We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing 'Boutique'-Hotel”
Review of Best Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Town Hotel
Ranked #139 of 1,038 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing 'Boutique'-Hotel”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We chose this hotel because of the very good reviews and the promising presentation in their brochure and website - but our expectations were not met.
The hotel certainly is above average in many points such as having a lift (which is very convenient when your room is on the fourth floor), showing a general cleanliness, comfortable beds, and friendly staff. The advertised hospitality tray in the room (for making your own hot drinks) as well as the promised bathrobe were missing - we had free tea though from the breakfast area and free hotel slippers. The room was small, the second person could only sit down on the bed. The wardrobe was not deep enough for clothes hangers and had insufficient space. The net curtains were dusty-dirty and really in need of a wash. However, the bed clothes were bright white, and the duvet warm enough for a November stay.
The bathroom showed mould in the usual, hard-to-clean corners of the shower tray and doors, had a rattling air extractor, and an old, sawn-off waterpipe in the ceiling which was stuffed with toilet paper and was surrounded by a big watermark.
The breakfast area was rather small with 18 seats, the buffet offered a wide, but unexciting choice. It was supposed to start at 7:30 a.m., yet the 'early-birds' were left almost high and dry until the better things (scrambled and boiled eggs, pastries and fresh tomatoes/cucumbers) arrived by 8:15.
Overall we did not regret our decision to stay here for 5 nights: the price was very good, the position excellent for sight-seeing, but the surrounding area is a mixture of well-kept houses and hotels, and brightly lit shops and restaurants on the ground floor of dingy buildings in a run-down quarter.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stefan-Gwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    55
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
37
63
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I would heartily recommend this hotel for a holiday stay in Istanbul. I stayed for a total of 3 nights on two different occasions, and found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and great value. The location is very handy to the light rail system (which is efficient and cheap, running from the airport with one simple transfer) and is walking distance to many of Istanbul's key attractions (the Hagia Sophia is just up the hill - maybe 10 minutes walk, and I even walked up to Taksim Square). Breakfast was included in the room rate, and was excellent. Rebi was an excellent host - nothing seemed too much trouble for him.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melburnian_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kermanshah, Iran
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We reserved this hotel three weeks prior to our stay. When we arrived there in the morning (8:00), the guy at the reception took us to a room in a hotel apartmant, as the hotel was overbooked. this was an unpleasant first impression and we refused to stay in the hotel apartmant with no other guests or any lobby or elevator (though the room was good). When we came back to the hotel refusing to stay, he said I meant you can stay there for one night and if not, you can wait until 14:00 (check in time) to stay in the hotel. We felt that he has slightly changed his words. If they had confirmed our reservation via email (as we can not book through Booking.com due to recent sanctions on international credit cards in Iran), then this was a bit questioning. If we didn't have this experience, we may have rated them 5 out of 5.
This was our first negative impression on the arrival, but the hotel had two other negatives for us: first, the lobby was very small (if we could call it a lobby). Well, we almost knew this, but we like to see and chat with other guests from all over the world, and sit and relax in the lobby. The second one , was our room view. I sent an email a week prior to arrival about whether we can choose our room view or not, and I didn't get any reply. Our room was in the second floor with a view of fire staircase and the next buildings roofs. Although, we had a small view of Galata tower, but we would have prefered higher floors or street viewing rooms if possible.
But these were our negatives, the hotel had lots of positive points which I mention them:
- Clean rooms. The clean lady did her job great and in our surprse, she even tidied up our stuff.
- Location: very close to everything by foot without even using Tram. But if you like to use tram, it is also very close to Sirkeci and Gulhane tram station.
- Very good breakfast concerning the price. We care about breakfast very much and this property had a good variety of sweets everyday, and some of the items were changed every morning. We had long and joyful breakfasts everyday.
- High speed wifi, altough it didn't work well in the first two days in the room getting disconnected and I kept going to the lobby to use the WIFI. In the third and fourth day, this didn't happen.
- Water pressure very good, and getting hot very quickly.The bath and shower very clean.
- And finally, very good staff, specially Rebi! He chatted with me in the first night and he was very kind and helpful.
Overall, I certainly recommend this hotel, with some small negatives.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamyar_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed for second time to Best Town. This is a small hotel in a good location in İstanbul, just a few minutes walking distance to Agia Sofia, Grand Bazar and Egyptian Market.
Hotel owner is really kind and helpful, staff also very good. Rooms are not luxury, but they are clean and quite reasonable sized comparing to others in İstanbul.
Breakfast is simple but good, exactly what we needed before starting our Istanbul tours!
Good value for money, we were pleased both times we stayed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I have been to this awesome hotel at the beginning of this month. It is not just a hotel it is almost a home in a foreign country, i have been to Istanbul alone but staying in this hotel made me feel i am home. i spent a night at a friend and next day Rabei this gentleman managing the hotel was asking about me and checking i am ok cause he hadn't seen me. It is perfect in everything and worth every lira you pay in it and much more. I will not also forget Abdullah whom i had several great talks with and was always offering help. On day there was a misunderstanding with a guest and although i knew Turkish are very nervous he was handling it in a very calm way.Thank you Best Town Hotel for the best days ever and the wonderful holiday,. Hotel is centrally located and easily reachable by all means with very good internet connection. Miss those days :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maha_Ahmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Very nice hotel, well located, in a walk distance of all the touristical sites in Sultanahmet, and tram station is about 2 minutes walking. The breakfast was great, the staff was very helpful and we didn’t have any problems with noise. It was daily cleaned, and the WiFi signal was always good in our room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika_Nahmias1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitesti, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at Best Town hotel at the beginning of May.It is a small boutique hotel,but we find 4*star conditions: large room with partial sea view,nice&large bathroom fully equipped and very good breakfast.The hotel is very close to the Galata bridge,to the Spice market,Blue mosque or to the Bazar.In 200 m you can find a lot of restaurants,even a Mc Donald's or Burger King.The tram station to all the important touristical sites or shopping centers and the train station is in 3 minutes walking.It is really a little gem and I highly recommend it.We will return next year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stet_iuliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Septimum Hotel
Septimum Hotel
#485 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Sultanahmet
Galata Istanbul Hotel
Galata Istanbul Hotel
#593 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#163 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#348 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Sultanahmet
Askoc Hotel
Askoc Hotel
#524 of 1,134 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Town Hotel

Property: Best Town Hotel
Address: Nobethane Caddesi No. 34 | Sirkeci, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 1,038 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Old Istanbul, this hotel is within walking distance of many historic attractions, including Topkapi Palace, the Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. The Best Town Hotel has air-conditioned guest rooms with free Wi-Fi and 24-hour front desk service. The rooms at the Best Town include a minibar and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. The rooms at the front side of the hotel feature large floor-to-ceiling windows and a balcony. In the morning, the hotel serves a breakfast buffet with fresh fruit and tea. The Town Hotel provides room service and box lunches for day trips. Guests can enjoy the hotel's laundry and a dry cleaning service. There is also a tour desk that assists with car rental and provides information on local attractions. The Best Town Hotel is within a 10-minute walk from Sultanahmet Square and is less than a 20-minute walk from the Blue Mosque. Marmaray Sirkeci Metro Station is within walking distance. Private parking is available at a location nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing