We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel California Istanbul
Ranked #831 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and great value for money”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Excellent location, close to all major sights, we only had to take a cab once during our 5 days stay.
The price we paid was a bargain. We booked on-line and it was much cheaper than expected.
staff were friendly and nice, they always offer us tea and coffee, not all of them could speak English but we never had any communication issue and we always managed to tell them what we need or want.
Breakfast was the same for the 5 days but it was nice so I can't really complain.

Room Tip: room on 1st floor seemed to have a better wifi connection than that on 3rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zenon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    23
    12
    7
    11
See reviews for
7
28
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Absolutely recommend this hotel primarily because of its excellent location, 2 minutes to the station Cemberlitas, 5 minutes walk to the Grand Bazzar and 10 minutes from other attractions. Rooms are clean and tidy, solid breakfast, quiet street, the staff perfectly ... Next time, my choice would be again this hotel :):)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maybug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croatia
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2012

First of all, this hotel has a great location, in just 10 minutes by foot you can arrive to the Blue mosque and Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern..etc., which is one of the important thing tourists are searching for when they're planning their trip.
The rooms are very tidy, clean and the towels are changed daily.
Rooms aren't huge, but after all, if you need a huge room, you should better stay at the Hilton..:):)
The breakfast is also nice and the food is tasty.
The staff is great, always ready for any kind of questions, nice and helpful.
All in all, a veeery reasonable price for a great stay!
Apsolutely recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDI256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Very convenient to all Istanbul sights. A/C and refrigerator not quite up to par. Clean, very small room.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England,
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

i recently stayed at this hotel with my friend january 2012 and we were amazed at how clean and nicely decorated the rooms were. great location, easy to get to main attractions and especially tram stop Cemberlitas which you can get to kabatas then underground to taksim. like under a 10 minute walk to blue mosque, hagia sophia and grand bazaar and also to starbucks!
Mini-bar in room reasonably priced. Some rooms dont have a view its just a matter of what you get. On my next visit to istanbul i would definatly be considering to returning to this hotel!

Room Tip: Try asking in advance for a room that has a window or view, as middle rooms had no daylight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenz_nottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Perfect location. Just around corner from main street ( tram station ) 10 minutes walking to blue mosque and Hagia Sofia.... Helpfull staff, great clean rooms and nice breakfast. Great value for veeery reasonable price.
Recomended!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This hotel was very close to the tram stop Cemberlitas which is one stop away from the very touristy area, Sultanahmet. For the price it was amazingly clean, the showers had good water pressure and we never lacked hot water. There is also free Wifi :)

The staff were really nice; even when my friends and I would come home at 5 in the morning, someone was always there to open the door for us (they lock the front door of the hotel at night). I would recommend this place for sure. Near the tram station, which is on a main road, there are tons of restaurants and sweet shops and the walk down to Sultanahmet is quite nice. It's very close to the Grand Bazaar as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Express Inci Hotel
#665 of 1,149 in Istanbul
11 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#563 of 1,149 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#527 of 1,149 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#367 of 1,149 in Istanbul
119 reviews
Beyoglu
Lavanta Hotel
Lavanta Hotel
#453 of 1,149 in Istanbul
117 reviews
Fener & Balat
New Fatih Hotel
New Fatih Hotel
#749 of 1,149 in Istanbul
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Istanbul

Property: Hotel California Istanbul
Address: Eminsinan Mah. Camii Sok. No:55 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #831 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel California Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing