the airport for us. Our room was clean and warm, the beds were more than comfortable and there was always loads of hot water for the shower. Breakfast was included and was cooked to order. The hostel just opened Cafe Mitano up on the main street, a beautifully decorated place with really nice food and the best bartender (try a Raki bomb!).

Our trip to Istanbul wouldn't have been half as much fun if we hadn't stayed at this hostel and we are already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nz_munchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    15
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
16
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We stayed at the Topdeck hostel for 5 nights in January (on New Year's). Staying in this hostel in summer - I would be probably writing a completely different review.. Our room was located on the top floor which is the coldest one. The heater was not working and we were told to use the A/C instead. But A/C is located under the ceiling and all the warm (forget the word hot here) air stays up. The room remains cold and the ceiling is mouldy. Even if we left with A/C on (what you are not allowed to when not in the room) the service switched it off and we found the window wide open (in January!) We were given towels with stains on them and they only changed them once. The amount of warm water was very very limited at the top floor , so was the wi-fi signal . Otherwise the staff was friendly, easygoing and helpful.
Ohh, and there was this kitty hanging around the hostel all the time. We didn't mind until it jumped on the kitchen desk where the breakfast was being prepared.....
We believe that in summer it is a great place to stay. It has the roof bar (under construction now) Location is great. But we definitely do not recommend you the place in winter.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Bobek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topdeckhostel, Owner at Topdeck Hostel, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
In january we had experienced lovely sunny days, so all windows were opened for fresh air (same happens in summer). When your room was checked the heating was already turned off, you had turned that off yourself before service had gone in so we opened your windows. As for windows being opened, or the heating not warm enough for you, if you had only said something to staff or receptionist we could of fixed all this for you. If there are problems we can't fix them unless we know they exist. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

I enjoyed my stay at the Topdeck hostel. The location is perfect, it's just minutes away from most of the attractions. The rooms are clean and the breakfast in the morning is great and a good bonus. The people that run the place are very friendly and helpful. The rooms also have Wifi. The hotel's rooftop has a fantastic view of the sea of Marmara! For the price paid I think the hotel exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We are big travellers, like going cities and really visite& wander then. So I don't know about others but for me and my girlfriend it was great staying at TopDeck. We did an internet reservation only a week before, in september, abd starting from then all the personnel was great with us (Emmy, Metin and everyone else)- reservations, indications to get there, help in finding another free hostel in the area for a couple of nights when they were full, help in organising a 3 days trip in turkey, outside Istanbul - we chose Cappadocia and it was awesome, the breakfast on the rooftop - amazing. So, if you are big travellers not looking to find hotels when you pay for hostel, and you want to visit istanbul and have a great basecamp, the topdeck is your place !!! Best value-price !

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mateipuiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europa!!!
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

There are numerous hostels in the tourist area of Sultanahmet - and I have stayed at most of them over the years. The problem I find with these mega-hostels (as I call them) is that the are often too noisy and crowded (with some dorm rooms sleeping up to 30 people)! Always people coming anf going - which can be a problem when you want to get some well-deserved rest after a day exploring the sights or a big night out on the town. Topdeck hostel is a smaller hostel, with small dorms as well as single/double rooms. Accomodation is not expensive, and a great breakfast is included in the rate. Unlike a lot of places the hot water is always available. They have a rooftop bar if you are so inclined. The staff is very helpful. They are able to book airport transfers (which was a life-saver as I arrived at midnight!!!) buses, tours, etc. Check in is a snap, they have a safe at reception for your valuables, and the list goes on. Wireless internet is free, and fast - in my 7 night stay never lost the signal once (which is more than I can say for my service at home). The main backpacker street Akbiyik Cad. is less than a five minute walk away, so if you want to be in the midst of "party central" it takes little effort. However, when you want to escape that craziness your òasis`is nearby!!!! Definitely worth a stay and tell them Greg sent you!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroNomad2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osijek, Croatia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The Hostel is located in the tourist part of Istanbul - Sultanahmed district, near all major attractions, everything in walking distance. This is a huge plus, but basically, all Hostels/Hotels are located in the same area. The service was good, people running the Hostel were very friendly and nice, you can't complain. Booking was done online with no problems.

We booked a double room with private bathroom, the room was not in the main building, but in the building just beside (they have rooms in 2 buildings next to each other). Every time you enter this building you have to ask someone from the reception to open the front door (they have only 1 key). This was kind of annoying, but no problem, the reception was working 24/7.

Our room was in the ground floor (when you enter the building first room left). The room and bathroom were very small, but OK, we didn't expect it different.

All the reviews on TripAdvisor said that the rooms were comfortable and clean, but it turned out the total opposite!!! It was dirty, the smell moldy, no towels (they were at the laundry service and we got 1 terrible towel the next morning, they weren't changed during our 3 nights stay). The room looked as it was completed a day earlier, electrical installations were carried out on the outer walls and covered only with cloth/linen! The windows were dirty, full of wall-paint and mortar. Electrical installations in the bathroom were done totally amateurish, in a way that it was dangerous. The drain was a simple hole in the middle of the bathroom, so when you have a shower the bathroom is flooded with water. No warm water in the sink, only the shower. The room had airconditioning, also, if I have had installed it - it would have been better I guess. The hole for the aircon main pipe was bigger than the actual pipe - so you could look through on the street!!!! The breakfast was OK, you have 6 or 7 dishes you can choose, but you better forget about cleanliness, just as in the entire building (furniture shabby, walls painted as it was done by my 10 yrs old nephew etc.). Wireless internet for free, sometimes with problems to connect.

All together, thnx - but no tnx again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Topdeck was clean and location was great. It is just back from Akbiyik Cd so it was a lot quieter at night. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and the Aussie/ Turkish couple that work there were so lovely and helpful with what to do around Istanbul and Turkey.
Breakfast was great too.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,200 in Istanbul
897 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,954 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#93 of 1,141 in Istanbul
809 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#157 of 1,141 in Istanbul
776 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#209 of 1,141 in Istanbul
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topdeck Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topdeck Hostel

Property: Topdeck Hostel
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Terbiyik Cikmazi No:6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 1,200 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The time for Istanbul is now, this is the city where you will come for one week and want to stay for one month. And there is no better place to stay than Topdeck Hostel! We are a small hostel, in the perfect location. With the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia & Topkapi Palace just seconds walk away from our hostel. We are also located close to great restaurants and bars, but far away enough so the noise doesn't reach us. From our rooftop terrace (plus some rooms) you can enjoy the beautiful view of the Marmara Sea & Asian shores! We have 24 hour reception and friendly fluent English speaking staff to answer all your questions and we can also show you around our beautiful city :) We hope you will be our guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topdeck Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing