We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of Sultanahmet.”
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Senatus Hotel
Ranked #121 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Have just had a great stay in the Senatus Hotel and would highly recommend it. A superb location, nice rooms, spotlessly clean and staff who did everything they could to make sure we had an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the opposite side of the Main Street so don't know if the street rooms are nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RogerRuane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at this little family hotel in early May 2014 for 4 nights. It was clean, quiet, friendly and homely. Wonderful breakfasts. Pity about the weather but there wasn't much they could do about that!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alper O, Manager at Senatus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

My dear guest ,
Thank you for such a lovely review that make us feel so good .

I am thrilled you had such a lovely stay with us again and very much hope all your other expectations in Istanbul were just as enjoyable. We are honoured you choose Senatus Hotel and rather hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such a nice,that generous review.
Greetings from Istanbul to anyone who is a part your life.

Warm regards,
Alper OZTURK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I booked this based on TripAdvisor reviews and was not disappointed. The hotel is in a perfect location, just five mins walk from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, etc. Our room was on the first floor at the back and was extremely clean, spacious and quiet. Air conditioning, new furniture, nice tv, shower but no bath. The staff were extremely friendly, particularly at the restaurant, and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We were lucky enough to be staying when the restaurant was hosting a party with a belly dancer and other entertainment; it provided a great atmosphere with everyone getting involved in the party. We ended up eating at the restaurant three times within the week, something we'd never normally do but we always felt like we having the best time at the liveliest place on the street. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Istanbul for cleanliness, price and location.

Room Tip: Upgraded to standard room from economy for a little extra. The room was a good space with a sofa/ben...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and it was our third visit to Istanbul. The hotel is in a great location and the staff are very welcoming. This hotel was by far the best we have stayed at in Istanbul.
The rooms are comfortable and well designed (the shower was especially lovely!)
The television also had a very good range of channels. The staff were always quick to help with any enquiries and give advice with regards to your stay in Istanbul.

We were not that impressed with the breakfast but that is down to personal taste, and there are many places in the area to eat (which are also affordable).
Overall, it was excellent value and we would happily stay at Senatus again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hotel is in a good location close to the Blue mosque and tram stop.
Rooms were very clean and modern with nice shower facilities.
Reception had English speaking friendly staff.
We choose bed and breakfast but the breakfast buffet had little choice, a few fruits, cheese bread and egg.
Not sure how the cleaners used to clean, we had a mark on our duvet and the cleaners just turned it over.
Overall a great hotel would stay again if cheaper.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 1 are pretty quiet to outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MUDs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I went to Turkey with my girl friend on May 2014 for Istanbul trip. We find this hotel on tripadvisor.com first I read the reviews then decide that to go this hotel. Actually I love thus hotel and employees.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emreny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have to say that me and my family had a great time at this hotel. The staff especially Canberk was of tremendous assistance. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a stay. That was the greatest Istanbul trip for me and my family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#20 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,016 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#28 of 1,163 in Istanbul
844 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,163 in Istanbul
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#72 of 1,163 in Istanbul
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No: 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £34 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing