We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay in Sultanahmed”
Review of Hotel Djem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Djem
Ranked #311 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Place to stay in Sultanahmed”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Our 4 nights stay last September at the Hotel Dejm was excellent. The hotel is small and charming yet provided first class service.
Every day we had yummy, fresh breakfast with hot tea and sweets during day.
Mr. Faruk Tekin (the owner) and his team were great and did everything to make us feel at home. After first night of sleeping on a pretty hard mattress, I have asked Mr. Faruk if they have any rooms with softer bed because of my back problems. We even didn’t finish our breakfast when the hotel stuff brought to our room an extra thick but soft mattress pad. I am so thankful to them for this special treatment.
The hotel is beautifully decorated with the artwork of the owners, who also sell their artwork at two nearby shops. At the end of the trip we have purchased one of the art made by Mr. Faruk’s brother, which we really enjoy.
The location was perfect. The hotel was on a small back street, very close, just a wall behind to the Blue Mosque. In fact, every morning at dawn, if you don’t sleep too soundly, you can hear a call to prayer, which I loved to listen to.
Other old city attractions, like: Hippodrome, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Archeological Museum, Yerabatan/Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar, and Spice Bazaar, are in a walking distance.
A block away from the hotel was small bazaar. The merchandise in the bazaar was similar to the one at the Grand Bazaar. In most shops the prices were as marked, so the game of negotiating prices was not necessary.
Certainly I'll recommend this wonderful place and stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: There are two separate buildings and we stay in the one that is not the main building, but was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wroclawianka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    67
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
41
155
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the main visitor's attractions of Istanbul, Hotel Djem gives a peaceful escape at the end of the day. Beautifully remodeled old houses in one of the best quarters of Istanbul, Sultanahmet, within close walking distance to the Archeological Museum (a full day visit), the Grand Bazar and Egiptian (Spice) Market, The Hippodrome, The Cistern, Aya Sophia, The Blue Mosk, the train station. Great green curvy streets, warm and hospitable front desk. The owner was very kind to answer our questions at breakfast time and send us to the right places for what we were looking for in our inevitable quest for local food and crafts.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STLL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterrdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This weekend we stayed at the apartment on the first floor and I can definitely recommend this location for everyone.

All the major spots are within walking distance, nice restaurants and bars are around the corner and ... having said that .... it's the most peaceful and quiet spot you can imagine.

A big thank you for the housemaster Farouk who made us feel at home from the very first start.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan_oldenziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We've made several trips to Istanbul and have ended up at a different hotel every time: each one has had something in its favour and something that could have been better. At Djem, however, we finally found our ideal Istanbul hotel. First: location. The hotel is literally right next to the Blue Mosque. Steer clear if you don't want the call to prayer first thing in the morning but if, like us, you think it's all part of the atmosphere of Istanbul, then this couldn't be closer. The hotel is in two separate buildings - we stayed in the annexe (?) which is very close - 30 seconds walk - to the main hotel. The buildings are lovely - atmospheric yet very warm and welcoming. The room had bags of character and was really quiet and comfortable. We got a fantastic welcome: friendly, hospitable, and not at all pushy. The coffee on arrival was really appreciated after a long day of travel. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. We were sad to be staying only one night and will definitely return to the hotel on our future trips to Istanbul.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DobberBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I enjoyed a one week stay with my family in one of the apart suites. Beautiful hotel, very clean, great location. Breakfast included, with a good variety. Really nice and helpful staff. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Istanbul.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paula_a_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We went to Istanbul to spend the New Year there and we couldn´t have chosen a better hotel. The service was excellent, particularly Simon, the receptionist, was really nice and kind, showed us everything we needed and gave us some useful tips. The room was small but nice, you don´t need too much space if the only time you spend in the room is for sleeping afterall. Perfect location, just next to the Blue mosque, and even though the muezzin sings early in the morning, we didn´t care much. What woke me up though was a strange way of ringing from a nearby school that started at about 6:30. But wasn´t a big inconvenience neither. The breakfast was good but could vary a bit after few days. The second day we discovered that it is possible to have some eggs though. Overall excellent stay, but if you decide to go to Istanbul, bear in mind that 4 days is definitely not enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monca77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mass
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Hotel Djem is a delight. It is in a fantastic location, on a very quiet street, with an owner/manager who is accommodating, knowledgeable, kind, and resourseful. His staff are some of the best. The rooms are clean and modern with modern en suite bathrooms and beautiful Turkish art displayed throughout. The breakfast has to be one of the best in Istanbul! Stay there...you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank painter012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultan Hill
Hotel Sultan Hill
#439 of 1,141 in Istanbul
184 reviews
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#335 of 1,141 in Istanbul
338 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Spectra
Hotel Spectra
#221 of 1,141 in Istanbul
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#133 of 1,141 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,141 in Istanbul
748 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#263 of 1,141 in Istanbul
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Djem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Djem

Property: Hotel Djem
Address: Tavukhane Sokak No 26, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Sultanahmet, old town district of Istanbul, this unique boutique hotel has eleven exclusive rooms with private bathroom. The design is fresh, sophisticated. The beds and furnishing are of the highest quality to ensure the guests comfort. The Hotel has 24 hour concierge service with a bilingual staff, eager to help you with everything you may need from tour arrangements to dinner reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Djem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing