We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Ranked #119 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Pros: We chose this hotel based on the views and were not disappointed. The rooftop restaurant provides an amazing overview of the Faith area. The food was delicious at the restaurant. It provides an excellent central location between both popular areas of the city Faith and Beyoglu.

Cons: Originally had booked a triple room and upon arrival we got two singles and a cot. There are almost no restuaruants or shops in the immediate area of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBP S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, Public Relations Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear valued Guest,

thank you for sharing your opinions with other tripadvisor followers.
We will try to find solutions for the problems you mentioned.
We hope to see you again among us.


Best regards

Irem Altındağ
Gastbetreuung
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    279
    48
    17
    7
See reviews for
143
337
45
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Normally I do not bother writing these reviews but I was so delighted by my experience at The Golden City hotel, I felt it deserved the effort! Everything about it was perfect. The staff were very welcoming, always smiling and very helpful both in the restaurant and at reception. Nothing was too much bother for them -even when we couldn't figure out how to adjust the air conditioning unit at 3am they sent out a technician to fix it. The open air restaurant on the roof offered probably the best views in Istanbul and had a great atmosphere both at breakfast and dinner. It was a great place to watch sunset too! We very much enjoyed the delicious food and there was much to choose from. The dinner menu offered a good variety and the Sea Bass tasted so fresh it could have been caught by one of the anglers down on the Galata Bridge just a couple of hours before serving!
Our bedroom had windows on both sides of the room and the views were stunning! We loved it. I think it was perfectly situated for the best views of the city, looking across the Golden Horn to the Hagia Sofia and the Suleymaniye Mosque. Although in the heart of the city the windows were well insulated so it was not too noisy -you could just hear the call to prayer in the distance which was charming! The rooms were very clean and kept tidy by the staff.
Our hotel was perfectly situated, just a 10 minute tram ride from the heart of Eminonu as well as being a 10 minute walk away from Galata Tower area with all the bustling streets offering nightlife and late night shopping. It really was a great stay in every way and I definitely would go back to this hotel -great value for the price! The staff made us feel very welcome and did everything they could to make us enjoy our stay. They were really helpful in making sure we were not ripped off by local taxi drivers -they basically told the drivers who picked us up from the hotel that the price would not be more than a specific (very reasonable) amount. They also were very knowledgeable about local attractions and recommended an excellent Turkish theatrical performance for us which we thoroughly enjoyed. They were very friendly and kind to us -especially Ali and Tuna who spoke good English.

Room Tip: We had fantastic views from the 8th floor -sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, Owner at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Jennifer I,

It was a delight to read your review.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Golden City Hotel.
Thank you so much for sharing your lovely reviews with other tripadvisor followers.
We would be more than just happy to see you again among us.
Your kind regards will al be forwarded to the related departments.


Best Regards,
Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in May and had a great time. Don't be put off by other reviews re the outside area, yes it is the main shopping area for hardware commodities etc. but it wont detract from your stay as once you enter the revolving doors of the hotel, your stay will be a delight. Great location as it is opposite all the sites and well within easy access and walking distance of everything you are going to visit in Old Istanbul. The rooftop restaurant and viewing area is fantastic for panoramic viewing over the Golden Horn and great for taking photos. The restaurant food was absolutely excellent as were the attentive and friendly staff. Our room was more than adequate and comfortable. The lifts are small but that's no big deal. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly Maya who was efficient and most attentive to everyone's needs and a sheer delight to talk to. She is a great asset to the hotel. The two concierge boys (Ali and ??? sorry can't remember his name) were also first class. Take advantage of the Hammam recommended by the hotel as they arrange for you to be picked up and brought back to the hotel after your exhilarating experience! Great stay and highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsai and Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, Owner at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Tsai G.,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your experiences with other tripadvisor followers.
We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we will be happy to see you again among us.
Your forward your regards to the related departments.


Best Regards,
Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roubaix, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Absolutely perfect location, in the middle of the nightlife, new facilities and a great atmosphere, you easily would feel there like among friends. Don't miss it coming.
Thank you and hope to see you soon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariottap P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, Owner at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Mariottap P.,

Thank you for sharing your lovely and kind reviews with other tripadvisor followers.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We would be really happy to see you again among us.


Best Regards,
Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leidschendam-Voorburg, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have been frequenting this hotel now for several years and it has been able to live up all expectations and to keep it that way. It s location is superb, very close to Taksim square and Beyoglu, and at the same time close to the historic heart of the city, Sultan Ahmed. Great view over the Golden horn. Very polite and helpful people in the hotel. Also price/quality value is great.if you are on a tourist or business trip, this is a great hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the Golden Horn. If possible not at the street side, although it is wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, Owner at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Mr. Felix H.,

Thank you so much for your great review.
We are so happy that you had a nice stay in Golden City Hotel Istanbul.
We would be very pleased to see you again among us.

Best Regards,
Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester - UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel in May 2014. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the spectacular views from the restaurant on the 10th floor, the breakfast was always good and the evening meals also good if limited in choice. The rooms were on the small side so not much wardrobe space. Quite close to metro stop so handy for getting to Sultanehmet.

Room Tip: 6th floor and above, also away from the main road, as the traffic is very noisy to late in the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chazjunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, Owner at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all we are very happy to hear such kindly reviews from you and we would be very pleased to host you again.
Regarding the traffic noise i have to say that istanbul is a metropolis and it's nearly impossible to find a quiet place.
For people who needs a quiet place to stay i always recommend to not choose istanbul.

Best Regards,
Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Thank you for the lovely journey! Friendly staff, delicious breakfast and best view over Istanbul !!!
Clean rooms and directly placed in the heart of Istanbul.

We recommend this Hotel for a trip to Istanbul.

Thanks to the team for making our Holidays a perfect stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisonfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, Owner at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Mrs. Anne L.,
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
We would be very pleased to see you again among us.

Best Regards,
Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#75 of 1,150 in Istanbul
198 reviews
Beyoglu
Bankerhan Hotel
Bankerhan Hotel
#14 of 1,150 in Istanbul
179 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata La Bella Hotel
Galata La Bella Hotel
#419 of 1,150 in Istanbul
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#33 of 1,150 in Istanbul
738 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#16 of 1,150 in Istanbul
251 reviews
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#136 of 1,150 in Istanbul
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Golden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Golden City Hotel

Property: Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Address: Tersane Cad. No:111 | Beyoglu, Karakoy, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Istanbul Golden City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in 2010 with now 62 guest rooms, Istanbul Golden City Hotel continues to offer the greatest location to Istanbul's history. Just a few feet away guests can take time to marvel at the Blue Mosque or walk to many others such as The Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Galata Tower, Ataturk Bridge and Galata Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Istanbul Golden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing