We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Stylish & Great location”
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Senatus Hotel
Ranked #120 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This hotel is not big if that's what u r expecting, it is more like a stylish, modern and a bit of Turkish designed, clean, friendly type.

Plus:
1. Very clean. I guess it is still kinda newly renovated.
2. Modern. Uses touch panel in the lift, and extra big shower head which I liked very much.
3. Located right at the restaurant street, atmosphere is perfect but not noisy. Also, the blue mosque and Sophia hagia is only 5 min away.
4. Breakfast is included.
5. 5 min walk to street car station if u wanna go to the new town side.

Minus:
1. I drink bottled water, and it only provided 1 bottle on the first day, so if u r like me, buy ur own.
2. Breakfast is weak, except the bread and coffee r good. Dun expect a brunch.
3. The time on the clock is away wrong, it gets reset every time u pull the card.

P.s. Selcuk was very friendly, told us what and where everything is on the first day, and if he asks u what kinda drink u like, ask for something expensive, hehehe.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7ppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

We were extremely impressed with Senatus Hotel - everything was clean and comfortable at a reasonable price. The staff was welcoming and helpful in answering all our questions at any time. The location is incredible and made our trip much easier. We actually left for a more expensive hotel, which we had planned to do before arriving in Istanbul, and returned to the Senatus because we preferred it. Would highly recommend!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alper O, Manager at Senatus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

My dear guest ,
Thank you for a charming review.

I am thrilled you had such a lovely stay with us and very much hope all your other expectations in Istanbul were just as enjoyable. We are honoured you chose Senatus Hotel and rather hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such a nice,that generous review.
Greetings from Istanbul to anyone who is a part your life.

Warm regards,
Alper OZTURK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

That sounds like a bit of an overstatement, but I really couldn't mean it more. I recently returned from Istanbul where I spent 6 nights at the Senatus Hotel. I had booked it based on all of the good reviews on tripadvisor and I was not disappointed. On arrival we were greeted by Selçuk, the reservations exec who gave us a map of the city and marked out all of the tourist sites, the tram lines, post office and even gave us recommendations for jazz clubs after telling him that was something we were keen to visit. His fantastic dead pan humour was great and we instantly felt like we had made the right decision booking the hotel.

We had booked to stay in a consul (economy) room and I had emailed ahead asking to be away from the street at the back of the hotel as I had seen that some people has said that the street side can be noisy. This was all sorted for us with no problem what so ever. Initially I was worried about the size of the room based on the website photos, but these fears were unfounded. The room was just the right size for two people, immaculately clean and came with complementary slippers, robes, loofahs and tea/coffee/water. The rooms are cleaned everyday and fresh towels are always available.

At the back of the hotel we had no problem sleeping at all and all we could hear was the sound of the air conditioning (which was also pretty quiet).

The staff at the hotel are all fabulous and we had a great time sitting out in the bar/restaurant downstairs having an effes each night and getting to know everyone. You receive two complementary drinks on arrival (including cocktails) which was a fantastic and very welcomed surprise after the flight.

The Senatus is located 5 mins from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia and is about a 7 min walk from Sultanhamet tram line which takes you to Taxim Sqaure (change at Kabataş), the Grand Bazaar and all of the major sites. The road the hotel is situated on is full of bars and restaurants. It is a little touristy but not overly expensive and we had a great time in some of the places nearby.

I really cannot gush enough about this fantastic hotel. I have never been so sad to leave somewhere in my life! We would have had a great trip in this fantastic city anyway, but staying at the Senatus made it just that little bit even more special.

Thanks to everyone there for such a great time! If you are in Istanbul the definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are worried about noise from the bustling road outside then ask ahead for a room at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannahmeganlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights in here everthing was really nice rooms are very good and superclean beds are comfortable.Staff are heplfull and very friendly. We love this place We would absolutely recommend the Senatus and understand why it has such a great Tripadvisor review

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosacastro1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

As the many other reviews will attest, this is a great place to stay for numerous reasons in Istanbul. We would like to stress that the staff was the best thing about it. We had a couple of moderately serious problems of our own making that were handled by both Cagdas Turkoglu and Selcuk Vardar at the front desk, going way beyond what we could have expected and saved us a large amount of time, money and grief.

In addition, the same applies to the restaurant staff. In addition to great food and wine, they went out of their way to accommodate our very early departure and were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed 8 nights at the Senatus Hotel. It's a charming place, in the middle of all the must-sees. But also close to more mystic streets with old houses, the fishing harbor etc. etc. Really very centrally located. The rooms are very good, superclean, good beds, fast internet. We stayed a few nights in a room at the back side and the rest at the front side. Even though it's a street with many restaurants the room was very quiet due to the good isolation. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. We really felt being at home. A calm haven in a busy city, staying in this street it feels like being in a quiet village.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jojo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Senatus Hotel, for the 3 nights we were in Istanbul. The room was very nice and the staff is very friendly. Be aware of the rooms which have street view, as they tend to be very noisy at night (which is normal for this area). With the breakfast we were not very delighted.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikka2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#21 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,016 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#26 of 1,163 in Istanbul
842 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#14 of 1,163 in Istanbul
944 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#68 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,475 reviews
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No: 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £34 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing