We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Ranked #120 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Leidschendam-Voorburg, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have been frequenting this hotel now for several years and it has been able to live up all expectations and to keep it that way. It s location is superb, very close to Taksim square and Beyoglu, and at the same time close to the historic heart of the city, Sultan Ahmed. Great view over the Golden horn. Very polite and helpful people in the hotel. Also price/quality value is great.if you are on a tourist or business trip, this is a great hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the Golden Horn. If possible not at the street side, although it is wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, Owner at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Mr. Felix H.,

Thank you so much for your great review.
We are so happy that you had a nice stay in Golden City Hotel Istanbul.
We would be very pleased to see you again among us.

Best Regards,
Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    279
    48
    17
    7
See reviews for
143
337
45
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester - UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel in May 2014. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the spectacular views from the restaurant on the 10th floor, the breakfast was always good and the evening meals also good if limited in choice. The rooms were on the small side so not much wardrobe space. Quite close to metro stop so handy for getting to Sultanehmet.

Room Tip: 6th floor and above, also away from the main road, as the traffic is very noisy to late in the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chazjunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, Owner at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all we are very happy to hear such kindly reviews from you and we would be very pleased to host you again.
Regarding the traffic noise i have to say that istanbul is a metropolis and it's nearly impossible to find a quiet place.
For people who needs a quiet place to stay i always recommend to not choose istanbul.

Best Regards,
Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Thank you for the lovely journey! Friendly staff, delicious breakfast and best view over Istanbul !!!
Clean rooms and directly placed in the heart of Istanbul.

We recommend this Hotel for a trip to Istanbul.

Thanks to the team for making our Holidays a perfect stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisonfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, Owner at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Mrs. Anne L.,
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
We would be very pleased to see you again among us.

Best Regards,
Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at the Golden City for 5 nights and had a great time. The hotel is well situated to view the historical areas of Istanbul, with only a short walk to nearest tram stop. The staff were all friendly and helpful. When we needed any help this was provided promptly and cheerfully. There are great views over the Golden Horn and city from rooftop terrace restaurant and breakfast and evening meals in the hotel were excellent. Only downside was some noise at night from traffic and barking dogs but overall experience was excellent

Room Tip: rooms on upper floors with view over Golden Horn recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, Owner at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Mr. Philip L.,

Thank you so much for your great review. We are so happy that you had a nice stay in Golden City Hotel Istanbul. We would be very pleased to see you again among us.
We are trying to solve the problems with the dogs.

Best Regards,
Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I have no idea what the yardstick in this city is hotel-wise, but this hotel was a nice place to stay. Rooms were clean including more hidden corners.

The view over the “Golden Horn” is plesant, metro and tram stations (“Haliç” / “Kadaköy” or whatever it’s called) are nearby.

Staff is friendly and speaks, to greater or lesser extent, English and German.

The street is made up exclusively by hardware shops, so you would have to travel a bit to have nightlife. (Apart from the rooftop restaurant which is not all that bad, mind you—)

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rsabbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, Owner at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Mr. Rsabbar,

Thank you so much for your great review.
We are so happy that you had a nice stay in Golden City Hotel Istanbul.
We would be very pleased to see you again among us.

Best Regards,
Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My daughter and I met in Istanbul after she had been studying in France for the past 4 months. The Hotel's view of the city is spectacular. The staff were friendly and even allowed for us to store excess luggage while we went on to explore Greece. Upon our return to the Hotel, we were given a upgraded room with a view. The restaurant's food quality was great. Walking to the Spice market, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Takism Square and other not to miss attractions is quite easy. Only negative is there are not a lot of Restaurants to choose from right outside of Hotel. Good thing Hotel Restaurant serves nice meals.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kristine2160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, Owner at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Mrs. Kristine,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding the service provided.
That’s our pleasure to make pleasing your holiday in Istanbul.
On your next trip we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Egemen ŞENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel İstanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My brother, my mother and I stayed at the Istanbul Golden City Hotel for four nights and had a great time.

The room was spacious and had a nice view. We had prebooked a room with sea view but that seemed a bit unnecessary. If you want to enjoy the spectacular view simply just go to the roof top terrace.

The staff was very kind, flexible and very helpful.
The general manager Ali helped us get another ride even cheaper when our preordered taxi for the airport called and said it would be 40 minutes late.


I've read in other reviews that the hotel is situated in a 'dodgy area' but that is not my experience at all. The hotel is perfectly located if you want a taste of the everyday life of the local fishermen and just five minutes from the hotel you'll be by the riverside where locals serve the most delicious fish courses.

The fact that the hotel is situated so close to the Galata Bridge makes it easy to go up to Istiklal and the modern area or to the old part with the bazaars, mosques and Topkapi. We didn't use public transportation (or private for that matter) at any time during our stay - except when going from and to the airport.

Traffic is a bit much and it seems difficult to cross the street, but after just a day you'll learn to do it the 'turkish way' - go fast across the street when there's a pause in the stream of cars. The turkish are used to dealing with pedestrains and MANY other cars, so they keep an eye on the traffic and will slow down for you.

To sum it up: Great staff, nice rooms, fantastic location and absolutely stunning city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeKro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, Owner at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and write such a wonderful review about our hotel and the service we provide.
Please contact us anytime you want to make a return trip to Istanbul. We would love to host you with same passion in our hotel again.

Best Regards

Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#75 of 1,149 in Istanbul
198 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata La Bella Hotel
Galata La Bella Hotel
#408 of 1,149 in Istanbul
272 reviews
Beyoglu
Bankerhan Hotel
Bankerhan Hotel
#15 of 1,149 in Istanbul
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#33 of 1,149 in Istanbul
738 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#162 of 1,149 in Istanbul
169 reviews
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#126 of 1,149 in Istanbul
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Golden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Golden City Hotel

Property: Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Address: Tersane Cad. No:111 | Beyoglu, Karakoy, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Istanbul Golden City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in 2010 with now 62 guest rooms, Istanbul Golden City Hotel continues to offer the greatest location to Istanbul's history. Just a few feet away guests can take time to marvel at the Blue Mosque or walk to many others such as The Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Galata Tower, Ataturk Bridge and Galata Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Istanbul Golden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing