We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and tidy.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of May Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
May Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #589 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Clean and tidy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed 4 nights in The May Hotel in October. As has been said in other comments the hotel is in the old part of town and is handy (up the keep fit hill) to the main attractions about a ten to fifteen minuite walk depending on your fitness.Two minuites down the hill to the lively restaurant district. The Hotel is 3 star and is clean and tidy with the usual Turkish breakfast. All in all a good place to see the old town of Istanbul.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    83
    44
    16
    8
See reviews for
33
102
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at May hotel for 5 nights in February 2013. The room was very tiny, but clean and warm. The remote control for the TV was quite a challenge; we had to call twice the reception for assistance… The staff was friendly but barely spoke English. Breakfast was very nice, only the table-cloths were always dirty and full of stains.
As for the location: very close to Grand Bazar and the Tram Station - only 5 min walking (actually climbing, because the street is very narrow). I would not suggest the hotel for people with walking problems. The area around hotel is very weird, most of the shoes & leather manufacturers are located there, so in the morning was quite crowded when the workers were arriving.

Room Tip: I would not suggest the hotel for people with walking problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosenikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed three nights here. It's a nice little hotel, but the rooms are quite small. However, it was spotlessly clean and the staff make the place. Candan on reception is such a lovely man, very friendly and really helpful. We had a problem with out booking company and he was really patient and understanding. I'd recommend staying here if you're on a budget and only using it to lay your head as you would get cabin fever in your room. Outside the hotel, it's in a sort of poor/working man's area but it felt very safe. Lovely restaurants down the hill about 50 m. It's a short walk up the hill to the tram that can bring you anywhere. As a tourist, I found the old town ok to visit but you're better off staying in the new part of the city or the Asian part as it's more 'local'. You don't get pestered by anyone. In the old part of the city, you can't walk 10 m without some idiot selling something shouting at you. We had 'you are white trash' shouted at us by a guy in the bazzar because we walked by and wouldn't go into his shop. Some buck :).

Room Tip: Try see if they have any bigger rooms??
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Synnojd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dakar, Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I chose this hotel because it was a great price in a good location. The room was very clean and I was especially impressed by the bed which was absolutely heavenly after staying elsewhere in Turkey for a week. You're about a five minute walk from a main rail line that can take you all over the city and the Grand Bazaar is within walking distance. The staff were extremely friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

May hotel means to us a very nice and chic location in the heart of Istanbul. Impressive staff, warmest attitude, started with the hotel owner to the house keeper, every time really trying to feel as you are part of their lives... Don't hesitate to ask some advice what to visit in Istanbul, of course without famous sites, because you will get impressive recommendations, on European site, but also on Asian site, faraway of the places visited by tourists from organized trip, indeed fascinated places! 403 room is a tiny room, very well equipped and very clean, with loving balcony, which permitted to feel, smell and see Istanbul atmosphere.

Room Tip: rooms on street side and balcony are charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianChirila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Great location and very friendly staff, always willing to help.
The rooms are OK in size for a weeks stay with shower and toilet which is very clean except for the mould on the back side of the lower shower cubical. This is the only part that let the whole experience down, but with the overall stay, this was very minor and could be quickly corrected with a bottle of mould remover! So you get what you pay for, in this case very cheap Hotel for central Istanbul, with standards well above its hotel rates for the area.
Hotel interior is mainly marble appearance, including the stairs
There is a lift to all floors if required.
Nothing was broken and there was TV and air conditioning which is a must in Istanbul!
Breakfast was self service continental style, which was more than good enough for us. Again everything was very clean, bright and airy.
It has a roof top terrace which was OK on the street side, but looking down on the back side of the hotel there was a lot of rubbish from the small sweat shops, but when sitting down looking out to a partly obscured view of the sea with a beer or coffee was not a problem.
You can get waiter service on the roof, beer or coffee etc, this again was very reasonable.
The hotel rooms are probably better at the front, owing to the remarks above but the street is noisy, but it is Istanbul and if you want no noise, then Istanbul is not for you! There is a mosque a few yards away and the earliest we had this calling the people to prayer was on the Monday at 5am, but then again, you are in Istanbul and this is part of the whole experience!
The windows are double glassed with the continental tilt and turn windows, which are best shut at night!
The cobbled street the hotel is a busy (not manic) area where shoes and the making of shoes is done, so a very good place for reasonably priced footwear. During the day there are no cars passing by, as it is closed off with bollards during the day, and the odd car at night.
For what you are paying, this is a bit of a gem in the madness of Istanbul.
Mini bar was not overpriced at all with beer, soft drinks and sweets.

The hotel is in a great location, near the rail station for the airport (Sadly closed for renovation) The T1 Tram is at the top of the steepest road (approx 500m), or you are approx 1200m from the start of the Blue Mosque and the main area.
On the other side of the road from the tram stop is the Grand Bazaar of a 1000 shops, crazy place, but a must to see!
The area is safe to walk around at night and you have more than 20 restaurants, the first just 50M from the hotel, go past these to the fish market/restaurants on the Bosphorus, about a ten minute walk.
If you walk to the Mosques via the street at the bottom of the hill there are cafes and restaurants a lot cheaper and very good, also used by the locals.
Check out the corner shop at the bottom of the road on the same side as the hotel, very nice person in there and you could buy wine and beer. VERY CHEAP Turkish sweats, 75% cheaper than from the main shops!They will open the wine for you if required, handy as no cork screw!
Use the buses and the tram, plus the official IDO full Bosphorus cruise at 25TL, plus the red bus tour again 25TL as goes past all the major sites and you can get off at the Dolmabache Palace which is not that easy to get to otherwise.j
So a great location as well and would I stay there again, absolutely.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel, (View of street and not back yard) 4th floor (to reduce noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pmb, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We were a party of 8. We arrived very early in the morning (6:30am). The staff were very friendly and accommodating - allowed us to change and freshen up downstairs, eat breakfast and leave our luggage in the lobby until we could check in after midday. Yes, the rooms are tiny, we were in room 404 with a small balcony and our balcony door did not lock so we just jammed out suitcase in between the door and the dresser. One has to move aside as two people cannot move past the bed at once and you cannot leave a suitcase open on the floor as there is no space. BUT, it was fine, we were only there to sleep mostly and by the time we got back to the hotel, the neighbourhood was just about asleep as well. The hotel is situated in the shoe district so work starts early and ends late and all the leather offcuts get dumped in the street for the garbage collectors to collect during the night. The hotel is on a very steep hill but what a way to way up your joints and get your heat pumping in the morning - invigorating ! A short walk and you are up at the main road and tramway. Buy a TravelCard (7L) and load it with about 20L (per person) and you can hop on and off the trams, buses, ferries etc. Ours lasted the entire 5 days we were in the city and we took the ferry to Princes Islands, rode the trams and buses numerous times a day. You get 6L back when you hand in your card at the end of your stay. The Istanbul and SAR restaurants have very friendly staff and the food is reasonable. We spent many evenings there on our way back to the hotel after a busy day touring the city. They offer free wifi so you can sit and sip a beer and catch up with your networks. The vibe in the street there is amazing at night. Down the hill is Kumpkapi and loads of Fish Restaurants - we ate at Neyzen which was very popular and the food very good. Not the cheapest option but had the most customers (mostly local) which tells you something ! The vibe in Kumpkapi was also festive and noisy the night we ventured down there. Back to the May Hotel, the staff are all friendly and helpful and HONEST. One of our party had some laundry done and left some cash in her pocket. When she collected her washed laundry the following day there was her money sitting on top of the pile ! The terrace upstairs is a little grubby and the immediate view is somewhat dismal but in the distance you can see the ocean and the islands, the ferry boats, ships and buildings/mosques close by. We had a few sundowners up there and just enjoyed relaxing and listening to the sounds of the street below. All in all - a good value hotel, well situated and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTravels456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Fors Hotel
#568 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kupeli Hotel
Kupeli Hotel
#381 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Sultanahmet
Spinel Hotel
Spinel Hotel
#560 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyazıt
Hotel Gedik Pasa Konagi
Hotel Gedik Pasa Konagi
#850 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Reyyan Hotel
#314 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#270 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Hotel Istanbul

Property: May Hotel Istanbul
Address: Mimar Hayrettin Mh. Bali Pasa Yokusu Nr: 86 | Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #589 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — May Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May Hotel is situated in the Sultanahmet district in the centre of Istanbul. All of the rooms have air conditioning and satellite TV. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi. Grand Bazaar is 500 m from the property. The terrace offers panoramic views of Istanbul in the summer. The hotel restaurant serves traditional Turkish cuisine and a variety of drinks can be enjoyed in the bar. The hotel is only 10 minutes walk away from many of Istanbul's historic sights including the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sohpia, Basilica Cistern, and Topkapi Palace. May Hotel Istanbul is 14 km away from Atatürk International Airport. Fatih is a great choice for travelers interested in museums, monuments and architecture. This is our guests' favorite part of Istanbul, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your May Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing