We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hideaway in the maze of Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Djem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Djem
Ranked #286 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A hideaway in the maze of Istanbul”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the main visitor's attractions of Istanbul, Hotel Djem gives a peaceful escape at the end of the day. Beautifully remodeled old houses in one of the best quarters of Istanbul, Sultanahmet, within close walking distance to the Archeological Museum (a full day visit), the Grand Bazar and Egiptian (Spice) Market, The Hippodrome, The Cistern, Aya Sophia, The Blue Mosk, the train station. Great green curvy streets, warm and hospitable front desk. The owner was very kind to answer our questions at breakfast time and send us to the right places for what we were looking for in our inevitable quest for local food and crafts.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STLL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    67
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
41
155
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterrdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This weekend we stayed at the apartment on the first floor and I can definitely recommend this location for everyone.

All the major spots are within walking distance, nice restaurants and bars are around the corner and ... having said that .... it's the most peaceful and quiet spot you can imagine.

A big thank you for the housemaster Farouk who made us feel at home from the very first start.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan_oldenziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We've made several trips to Istanbul and have ended up at a different hotel every time: each one has had something in its favour and something that could have been better. At Djem, however, we finally found our ideal Istanbul hotel. First: location. The hotel is literally right next to the Blue Mosque. Steer clear if you don't want the call to prayer first thing in the morning but if, like us, you think it's all part of the atmosphere of Istanbul, then this couldn't be closer. The hotel is in two separate buildings - we stayed in the annexe (?) which is very close - 30 seconds walk - to the main hotel. The buildings are lovely - atmospheric yet very warm and welcoming. The room had bags of character and was really quiet and comfortable. We got a fantastic welcome: friendly, hospitable, and not at all pushy. The coffee on arrival was really appreciated after a long day of travel. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. We were sad to be staying only one night and will definitely return to the hotel on our future trips to Istanbul.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DobberBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I enjoyed a one week stay with my family in one of the apart suites. Beautiful hotel, very clean, great location. Breakfast included, with a good variety. Really nice and helpful staff. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Istanbul.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paula_a_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We went to Istanbul to spend the New Year there and we couldn´t have chosen a better hotel. The service was excellent, particularly Simon, the receptionist, was really nice and kind, showed us everything we needed and gave us some useful tips. The room was small but nice, you don´t need too much space if the only time you spend in the room is for sleeping afterall. Perfect location, just next to the Blue mosque, and even though the muezzin sings early in the morning, we didn´t care much. What woke me up though was a strange way of ringing from a nearby school that started at about 6:30. But wasn´t a big inconvenience neither. The breakfast was good but could vary a bit after few days. The second day we discovered that it is possible to have some eggs though. Overall excellent stay, but if you decide to go to Istanbul, bear in mind that 4 days is definitely not enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monca77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mass
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Hotel Djem is a delight. It is in a fantastic location, on a very quiet street, with an owner/manager who is accommodating, knowledgeable, kind, and resourseful. His staff are some of the best. The rooms are clean and modern with modern en suite bathrooms and beautiful Turkish art displayed throughout. The breakfast has to be one of the best in Istanbul! Stay there...you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank painter012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We chose this hotel because of its great location and the good price but we would come back here for the excellent service we got.
Already when we checked in the receptionist took his time to offer us tea and cakes, gave us a big map of the city and a quite detailed introduction to what is has to offer.
Our room was very fresh, clean and comfortable and we woke up to the singing of the Muezzin in the neighboring famous Blue Mosque. Then we would have one of the best breakfasts I have ever got in any hotel before we went to explore the rich cultural heritage of Istanbul.
The hotel is situated on a quite calm side street just a stone throw away from the Hippodrome and sights such as the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and the Roman Cistern. If you are searching for accomodation in the middle of the city that comes at a very fair price and if you even want to have the opportunity to make good conversation with the local staff then you might have found your place to go.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultan Hill
Hotel Sultan Hill
#433 of 1,129 in Istanbul
183 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Spectra
Hotel Spectra
#200 of 1,129 in Istanbul
238 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,129 in Istanbul
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#349 of 1,129 in Istanbul
335 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
#29 of 1,129 in Istanbul
640 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ada Hotel Istanbul
#15 of 1,129 in Istanbul
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Djem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Djem

Property: Hotel Djem
Address: Tavukhane Sokak No 26, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Sultanahmet, old town district of Istanbul, this unique boutique hotel has eleven exclusive rooms with private bathroom. The design is fresh, sophisticated. The beds and furnishing are of the highest quality to ensure the guests comfort. The Hotel has 24 hour concierge service with a bilingual staff, eager to help you with everything you may need from tour arrangements to dinner reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Djem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing