We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not go there ....” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galissta Restaurant

Galissta Restaurant
Ranked #6,528 of 13,374 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
Description: Starting activity with, "Sultanahmet meeting points" motto and Galissta keeps on growing with its professional service approach, selected tastes of world cuisine to different tastes of its rich menu, warm atmosphere and modern design,high level of customer satisfaction...
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not go there ....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Lured in by the "friendly" gentleman out front .... should have checked tripadvisor before ordering, similar story to tell as has been reported here several times.

The 10 % Tax showed up on the bill just as mentioned by someone else here; my friends fish was "exchanged" for a "better" one without asking, wine was a not even close to what the 65 Lira should have bought us ....

Appetizers were adjusted to what probably was available in the kitchen regardless of our order.

Needless to say that we were dissapointed and got into a heated debate with the owner of the place and got some of the Liras removed fron the 362 Lira intial bill ..... what a ripp off !

We love Istanbul, but places like this should be shut down to avoid damage to the image of Istanbul and Turkey.

Upon bringing up the tripadvisor comments regarding his restaurant the owner just said that "I do not care" ....

Avoid this place under all circumstances, what a dissapointment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank olwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    8
    12
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Please walk on. Don't be seduced by the man of the entrance.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Very aggressive the treatment of the host. He offered us 20% of discount and it was a lie. Be careful!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pabloquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Galissta Restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

This is exactly the type of place to be careful of in Sultanahmet area. Guy in front calling in customers was nice and we gave in (only time on trip we did) and we should have kept walking. First if you have the seafood, the price is negotiable. This surprised me, when out front observing the fish selection negotiated the price and amount of food i would receive. Had lobster and mallet. Lobster was great mallet was not. The mallet was served whole, this is very different that what i am used to. But having to take out the bone and take off the head of the fish kind of killed my appetite. Other items on menu were high for area $20-25 pp. Service was slow and staff was not friendly. Easily worst restaurant experience of trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aylesbury
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Walked past this restaurant every day during our stay, and eventually gave in to the man on the door. We were going to order some food, but first thought we would have a drink. we ordered a beer and a Tia-Maria cofee. The beer came, and about ten minutes later the waiter came back and explained they had no Tia-Maria, and would we like an alternative, ordered a Baileys coffee another ten minutes past before the coffee was brought out. Decided at this time that if that was what they were like with a small drinks order what would it be like if we ordered food, so didn't bother. will not visit again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't be lured in by the 'man on the door'.............walk on by!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stupidly seduced by the sales patter, we agreed to eat at this 'worse than average restaurant.' Sold a fish, that would be filetted and served with jumbo prawns,
we had high expectations after an extremely good meal in the fish restaurant on the opposite cormer the evening before. However, the presentation didn't inspire, the service was slow and the fish massacred! So overcooked it was inedible and prawns tasted close to being 'not fit for sale' (Paid for it later!!)
Well overpriced so that our complaint and refusal to pay full price still meant we paid too much. My husband's meal equally poor with cold congealed chips and cheap uninspiring salad accompanyment. Our advice ..........walk on and choose wisely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SnookyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galissta Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Galissta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing