We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of May Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
May Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #539 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Dakar, Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I chose this hotel because it was a great price in a good location. The room was very clean and I was especially impressed by the bed which was absolutely heavenly after staying elsewhere in Turkey for a week. You're about a five minute walk from a main rail line that can take you all over the city and the Grand Bazaar is within walking distance. The staff were extremely friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    84
    44
    16
    8
See reviews for
34
103
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

May hotel means to us a very nice and chic location in the heart of Istanbul. Impressive staff, warmest attitude, started with the hotel owner to the house keeper, every time really trying to feel as you are part of their lives... Don't hesitate to ask some advice what to visit in Istanbul, of course without famous sites, because you will get impressive recommendations, on European site, but also on Asian site, faraway of the places visited by tourists from organized trip, indeed fascinated places! 403 room is a tiny room, very well equipped and very clean, with loving balcony, which permitted to feel, smell and see Istanbul atmosphere.

Room Tip: rooms on street side and balcony are charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianChirila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Great location and very friendly staff, always willing to help.
The rooms are OK in size for a weeks stay with shower and toilet which is very clean except for the mould on the back side of the lower shower cubical. This is the only part that let the whole experience down, but with the overall stay, this was very minor and could be quickly corrected with a bottle of mould remover! So you get what you pay for, in this case very cheap Hotel for central Istanbul, with standards well above its hotel rates for the area.
Hotel interior is mainly marble appearance, including the stairs
There is a lift to all floors if required.
Nothing was broken and there was TV and air conditioning which is a must in Istanbul!
Breakfast was self service continental style, which was more than good enough for us. Again everything was very clean, bright and airy.
It has a roof top terrace which was OK on the street side, but looking down on the back side of the hotel there was a lot of rubbish from the small sweat shops, but when sitting down looking out to a partly obscured view of the sea with a beer or coffee was not a problem.
You can get waiter service on the roof, beer or coffee etc, this again was very reasonable.
The hotel rooms are probably better at the front, owing to the remarks above but the street is noisy, but it is Istanbul and if you want no noise, then Istanbul is not for you! There is a mosque a few yards away and the earliest we had this calling the people to prayer was on the Monday at 5am, but then again, you are in Istanbul and this is part of the whole experience!
The windows are double glassed with the continental tilt and turn windows, which are best shut at night!
The cobbled street the hotel is a busy (not manic) area where shoes and the making of shoes is done, so a very good place for reasonably priced footwear. During the day there are no cars passing by, as it is closed off with bollards during the day, and the odd car at night.
For what you are paying, this is a bit of a gem in the madness of Istanbul.
Mini bar was not overpriced at all with beer, soft drinks and sweets.

The hotel is in a great location, near the rail station for the airport (Sadly closed for renovation) The T1 Tram is at the top of the steepest road (approx 500m), or you are approx 1200m from the start of the Blue Mosque and the main area.
On the other side of the road from the tram stop is the Grand Bazaar of a 1000 shops, crazy place, but a must to see!
The area is safe to walk around at night and you have more than 20 restaurants, the first just 50M from the hotel, go past these to the fish market/restaurants on the Bosphorus, about a ten minute walk.
If you walk to the Mosques via the street at the bottom of the hill there are cafes and restaurants a lot cheaper and very good, also used by the locals.
Check out the corner shop at the bottom of the road on the same side as the hotel, very nice person in there and you could buy wine and beer. VERY CHEAP Turkish sweats, 75% cheaper than from the main shops!They will open the wine for you if required, handy as no cork screw!
Use the buses and the tram, plus the official IDO full Bosphorus cruise at 25TL, plus the red bus tour again 25TL as goes past all the major sites and you can get off at the Dolmabache Palace which is not that easy to get to otherwise.j
So a great location as well and would I stay there again, absolutely.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel, (View of street and not back yard) 4th floor (to reduce noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pmb, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We were a party of 8. We arrived very early in the morning (6:30am). The staff were very friendly and accommodating - allowed us to change and freshen up downstairs, eat breakfast and leave our luggage in the lobby until we could check in after midday. Yes, the rooms are tiny, we were in room 404 with a small balcony and our balcony door did not lock so we just jammed out suitcase in between the door and the dresser. One has to move aside as two people cannot move past the bed at once and you cannot leave a suitcase open on the floor as there is no space. BUT, it was fine, we were only there to sleep mostly and by the time we got back to the hotel, the neighbourhood was just about asleep as well. The hotel is situated in the shoe district so work starts early and ends late and all the leather offcuts get dumped in the street for the garbage collectors to collect during the night. The hotel is on a very steep hill but what a way to way up your joints and get your heat pumping in the morning - invigorating ! A short walk and you are up at the main road and tramway. Buy a TravelCard (7L) and load it with about 20L (per person) and you can hop on and off the trams, buses, ferries etc. Ours lasted the entire 5 days we were in the city and we took the ferry to Princes Islands, rode the trams and buses numerous times a day. You get 6L back when you hand in your card at the end of your stay. The Istanbul and SAR restaurants have very friendly staff and the food is reasonable. We spent many evenings there on our way back to the hotel after a busy day touring the city. They offer free wifi so you can sit and sip a beer and catch up with your networks. The vibe in the street there is amazing at night. Down the hill is Kumpkapi and loads of Fish Restaurants - we ate at Neyzen which was very popular and the food very good. Not the cheapest option but had the most customers (mostly local) which tells you something ! The vibe in Kumpkapi was also festive and noisy the night we ventured down there. Back to the May Hotel, the staff are all friendly and helpful and HONEST. One of our party had some laundry done and left some cash in her pocket. When she collected her washed laundry the following day there was her money sitting on top of the pile ! The terrace upstairs is a little grubby and the immediate view is somewhat dismal but in the distance you can see the ocean and the islands, the ferry boats, ships and buildings/mosques close by. We had a few sundowners up there and just enjoyed relaxing and listening to the sounds of the street below. All in all - a good value hotel, well situated and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTravels456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Have just come back from Istanbul where we stayed at the May Hotel. Would definitely recommend the hotel. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was great - a 10 minute walk to Grand Bazaar and the Kumkapi restaurants about a 5 min walk away. The standard room was small but had aircon and was very clean. Breakfasts were also really nice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto the road might be a bit noisy for some but we didn't find it a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneB822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Very nice hotel! Clean and cute! Very nice view from the roof of the hotel. Friendly staff, especially Candan)))! The hotel is located close to attractions! We loved it!)))))

Best Regards,
Natalia, Anna, Natalia

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverwijk, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

The May hotel is very clean, nearby all historic highlights. Very friendly staff. The rooms are small, but you only sleep there, so it is ok. We have visited the city for 5 days with our family, too short to see everything. We will shure come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjvanderkroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Kupeli Hotel
Kupeli Hotel
#397 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Fors Hotel
#576 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Reyyan Hotel
#314 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#280 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Beyazıt
Hotel Gedik Pasa Konagi
Hotel Gedik Pasa Konagi
#862 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#506 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Hotel Istanbul

Property: May Hotel Istanbul
Address: Mimar Hayrettin Mh. Bali Pasa Yokusu Nr: 86 | Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #539 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — May Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May Hotel is situated in the Sultanahmet district in the centre of Istanbul. All of the rooms have air conditioning and satellite TV. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi. Grand Bazaar is 500 m from the property. The terrace offers panoramic views of Istanbul in the summer. The hotel restaurant serves traditional Turkish cuisine and a variety of drinks can be enjoyed in the bar. The hotel is only 10 minutes walk away from many of Istanbul's historic sights including the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sohpia, Basilica Cistern, and Topkapi Palace. May Hotel Istanbul is 14 km away from Atatürk International Airport. Fatih is a great choice for travelers interested in museums, monuments and architecture. This is our guests' favorite part of Istanbul, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your May Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing