We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience...Highly Recommend!!”
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Senatus Hotel
Ranked #24 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful experience...Highly Recommend!!”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Me and my husband spent 4 nights at Senatus Hotel in October 2012. The hotel is a walk away from all the must sees of Istanbul. The rooms are very clean and the service is splendid. The hotel managers are extremely friendly and more than willing to help. We had initially booked an economy room but due a small leak in the bathroom (which got repaired in few hours) , they upgraded us to their best room. And what a room it was..Huge and super cozy !!! We did a trip to Cappadocia for 2 days and they allowed us to leave our bigger bags in the hotel.The breakfast at the restaurant could be a little better. Would definitely stay there if i go to Istanbul again..Thanks for a wonderful experience!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeeraN82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    166
    21
    0
    1
See reviews for
117
398
62
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We spent 4 nights here in mid November 2012 on a short break from the UK. The hotel was quiet with it being the low season, but the staff could not have been more helpful and attentive. The rooms were of a good size and well appointed. The food in the restaurant was also of a good standard - breakfast was part of the package, but we also had dinner in the hotel on one of the evenings. The location of the hotel was excellent, being only a short walk from the major attractions in Sultanahamet. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby and we were spoilt for choice. All in all, very happy to recommend the hotel to other travellers.

It is around 25 mins from the airport, depending on traffic, and a taxi should cost around 40 turkish lira, but beware of taxi drivers who do not use the meter and try and charge more. You can also get there relatively easily by metro and tram fromthe airport, although it is probably a 400 metre walk from the nearest tram stop (some cobbles if wheeling a suitcase!).

Room Tip: We were not disturbed by any noise, but you may want to consider a room at the rear during the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed at Senatus Hotel for 4 days when participating in the Istanbul marathon. Very nice and clean rooms, perfect location and extremely friendly staff. Try to avoid the budget economy room as it is quite noisy. But our friends immediately got another room when they asked for it. Definitely one to recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights with my wife and 2 year old son in Oct 2012. Wasn't expecting the hotel to be so close to all the major attractions in Sultanahmet (5 min walk to the Blue Mosque & Hagia Sophia) and there are plenty of places to eat nearby. Hotel staff, especially the guys on reception were very friendly and helpful and were always more than happy to answer any questions we had.
The room was clean and of a decent size but if travelling with a kid, I would suggest you book a larger room than their standard double (also, rooms towards the back of the hotel faces a residential building with people on the balcony so ask for a room facing the front street if you want any sort of a view). A/C worked fine and the shower was amazing. Breakfast provided was Turkish breakfast, which was OK, but a bit more choice on continental items would have been preferred if you (like me) aren't a big fan of cold meats and cheese first thing in the morning.

Access to the hotel with a pram/push chair wasn't the easiest thing as there are a few sets of steps both at the entrance of the hotel as well as from the hotel reception to the lifts, but as we found out, not many places in Istanbul are very child friendly but people are usually happy to assist.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if you want any sort of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I spent three nights in Istanbul at the Senatus Hotel in April 2011. It’s a small but very warm hotel. My room was the 406, a delicious place. I felt like a princess.
The hotel is very well located, close to the major monuments of this fantastic city. It’s a perfect place to stay when visiting Istanbul.

Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank bimbo_swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It was a lovely, clean hotel. We had no view outside our window (just a brick wall), but the location is great (albeit very touristy), and you're close to the blue mosque, hagia sofia, topkapi palace etc. They had all the amenities you need, but the bathroom door was just a glass door, offering little privacy to the user. The other issue I had with the hotel is the staff. Two guys that either act too cool, or are just dopey.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights on leisure in late Oct. 2012. The hotel is located on a fairly touristy strip but otherwise in a great place for both access to historic sites and public transport, both tram and suburban train are 5 mins walk away and very frequent. Rooms are very well appointed and actually bigger than they look on the hotel's website (stayed in a standard double). Reception staff informative and speaks good English, which should not be taken for granted in Istanbul. Price was a bit higher than what you'd expect for the same standard in Britain or the US, but that's Istanbul for you. The only let down was breakfast -- we fully expected the traditional spread of cheeses and sliced meats, which is fairly typical in Turkey and we normally like. However, the food looked generally stale, as if everything was left on the trays until some guest would pick it up or it went rotten and was therefore not presentable any longer. Shame, as everything else was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filippo_Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#30 of 1,141 in Istanbul
815 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#26 of 1,141 in Istanbul
706 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#21 of 1,141 in Istanbul
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,141 in Istanbul
750 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,141 in Istanbul
879 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#42 of 1,141 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Property: Senatus Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No: 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing