We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in the middle of bustling Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Ranked #119 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real gem in the middle of bustling Istanbul”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very conveniently located with spectabular views of the Golden Horn. Clean and comfortable room. Friendly and helpful staff. Buffet Breakfast on the rooftop with great view of the city was a wonderful start to each day! We would like say special thanks to Ali and his staff to make our stay a memorable one. A highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Richard,

Thank you so much for your wonderfull review. We were delighted to learn that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
That’s our pleasure to make pleasing your holiday in Istanbul.
On your next trip we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel. Thank you very much.

Kind Regards,

Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    279
    48
    17
    7
See reviews for
143
337
45
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

we stayed 10 days (from 27 may).
1. room was very clean.
2.view was very nice.3.breakfast was complete and delicious.
4.location accessibility was very very good for metro,ship, train and Bus station.
5.The staff were friendly and welcoming especially Ali , Maya , morad and irem.
overall every thing was excellent.
ghasem, parisa and manya from iran.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghasem g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Ghasem,

Thank you so much for your nice review.
I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope that your daughter and your wife are fine.
We will be more than happy if we can host you again on your next trip to Istanbul.

Best regards,

Irem ALTINDAĞ
Guest Relation
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here in the first week of June. It was a clean and comfortable hotel with all the necessary facilities. Most imp being wi-fi when you are travelling with kids !!The view from our rooms was beautiful as they faced the Bosphorus and the Galata bridge. The night view was spectacular.We were on the eighth floor.The breakfast layout was good ,the attendants attentive and the muezzins' call every morning was our wake up call .Will definitely recommend anyone to stay here !!!

The staff at the terrace restaurant was extremely courteous, were happy to answer my children's repeated questions on what was vegetarian in the menu and what was not.
The reception was very courteous and even though we had an early checkout ...they had packed a breakfast hamper for us .Thanks a ton Golden City !!!

Room Tip: the higher floors have a beter view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akshi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Akshi,

Thank you soo much for your great review.
We're happy to hear such nice comments from you and we hope you will choose Golden City Hotel Istanbul on your next visit inIstanbul.
We promise to host you with the same passion again.

Best regards,

Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed here for a week (first week in June) and its a very clean comfortable hotel within easy access to all the main attractions in the Sultan Ahmed district and Fatih. Its in the middle of a builders merchants area but don't let that put you off as taxi's are cheap. fantastic views from the restaurant at night. From the tenth floor you can see over the river and have excellent panoramic views of the bridges and the Galata tower. Very good food in the restaurant at night time and an excellent wide ranging continental breakfast including many traditional Turkish items such as halva. The staff were very friendly and welcoming especially Ali and Maya on the front desk. Nothing was too much trouble and they are a great source of knowledge and advice. the weather was a bit hit and miss so needed to plan activities. Room was spotlessly cleaned every day and double glazing does a good job of keeping out the traffic noise.
Cons - small lifts, and no cafe's in the immediate vacinity, and wifi was intermittent, however i would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If possible try and get a room with a view mine was on the side and nothing to see except for a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huw B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Mr. Bevan,

First of all i want to thank you for sharing your reviews with other tripadvisor followers.
We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at ouor hotel.
The area outside the hotel will be changed soon, and our lifts are small because our building is historical and we can't change things like these.
We would be very happy if we can host you and your mother again at out hotel on your next Istanbul trip.

Best regards,

Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed 4 days in the beginning of May and we had really great time.(excluding the bad weather) :).The hotel is situated in the center of the city, close to all famous places in Istanbul. The view from our room (7floor seaside) was amazing. The airport transfer was perfectly organized. No waiting, or spending time. Very warm and nice welcoming in the hotel. Friendly, smiling and helpful staff. The elevators are very small, which is not ok for this size hotel. The room was small, but cosy, well organized and clean. It wasn't noisy. The minibar well charged, but quiet expensive. The daily cleaning was excellent. Clean towels, and clean bathroom are very important for us, so the hotel met our expectations. A bit annoying is the wi-fi - no so good reception and the whole time is get disconnected. The TV Channels are limited. The breakfast buffet was well charged, but the coffee was not good (very cheap, for good one you have to pay extra) and not fresh juice (if you want you have to pay extra). The restaurant of the hotel has small card, but the food is excellent and the view from the 10 floor is really beautiful .
Special thanks to the hotel manager, who is provide to us whatever we wanted very quickly.
We spend really nice time in Istanbul and this hotel was part of our nice experience.
We recommended it. Thanks to all stuff.

Family Pereira, Switzerland

Room Tip: Seaside, Higher, better. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Family Pereira,

thank you so much for your lovely review.
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel.
Regarding the elevators i have to say that is because the building is historical and it was first just one big elevator and we seperated it in two, just to shorten the waiting time.
Regarding breakfast we are providing daily foods and beverage of the breakfast including room prices. However if you desire fresh ones like orange juice, it's always extra charge like in many other hotels.
We hope we can host you again on your next Istanbul trip.

Best regards,

Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Pros: We chose this hotel based on the views and were not disappointed. The rooftop restaurant provides an amazing overview of the Faith area. The food was delicious at the restaurant. It provides an excellent central location between both popular areas of the city Faith and Beyoglu.

Cons: Originally had booked a triple room and upon arrival we got two singles and a cot. There are almost no restuaruants or shops in the immediate area of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBP S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, Public Relations Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear valued Guest,

thank you for sharing your opinions with other tripadvisor followers.
We will try to find solutions for the problems you mentioned.
We hope to see you again among us.


Best regards

Irem Altındağ
Gastbetreuung
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Normally I do not bother writing these reviews but I was so delighted by my experience at The Golden City hotel, I felt it deserved the effort! Everything about it was perfect. The staff were very welcoming, always smiling and very helpful both in the restaurant and at reception. Nothing was too much bother for them -even when we couldn't figure out how to adjust the air conditioning unit at 3am they sent out a technician to fix it. The open air restaurant on the roof offered probably the best views in Istanbul and had a great atmosphere both at breakfast and dinner. It was a great place to watch sunset too! We very much enjoyed the delicious food and there was much to choose from. The dinner menu offered a good variety and the Sea Bass tasted so fresh it could have been caught by one of the anglers down on the Galata Bridge just a couple of hours before serving!
Our bedroom had windows on both sides of the room and the views were stunning! We loved it. I think it was perfectly situated for the best views of the city, looking across the Golden Horn to the Hagia Sofia and the Suleymaniye Mosque. Although in the heart of the city the windows were well insulated so it was not too noisy -you could just hear the call to prayer in the distance which was charming! The rooms were very clean and kept tidy by the staff.
Our hotel was perfectly situated, just a 10 minute tram ride from the heart of Eminonu as well as being a 10 minute walk away from Galata Tower area with all the bustling streets offering nightlife and late night shopping. It really was a great stay in every way and I definitely would go back to this hotel -great value for the price! The staff made us feel very welcome and did everything they could to make us enjoy our stay. They were really helpful in making sure we were not ripped off by local taxi drivers -they basically told the drivers who picked us up from the hotel that the price would not be more than a specific (very reasonable) amount. They also were very knowledgeable about local attractions and recommended an excellent Turkish theatrical performance for us which we thoroughly enjoyed. They were very friendly and kind to us -especially Ali and Tuna who spoke good English.

Room Tip: We had fantastic views from the 8th floor -sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenCityHotel, Owner at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Jennifer I,

It was a delight to read your review.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Golden City Hotel.
Thank you so much for sharing your lovely reviews with other tripadvisor followers.
We would be more than just happy to see you again among us.
Your kind regards will al be forwarded to the related departments.


Best Regards,
Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#64 of 1,141 in Istanbul
195 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#160 of 1,141 in Istanbul
164 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata La Bella Hotel
Galata La Bella Hotel
#376 of 1,141 in Istanbul
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Bankerhan Hotel
Bankerhan Hotel
#15 of 1,141 in Istanbul
166 reviews
Karakoy
Nordstern Hotel Galata
Nordstern Hotel Galata
#316 of 1,141 in Istanbul
81 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#33 of 1,141 in Istanbul
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Golden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Golden City Hotel

Property: Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Address: Tersane Cad. No:111 | Beyoglu, Karakoy, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Istanbul Golden City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in 2010 with now 62 guest rooms, Istanbul Golden City Hotel continues to offer the greatest location to Istanbul's history. Just a few feet away guests can take time to marvel at the Blue Mosque or walk to many others such as The Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Galata Tower, Ataturk Bridge and Galata Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Istanbul Golden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing