We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not convenient for first time visitors to Istanbul”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The House Apart Cihangir II
Ranked #729 of 1,242 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I am a travel agent, so I have been to many hotels and rented many homes and apartments all over the world. We were in Istanbul for 3 nights in the beginnning of our trip and 3 nights at the end of our trip. There were 4 of us and we are all well traveled and very adventurous. I had emailed The House Hotel for availability and when they couldn't accommodate us, they recommended The House Apart Cihangir. I think the property is fine for people who are familiar with Istanbul, but this was our first time to visit.

First of all the apartment I was in (Apt 3) had no hot water the first day so we showered in freezing cold water. My 2 friends were booked on the 4th floor.This would have been fine had we been told that there were lots of stairs and no elevators. We had lots of luggage so getting up to the apartments after a long day of flying at night was frustrating. There were also lots of stairs getting to the apartment itself and taxis don't really know where it is. We also felt like we didn't have anyone to help us with taxis, suggestions on places to eat, etc. and just general tourist information that a hotel would provide. In fact, my friends had a flight back to the states and made arrangements via phone with Osmond, the House Apart "contact". The following day they tried to call him to re-confirm, but he never called them back so they had to figure out transportation on their own which was an issue. To me, that is unacceptable. It is difficult to get taxis in that area unless you walk to the taxi stand. It's a problem if you have lots of luggage and have to walk down 4 flghts of stairs, walk up lots of stairs to the street level, 2 blocks to the taxi stand and then there is also the language barrier. Osmond also advised us not to rely on cabs being at the taxi stand in the early morning especially if you have to catch a flight. So for all these reasons, I would never recommend this property.

Again, it was nice enough, but I just think that this place should never be suggested as another option if someone was requesting The House Hotel and it's their first visit to Istanbul. The House Apart Reservations agent did not advise us of any of the things that we found challenging. If one of our travelers was an elder or had difficulty with stairs, we would not have been able to stay there and would have had to find another place when we arrived. My point is, that we should have been advised.

There are so many other full service hotels that are much more accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFTRAVELAGENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2011

We were on the ground floor apartment and while it was relatively comfortable and clean, it lacked even one ounce of charm. The apartment was extremely bare bones with virtually no decor or anything other than the basic furniture needed. The owners also own several other properties and a restaurant right on the main shopping street. They do offer a free breakfast at this restaurant, but it is almost a 20 minute walk and is therefore very inconvenient. We stayed at such nice places during our entire trip in Turkey, this place was certainly our least favorite.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We stayed three nights in the first floor apartment of this block. The apartment was in good condition, clean and tidy. The two double bedrooms are on the small side (can only get in and out on one side) but otherwise fine. The kitchen is small but has everything you need for a short stay. The towels, sheets etc were all included and were clean and of good quality. At 125 euros per night it was very good value compared to the mid-tier hotels in Istanbul and was a great option for us. I paid over the odds for the House Apart to organise an airport transfer (70 TL) about twice the price of a taxi, but given that it is not a hotel, probably worthwhile as the abilities of the local taxi drivers to find anything was rather hit and miss.

The location is good - in the old town - but it was fairly noisy at night. The apartment owners also have a cafe which is a good 10/15 minutes walk away, where you can redeem your breakfast tokens. Although not super-convenient, it is well worth the effort if you have time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanversB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#763 of 1,160 in Istanbul
621 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,087 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#68 of 1,160 in Istanbul
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#110 of 1,160 in Istanbul
2,641 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#77 of 1,160 in Istanbul
819 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#64 of 1,160 in Istanbul
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Apart Cihangir II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Apart Cihangir II

Address: Purtelas Mah. Baskurt Sok. No:75 Cihangir, Istanbul 34427, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #729 of 1,242 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing