We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a great location”
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Senatus Hotel
Ranked #133 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights with my wife and 2 year old son in Oct 2012. Wasn't expecting the hotel to be so close to all the major attractions in Sultanahmet (5 min walk to the Blue Mosque & Hagia Sophia) and there are plenty of places to eat nearby. Hotel staff, especially the guys on reception were very friendly and helpful and were always more than happy to answer any questions we had.
The room was clean and of a decent size but if travelling with a kid, I would suggest you book a larger room than their standard double (also, rooms towards the back of the hotel faces a residential building with people on the balcony so ask for a room facing the front street if you want any sort of a view). A/C worked fine and the shower was amazing. Breakfast provided was Turkish breakfast, which was OK, but a bit more choice on continental items would have been preferred if you (like me) aren't a big fan of cold meats and cheese first thing in the morning.

Access to the hotel with a pram/push chair wasn't the easiest thing as there are a few sets of steps both at the entrance of the hotel as well as from the hotel reception to the lifts, but as we found out, not many places in Istanbul are very child friendly but people are usually happy to assist.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if you want any sort of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

I spent three nights in Istanbul at the Senatus Hotel in April 2011. It’s a small but very warm hotel. My room was the 406, a delicious place. I felt like a princess.
The hotel is very well located, close to the major monuments of this fantastic city. It’s a perfect place to stay when visiting Istanbul.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank bimbo_swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It was a lovely, clean hotel. We had no view outside our window (just a brick wall), but the location is great (albeit very touristy), and you're close to the blue mosque, hagia sofia, topkapi palace etc. They had all the amenities you need, but the bathroom door was just a glass door, offering little privacy to the user. The other issue I had with the hotel is the staff. Two guys that either act too cool, or are just dopey.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dr F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights on leisure in late Oct. 2012. The hotel is located on a fairly touristy strip but otherwise in a great place for both access to historic sites and public transport, both tram and suburban train are 5 mins walk away and very frequent. Rooms are very well appointed and actually bigger than they look on the hotel's website (stayed in a standard double). Reception staff informative and speaks good English, which should not be taken for granted in Istanbul. Price was a bit higher than what you'd expect for the same standard in Britain or the US, but that's Istanbul for you. The only let down was breakfast -- we fully expected the traditional spread of cheeses and sliced meats, which is fairly typical in Turkey and we normally like. However, the food looked generally stale, as if everything was left on the trays until some guest would pick it up or it went rotten and was therefore not presentable any longer. Shame, as everything else was great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filippo_Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at the senatus for 5 nights in mid october 2012. The Hotel looks as if it has been recently refurbished and our room although just a standard room was very nice and was cleaned every day to a very high standard. The location of the hotel is fantastic and istanbul is a fantastic city and i felt very safe walking around during the day and night. The breakfast in the morning was average but the coffee great. I do agree with other guests, the beds are too hard. Also the walls between rooms do not have great soundproofing. The showers are fantastic, wish I had one like the hotels at home.
I agreed with the hotel to pay the 50 euros airport pick up/drop off round trip. You can imagine my horror when we got into Istanbul late on Thursday night and there was no taxi waiting for us. after a few nervous fone calls they finally got us a taxi and as a goodwill gesture they gave us a delicious meal for 2 on the house. So I take my hat off to them for that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottygio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

It's a great location, only blocks from the Aya Sofya and Blue Mosque and Sultanahmet tram stop. The rooms are comfortable, new, clean, reasonable sized, and bathroom nice as well. It's not a luxury hotel, but just below that level. I found it very nice and got a good price of about $140 USD per night. Breakfast is pretty good as well. And finally, I want to mention that both the desk staff and breakfast staff were very nice and tried to answer any questions that we had. No real view out, but that's the only 'negative,' and I was there to get out and see Istanbul so lack of view did not matter to me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerBobDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I stayed in Istanbul with my wife in holidays.

We've stayed in Istanbul for 4 nights and then we went to Cappadocia for 3 nights and finally returned to Istanbul for 3 more nights.

We were hosted in Senatus Hotel during all our time in Istanbul.

Senatus defines itself as a boutique hotel in Sultanamet and in fact it really is if considered within the context of Istanbul. Although, not a boutique hotel as we have imagined it in the first place when in comparison with other boutique hotels where we've stayed. Nonetheless, this should not be taken as a low point of the hotel it is just a specific issue from our expectations and experiences.

Regarding the hotel, our first advise would be to not let yourself have a first bad impression of the hotel due to the first contact with its owner/manager (a large guy at the reception) who may not seem very friendly either due to its poor english or to a shy personality. You shall overcome this as Senatus will give you a great experience in Istanbul.

Senatus is wonderfully located deep in the heart of Sultanamet with all the main attractions within (true) walking distance.

The rooms are superbly clean with simple and modern decoration. The towels are changed everyday!

Our room was in the ground floor next to the elevator, as I saw from the glimpses that I had from the other rooms it was not a very good room (small with no natural light), although from there you could have wireless signal from the internet which should be only available at reception. If this is a main issue to you, you should ask a ground floor room, if not try to avoid in order to get a bigger room.

The breakfast is simple and have all the basics to a continental menu and plenty turkish dishes with a lot of mixtures. This is funny at the beginning of your journey but after some days you may get a little bit tired of it due to the lack of variety if you prefer to keep a continental menu.

The staff with exception to the ones working at the reception do not have a very good english and the ones at the restaurant struggle sometimes to attend simple requests. Nonetheless, everybody makes their best efforts for you to feel comfortable and to solve any issue that you may have.

For example they confirmed our transfers and kept our luggage during our stay in Cappadocia without charging any extra fees.

If we return to Istanbul we will definitely return to Senatus due to its central location and cleanliness of the hotel.

Finally, we stayed in Istanbul during the Ramazan and it was a great cultural experience, we did not have any problems with drinking or eating during the day. Would recommend everybody to experience Istanbul during this holiday period and to have dinner in the park between the Blue Mosque and the Aya Sofia together with locals after sunset.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank MCN_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#19 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,015 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#23 of 1,163 in Istanbul
841 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,163 in Istanbul
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,163 in Istanbul
942 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
#20 of 1,163 in Istanbul
690 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#61 of 1,163 in Istanbul
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No: 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £33 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing