We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rapunzel is The Best !!!”
Review of Rapunzel Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rapunzel Hostel
Ranked #62 of 1,051 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Funchal, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rapunzel is The Best !!!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Great welcome at midnight (hot tea to warm me up and lots of smiles !!!). Great help with directions, cheapest taxi, more fresh mint tea after a morning of shopping, super clean, organized, oh and the breakfast !!!! Superb :)))) Perfect location, and wonderful decor, wi-fi works fine, well I think I ve made my point. Book now, and you won t regret it :) I didn't !!

Room Tip: I stayed in a dorm, the bathroom is inside, big plus !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilyconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    40
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
19
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here our first few nights in Istanbul and it was perfect. Cozy, clean, super friendly staff, great little breakfast and an awesome location. I'd stay here again and recommend it to others. We had a very spacious room with our own bathroom. It was quiet and they have someone at the desk 24/7.
We loved this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Been here in summer & winter and would come back anytime. It is a well run Hostel in the best part of town to stay really. And the staff is extremely nice, helpful and flexible.
This is my favorite place to stay in Istanbul and I will come back as long as it exists.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Very charming hostel, would definitely recommend it! Friendly and helpful staff. Great location - very close to the Galata Tower, tramway, as well as a 20 min walk to Taksim square. Had a very clean private room & bathroom. Awesome rooftop terrace with amazing views of the city. Breakfast provided. WIFI everywhere - always a plus.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDaisy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Rapunzel was more expensive than other hostels I've been to in Turkey, but it was worth the 18 EUR/night price.

Staff were helpful in giving directions and recommending places to eat. They also let me keep my luggage there for three days after I had checked out -- too accommodating!

Breakfast was good; your standard Turkish fare (cheese, tomatos, bread, olives) but lots of good spreads (hazelnut, jam, butter) and treats (cookies, brownies). Unlimited free water, coffee and tea throughout the day.

Lockers in dorms were a good size and the lock was sturdy. Bathroom was big and clean, although it sometimes smelled at the end of a long day because toilet paper was to be thrown in a garbage bin, not flushed (thankfully, bathrooms were cleaned every day).

A 5-min walk south takes you to Galata Bridge and the tram and a 5-min walk north takes you to Istiklal Caddesi (shopping) and the metro.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msgee39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I spent 3 nights with my girlfriend in October. Couldn't be better.
Very nice welcome from the owner who offered us a tea while he was doing our check in.
Since it was not full, we got an upgrade to a bigger double room.
Hot shower all the time, towels and linen for free.
It is a very good starting point to visit this wonderful city.
Situated in a quite street, but few minutes walk from Isticlal Caddesi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mastizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geneva
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We spent a week there in July with 2 friend, and we just loved it. The guys/girls who work there are really nice and helpful. Have drinks with you on the wonderful roof terrace, take you out, etc. The athmosphere in this hostel is just very particular, there is something in the air... Music, also, very nice music! The place is also very clean, no negative points! I cant wait to go back there! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the 3 beds room, which is on the last floor, just in front of the roofterrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenevaAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Peninsula Galata Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Galata Boutique Hotel
#380 of 1,148 in Istanbul
191 reviews
Karakoy
Novotel Istanbul Bosphorus
Novotel Istanbul Bosphorus
#255 of 1,148 in Istanbul
179 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#57 of 1,148 in Istanbul
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Meroddi Pera Hotel
Meroddi Pera Hotel
#192 of 1,148 in Istanbul
326 reviews
Beyoglu
Has Han Galata
Has Han Galata
#30 of 1,051 in Istanbul
97 reviews
Beyoglu
Art Nouveau Galata
Art Nouveau Galata
#39 of 1,051 in Istanbul
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rapunzel Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rapunzel Hostel

Property: Rapunzel Hostel
Address: Bereketzade District Bereketzade Cami Str. No:3 Arapcami, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 1,051 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rapunzel Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rapunzel Hostel is centrally located in the hip and happening area of Istanbul, "Galata" (in the Beyoglu district) offering a budget hostel next to the famous Galata Tower. Istiklal Street, with its nightlife, shopping and famous cosmopolitan atmosphere is only 5 min away;as is Tunel square, which is officially the trendiest place in Istanbul right now, with a mixture of cool cafes and bars. The old city "Sultanahmet", which holds all the principal monuments of Istanbul, is also 5 min away by tram. The nearest metro station is 2 min, tram and bus stops are 3 min walking distance away from our beloved hostel. It is a place at the heart of the city, offering you a cosy and comfortable base from which to explore the unforgettable beauty of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rapunzel Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing