We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly What We Were Looking For”
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Senatus Hotel
Ranked #132 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We visited Istanbul for a long weekend. As a couple in our late 20's, the Senatus Hotel offered everything we were looking for:

An excellent location that let us hop out of bed and walk 5 minutes to all the most famous sights (after enjoying the included breakfast).

Although compact, a modern room with all the services we needed + more (although my girlfriend noticed a smell during our stay which on the last day we discovered was mould growing in a less cleaned corner of the room).

Super friendly, knowledgable & fun staff who provided concierge services behind reception and were also a blast behind the bar (A special mention for the hilarious Aziz who should himself appear in the tourist guides)!

The price was very reasonable.

In short, Senatus gets the highest accolade of all, next time we go back - we'd stay again!

Thank you Senatus Team!

Room Tip: Our room was located on the side furthest from the busy tourist street / one level below. While this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Wanted a hotel for a few days of rest in Istanbul. This offered really competitive rates on the web. Room was small but perfect for someone who wasn't doing much but sleep there. They do have bigger ones that I noticed. Bathroom also small but fine. The place was very clean with friendly staff. My room didn't have a view, but more expensive ones look over the street. Room comes with a reasonable breakfast and the location is perfect. Very good value. Walls are thin and there was some noise from other guest and cleaners in the mornings.

Room Tip: Various sizes. Back rooms no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank west1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights before we left for Athens. We wish we never left and spent the whole trip at Senatus! Decent price, pretty good free breakfast, free wifi. The rooms are nice and the location is perfect! Staff is amazing and funny! Watch out for the see-through bathroom door! Some might find it odd, we thought it was funny and quirky. The staff really make it a fun stay!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alper O, Manager at Senatus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

My dear guest ,
Thank you for a charming review.

I am thrilled you had such a lovely stay with us and very much hope all your other expectations in Istanbul were just as enjoyable. We are honoured you choose Senatus Hotel and rather hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such a nice,that generous review.
Greetings from Istanbul to anyone who is a part your life.

Warm regards,
Alper OZTURK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Weirdest part: our bathroom had a see-through door. Not to sound modest or prude, but this made times in our room a bit unnecessarily complicated at times. We ended up using the bathroom in their restaurant as much as possible. I still have not figured out why this room was designed with a see-through door.

Otherwise, the guys who work at the desk were super helpful and amusing; their dry humor and knowledge were a great combination for exploring this fascinating city.

The location cannot be beat. Also, be sure to check out the daily happy hour if you're around, which is a great deal and a nice break from vigorous sight-seeing.

I'm not sure if all bathrooms have the same set-up, so if you make your reservation, be sure to find out if you can get a room with a solid door.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a bathroom with an opaque door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brytness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Staff at the Senatus went out of their way to make sure we had a good stay. We partic appreciated being allowed to check in 5 hours early after a loooong journey. Rooms are nicely decorated and spotlessly cleaned every day. We had several good meals in the restaurant too (try the sea bass and king prawns) and loved the breakfast. Hotel is right in the middle of Sultanahmet so 5 mins walk from the Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia. Street has a touristy but not a tacky vibe. We weren't disturbed by noise but were at the back of the hotel. We'd definitely stay again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BunsBowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This is an amazing boutique hotel with a cozy atmosphere . The staff are really very friendly and helpful . The rooms are very clean and The location is simply perfect ! Just a 2 minute walk to Hagia Sofia and the blue Mosque . It has an excellent value for money .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank TripMember10162015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Senatus couldn't be located in a better spot. All the main sites are within 5 minutes walk. The rooms and facilities are very clean and modern, all the staff are really friendly and helpful. Hotel organised airport for us and made dinner reservations. The hotel restaurant and bar are really comfortable and great for after tourist drinks. The buffet breakfast is perfect for a day of visiting all wonderful tourist spots.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Hotel
Saba Sultan Hotel
#32 of 1,178 in Istanbul
906 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#154 of 1,178 in Istanbul
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#8 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,040 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
#217 of 1,178 in Istanbul
620 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,178 in Istanbul
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No: 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £36 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing