We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short stay in Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Senatus Hotel
Ranked #33 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe
Level Contributor
151 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“short stay in Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

This hotel is central in the older part of town and near the main tourist attractions, The Bosphorus and restaurants. The reception is only small but the staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble, first class service, and the rooms also were very good, well equipped, and very clean. We only took the breakfast meal option but the breakfast food and service was good. This is quite a modestly priced hotel but our stay was first class and we were very pleased and would not hesitate to recommend. We will be returning to Istanbul for a further visit and will most certainly go to the Senatus again. Before our visit I enquired by email about sightseeing tours, the hotel staff sent details and attached tour brochures and also booked us on our selected tour. As an aside, we actually left some clothing at the hotel after checkout and they forwarded this on to us at our next destination without any problem whatsoever.

Room Tip: Our room was to the back of the hotel and was quiet, I have no idea whether rooms at the front would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    166
    21
    0
    1
See reviews for
114
389
61
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

The location of this hotel was terrific- in the middle of Sultanahmet and very close to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. The rooms were clean and a good size- good value for money. We found the staff (front desk and waitstaff) to be very pleasant and helpful. The free wi-fi worked well. However the mattress was literally as hard as a rock- my hips became very sore if I slept on my side. The quality of the bedding would stop me returning to this hotel. If the bedding was improved, I would give it a five star rating.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthLoz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

This hotel is not big if that's what u r expecting, it is more like a stylish, modern and a bit of Turkish designed, clean, friendly type.

Plus:
1. Very clean. I guess it is still kinda newly renovated.
2. Modern. Uses touch panel in the lift, and extra big shower head which I liked very much.
3. Located right at the restaurant street, atmosphere is perfect but not noisy. Also, the blue mosque and Sophia hagia is only 5 min away.
4. Breakfast is included.
5. 5 min walk to street car station if u wanna go to the new town side.

Minus:
1. I drink bottled water, and it only provided 1 bottle on the first day, so if u r like me, buy ur own.
2. Breakfast is weak, except the bread and coffee r good. Dun expect a brunch.
3. The time on the clock is away wrong, it gets reset every time u pull the card.

P.s. Selcuk was very friendly, told us what and where everything is on the first day, and if he asks u what kinda drink u like, ask for something expensive, hehehe.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7ppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We were extremely impressed with Senatus Hotel - everything was clean and comfortable at a reasonable price. The staff was welcoming and helpful in answering all our questions at any time. The location is incredible and made our trip much easier. We actually left for a more expensive hotel, which we had planned to do before arriving in Istanbul, and returned to the Senatus because we preferred it. Would highly recommend!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alper O, Manager at Senatus Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2016
My dear guest ,
Thank you for a charming review.

I am thrilled you had such a lovely stay with us and very much hope all your other expectations in Istanbul were just as enjoyable. We are honoured you chose Senatus Hotel and rather hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such a nice,that generous review.
Greetings from Istanbul to anyone who is a part your life.

Warm regards,
Alper OZTURK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

That sounds like a bit of an overstatement, but I really couldn't mean it more. I recently returned from Istanbul where I spent 6 nights at the Senatus Hotel. I had booked it based on all of the good reviews on tripadvisor and I was not disappointed. On arrival we were greeted by Selçuk, the reservations exec who gave us a map of the city and marked out all of the tourist sites, the tram lines, post office and even gave us recommendations for jazz clubs after telling him that was something we were keen to visit. His fantastic dead pan humour was great and we instantly felt like we had made the right decision booking the hotel.

We had booked to stay in a consul (economy) room and I had emailed ahead asking to be away from the street at the back of the hotel as I had seen that some people has said that the street side can be noisy. This was all sorted for us with no problem what so ever. Initially I was worried about the size of the room based on the website photos, but these fears were unfounded. The room was just the right size for two people, immaculately clean and came with complementary slippers, robes, loofahs and tea/coffee/water. The rooms are cleaned everyday and fresh towels are always available.

At the back of the hotel we had no problem sleeping at all and all we could hear was the sound of the air conditioning (which was also pretty quiet).

The staff at the hotel are all fabulous and we had a great time sitting out in the bar/restaurant downstairs having an effes each night and getting to know everyone. You receive two complementary drinks on arrival (including cocktails) which was a fantastic and very welcomed surprise after the flight.

The Senatus is located 5 mins from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia and is about a 7 min walk from Sultanhamet tram line which takes you to Taxim Sqaure (change at Kabataş), the Grand Bazaar and all of the major sites. The road the hotel is situated on is full of bars and restaurants. It is a little touristy but not overly expensive and we had a great time in some of the places nearby.

I really cannot gush enough about this fantastic hotel. I have never been so sad to leave somewhere in my life! We would have had a great trip in this fantastic city anyway, but staying at the Senatus made it just that little bit even more special.

Thanks to everyone there for such a great time! If you are in Istanbul the definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are worried about noise from the bustling road outside then ask ahead for a room at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannahmeganlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights in here everthing was really nice rooms are very good and superclean beds are comfortable.Staff are heplfull and very friendly. We love this place We would absolutely recommend the Senatus and understand why it has such a great Tripadvisor review

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosacastro1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We thought this was a great hotel for a great price. We spent 1 night in instanbul the week before and stayed in another boutique hotel in the same area for over double the price. I thought we would splurge for the 1night knowing we would be jetlagged. We should have booked the Senatus for that stay as well. Value there was no comparison, Senatus was so far ahead. If you are expecting an American style hotel then you should go and stay in one of those. This is a small boutique hotel like many in Istanbul, we received great service, good breakfast, a claen, good sized room - we only booked the basic room type but even so it was most confortable. We would absolutely recommend the Senatus and understand why it has such a great TA review.

Room Tip: Great value, small fun hotel in great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#34 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#22 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#43 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Otel
Saba Sultan Otel
#41 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Property: Senatus Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No: 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing