We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hostel, Great Location & Good Breakfast”
Review of Rapunzel Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rapunzel Hostel
Ranked #67 of 1,067 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly Hostel, Great Location & Good Breakfast”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hostel was perfectly located in a very trendy area in Galata. The area was surrounded by cute coffee shops, great restaurants and the best little markets and shops. Also being very close to the tram line, it was super easy to get to all the main attractions. I would recommend buying an Istanbul card to use on the trams and train as travel is half price using the card.

I stayed at Rapunzel with a friend in a twin room at the beginning of our trip and then in the female dorm at the end of trip which were both nice, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooftop terrace was really great to relax on at the end of the day (you can buy some beers from the local "Tekel" nearby and take them up for fun times).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RapunzelGuesthouse, Owner at Rapunzel Hostel, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for your charming feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Rapunzel and would love to host you again any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    40
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
19
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at Rapunzel for three nights in July. For me the whole hostel experience was a first time event. The first two nights went smoothly, sharing the 6 bed room with 2 other guests who were very pleasant. The third afternoon I asked to be moved to a private double room and we paid the difference. I guess it's a matter of luck who you wind up sharing a room with. The dorm room was otherwise nice, clean sheets and covers and the bed was comfortable. The private room though was great, spacious, on the upper floor, right next to the lovely terrace. The breakfast was okay. I think they could give a whole banana instead of a half to each guest. As mentioned before the location is great, right in the midst of a very lovely and active area, full of shops, bars and restaurants. We met a lot of nice guests at the hostel. The staff is friendly, especially the Bosnian girl, I do not know her name. All and all it was a pleasant stay and I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a budget accommodation.

Room Tip: Private double room number 8 on the 4th floor next to the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This artsy, quaint and cosy hostel is in an amazing location just behind Galata Tower. It's just a 5-7 minute walk to the tram line and a 3 minute walk to the main shopping street in Galata (Istiklal). Lots of fun little eateries around to suit every pocket. A great jazz bar called Nardis round the corner quite a number of other little bars and coffee shops in walking distance. The rooftop terrace is the perfect place to chill at dusk, have some wine and meet some people. The managers of the hostel - Atlantik, Selene and Furkan are incredibly warm and helpful. They'll take their time to chat with you and give you tips on getting around, booking events, advice on what's happening in Istanbul. I stayed in the dorm and it was spotlessly clean and organized with AC for those hot summer evenings. The price was unbeatable as well. I will most definitely be back. Thank you for the wonderful time in Istanbul, Rapunzel! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The all women's dorm room has six beds and has a spotlessly clean ensuite bathroom and a good sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nungari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This quaint little hostel has excellent location and an awesome staff. The 3 owners which are almost always there make you feel very welcoming and right at home. They are super easy to talk to, hang out with you on the terrace, and very helpful. The location is perfect if your staying a few days and plan to travel back and forth between beyolgu and Istanbul mainland, where are the daytime tourist attractions are located. Istanbul mainland has nothing to offer after sun down and beyolgu has shops, restaurants, and nightlife. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RapunzelGuesthouse, Owner at Rapunzel Hostel, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback.
It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
1,608 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 798 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I liked our stay in Rapunzel. The name made us a bit confused, as it states Rapunzel Guesthouse on booking site and Hostel on actual building and just for a bit we were wondering whether there's another. But that problem got solved quite fast. The staff was friendly and helpful, though they didn't mention the towel rental system to us and we went without a towel during our stay. But got cleaned in a hamam so that was solved as well. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable, en suite bathroom allright. I really loved the terrace with beautiful views.

My only complaint is about the sleep quality. Firstly, that cannot be avoided, note that there's a mosque nearby and you'll be waken up very early in the morning by the call to the prayer. It's something that couldn't be helped with and if you mind, check other locations. However the inner room walls are also very thin so anytime someone went up or down the stairs and they were chatting, we heard and it disturbed us during our sleep. That's more a problem of the guests, but I would like to suggest the staff to remind the guest staying and talking on the corridors there are other people trying to sleep and they hear everything going on the corridor.

Haven't tried the breakfast as we always left around 7 in the morning, so can't comment on that.

Overall nice and friendly hostel in a good location ideal for young people.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinde_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RapunzelGuesthouse, Owner at Rapunzel Hostel, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We are always flattered with these positive reviews.
Regarding the mosque nearby, there is no space in Istanbul that you don't hear the call for prayer since there are 3190 active mosques in the city. Last but not least, we also think that this belongs to the daily life in the city. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The staff is here is so great. They're super helpful with any question you might have. The rooms themselves are clean and spacious. It's close to Galata Tower, the main shopping street, and the main tourist attractions (about a 20 minute walk for the last one). The breakfast is delicious and the roof terrace was absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tstuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hostel was a little hard to find, so I advise arriving during the day, but other than that, our stay was lovely. The staff are very welcoming and can give you tips on places to visit, the beds are super comfy and clean, and the rooftop is a really nice place to eat breakfast. I highly recommend this hostel. In addition, it's a great location, close to Galata Tower and other major sites.

In some reviews, I've read that the call to prayer from the mosque next door can be disruptive, but I slept through it most of the time. It's also part of the cultural experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emilia87SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Istanbul Golden City Hotel
#128 of 1,155 in Istanbul
833 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#57 of 1,155 in Istanbul
664 reviews
Karakoy
Peninsula Galata Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Galata Boutique Hotel
#378 of 1,155 in Istanbul
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Meroddi Pera Hotel
Meroddi Pera Hotel
#188 of 1,155 in Istanbul
327 reviews
Beyoglu
Anemon Galata
Anemon Galata
#386 of 1,155 in Istanbul
180 reviews
Beyoglu
Art Nouveau Galata
Art Nouveau Galata
#34 of 1,067 in Istanbul
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rapunzel Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rapunzel Hostel

Property: Rapunzel Hostel
Address: Bereketzade District Bereketzade Cami Str. No:3 Arapcami, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 1,067 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rapunzel Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rapunzel Hostel is centrally located in the hip and happening area of Istanbul, "Galata" (in the Beyoglu district) offering a budget hostel next to the famous Galata Tower. Istiklal Street, with its nightlife, shopping and famous cosmopolitan atmosphere is only 5 min away;as is Tunel square, which is officially the trendiest place in Istanbul right now, with a mixture of cool cafes and bars. The old city "Sultanahmet", which holds all the principal monuments of Istanbul, is also 5 min away by tram. The nearest metro station is 2 min, tram and bus stops are 3 min walking distance away from our beloved hostel. It is a place at the heart of the city, offering you a cosy and comfortable base from which to explore the unforgettable beauty of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rapunzel Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing