We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and price-worthy!”
Review of May Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
May Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #544 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very friendly staff, this hotel´s located in a vibrant area. Very clean room but small...but hey: when you´re visiting Istanbul for the 1st time, you´re not spending more hours then a good nights sleep in your hotelroom!! And you´ll get it here: new, nice bed. The prayer might wake you up early in the morning, but that only adds to the experience acc. to my book. A bit boring breakfast, though. A recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

The May hotel as others have stated are a short distance to the Grand Bazaar, and other old city attractions. That said, it is in a working class neighborhood which can be different than what would be expected. We always felt safe, even at night, but then we are from Philadelphia and used to the city life. The rooms are a bit out of date, and the beds are not that great, but compared to what you pay for a hotel across from the Blue Mosque, this place does the job. The staff is extremely helpful and nice, and helped us several times when we had specific needs. If you decide to stay here, ask for a room in the back of the hotel, as the street is very noisy late into the night; as well as the loud 4:30am Muslim prayer call that sounds like it happens in your room. We moved rooms after two nights of no sleep from the front to the back of the hotel and were fine afterwards. The street to the bazaar is a straight shot up a giant hill so bring good shoes! Overall, knowing what you are booking helps immensely. We had a blast, and the hotel met our needs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The May Hotel is fairly central for the main sights of Istanbul. The Grand Bazaar, Spice Market, Basilica Cistern, Blue Mosque Topkapi Palace and, Aya Sofya, are all in fairly close walking distance from the hotel but be warned there are some very steep hills to climb away from the hotel.

The hotel is in an old fashioned working district (shoe making) so it was noisy. Even late at night you could hear the tap, tap, tap of the workers. The hotel is also just yards from a mosque and every morning at 5 the call to prayer was as good an alarm clock as you can get.
The hotel was very tired looking and was in need of some renovation. Out room was very small both for the bed and the bathroom which was tiny.
On the positive side the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was totally adequate and there was plenty of it.
There were numerous restaurants within 5 minutes.
Although this hotel was in a very old part of Istanbul which some people may find intimidating I can honestly say we never felt threatened in any way shape or form. Would I use the hotel again – probably not but only because I think it needs a facelift and the small size of our room goes against it. In terms of the staff and location it gets a thumbs up from me.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel before booking as views are not very good and rooms are small. Beware of the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Istanbul was our third stop of our trip. We were looking forward to a great hotel as the reviews stated, but were disappointed rather quickly. When we first arrived we were shocked at the neighborhood, how could such a highly rated hotel be in an area that was quite sketchy. As a woman staying by yourself or with girlfriends, I would not recommend this area. Our room faced the street and the walls were paper thin, so you can forget getting a good night's sleep. It was just too noisy, we had to call the front desk about the room next to us several times. The other quite annoying factor was the shower, let me say it was the smallest shower ever made, but in addition it was not possible to shower for more than a 10 seconds at a time due to the clogged drain that had to clear or it would flood the room. Another tip, don't go up on the rooftop, you will really see how sketchy the neighborhood is, best to leave that out. Breakfast was not great either, we couldn't even get a good cup of coffee or any fresh juices. We later learned that Turkish breakfast is very different from what we were used to (so maybe it wasn't just the hotel), and were able to find some omelettes and pastries closer to the mosques. I would not visit this hotel again, but we loved Istanbul and hope to travel there again.

Room Tip: The closer to the Blue Mosques, the nice the area and the safer it feels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W2MORA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I went to visit Istanbul for 4 days. Was the first time there and the first time when I travel that a chose a hotel that has less then 4 stars. The deal was outstanding , so I decided to give it a try.
I had not big expectations of Istanbul because I knew I should not expect the other places luxurious life. The hotel is situated few minutes walk from the Grand bazar, Blue Mosque, and seaside shore.The rooms are small but you can expect much from 3 stars in Istanbul. The personal was very nice and welcoming and I was very pleased to see that they change the sheets and towels every day. The only inconvenient that i have experienced was that the walls were very thin and you were able to here the neighbor talking.
If you really want to experience haw normal life is in Istanbul and really get in touch with their customs you definitely should chose this hotel or something similar. It it worth it.

Room Tip: I would go for rooms at the first floor because of the noise and internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anamaria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

august2013.....what a wonderful experience...well we can say that we are realy pleased ..the rooms were clean and cute,,a respectable service also..they were realy helpful..location is great perfectly in the middle..what make our journey fabioulous and easy..we loved istanbul ..and every time we joined our hotel we were happier..great mometns there ..me and my husband i guess we falled again in love and yhis time in istanbul......wish you enjoying it also..my regards.

Room Tip: middle floor is awesome but i prefer the highest// a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Only 2 stops away from Sultan Ahmet Mosque by tram, and several other mosques museums and monuments all in the same vinicty. This is generally the best location in Istanbul to be close to the centre of the Old City and New City.

The hotel staff are very welcoming polite and friendly.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Istanbul not just because of budget but because of location. However the 5*'s are further down the end of the city will take you awhile getting here every day .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aleem82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Fors Hotel
#589 of 1,159 in Istanbul
115 reviews
Tayhan Hotel
#998 of 1,159 in Istanbul
75 reviews
Amber Hotel
#84 of 1,159 in Istanbul
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#591 of 1,159 in Istanbul
224 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#893 of 1,159 in Istanbul
358 reviews
Sultanahmet
Abella Hotel
Abella Hotel
#1,033 of 1,159 in Istanbul
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Hotel Istanbul

Address: Mimar Hayrettin Mh. Bali Pasa Yokusu Nr: 86 | Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #544 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £21 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — May Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May Hotel is situated in the Sultanahmet district in the centre of Istanbul. All of the rooms have air conditioning and satellite TV. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi. Grand Bazaar is 500 m from the property. The terrace offers panoramic views of Istanbul in the summer. The hotel restaurant serves traditional Turkish cuisine and a variety of drinks can be enjoyed in the bar. The hotel is only 10 minutes walk away from many of Istanbul's historic sights including the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sohpia, Basilica Cistern, and Topkapi Palace. May Hotel Istanbul is 14 km away from Atatürk International Airport. Fatih is a great choice for travelers interested in museums, monuments and architecture. This is our guests' favorite part of Istanbul, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your May Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing