We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Senatus Hotel
Ranked #31 of 1,120 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Senatus is right at the heart of the beautiful historic part of istanbul, just a few minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, buzzing restaurants and bazaars. We had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with great service. The hotel's restaurant is also definitely worth trying! We would also like to say a big thankyou to the guys at reception for helping us choose the top spots to visit during our stay, you were all very helpful. Hope to visit again soon. Mr & Mrs Kumar

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    166
    21
    0
    1
See reviews for
114
387
61
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont Shore, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

My friend and I have both traveled extensively and took a lot of time to review hotels prior to booking. We love to get a good deal for our value and that we did. The Senatus is a small boutique hotel. The rooms are extremely clean and modern; we were even upgraded without even asking. I'm extremely picky with cleanliness and typically don't walk around hotels barefoot because I get skeeved out, but I had no concerns at the Senatus. There is complimentary wifi that worked well from our room (not just from the lobby). The staff are INCREDIBLE. At one point we informally mentioned needing the staff to call for us to confirm a transfer for us, but we'd get the staff the phone number, etc. Before we knew it, the staff had called for us and confirmed everything! We were so shocked! I would beyond all of that is the location of the hotel, it is just perfect. It is located on a bustling street lined with cafes. It is literally within 3 or 4 minutes walking distance of the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. I would stay at the Senatus and recommend it to anyone in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Get the upgrade, the rooms are great!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

On arriving we found out our reservation had a problem (I had booked 3 nights in June instead of July by mistake). The manager, Çan, solved it right away and he even sent us to a superior room, with a view to the lovely street and every amenity you can need.
The hotel is located few meters away from all the interesting places, in the historical district (Hagia Sophia, The blue Mosque, the Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace, etc). More important, you can get there on foot at any hours, since the area (unlike the rest of Istanbul) is a very secure place to stroll around. The street the hotel is located at is a very busy corridor, packed with hotels and restaurants. It´s hard to choose where to sit to enjoy a summer night.
The rooms are more then big enough and very stylish, really well-equipped. More importantly, they are extremely clean. In sum, an awesome combo for a more than just value.
The breakfast is superb. I am not a hotel breakfast fan, and I usually don´t take it even if it´s included in the stay, but this, I have to say, was worth every bit.
The staff is not so friendly, save for Çan. He makes all the difference, both at solving problems and also at recommending places to visit and providing useful information every time. Make sure you get him.
If I´m ever back to Istanbul, I´ll stay at Senatus Hotel without without hesitating even for a second.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms with a view to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alper O, Manager at Senatus Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2016
My dear guest ,
Thank you for this generous review.

I am thrilled you had such a lovely stay with us again and very much hope all your other expectations in Istanbul were just as enjoyable. We are honoured you choose Senatus Hotel and rather hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such a nice,that generous review.
Greetings from Istanbul to anyone who is a part your life.

Warm regards,
Alper OZTURK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Senatus Hotel is totally new, the rooms (we visited a few) have good space, bed is very comfortable, shower is great and very clean, also the decoration is nice what make you feel at home. The staff hotel is very kind and helpful, we were in trouble if ours previews hotel and Instambul and they saved ours last days of honeymoon. Coffebreak is good and you have 10% discount if you eat in its restaurant. They have a good sauna, were you can take a shower after your check-in if you need (we needed). About the location, it's te best, the street is full of restaurants, it's walking distance of the main tourist places (topkapi, blue mosqui, hays sophia, grand bazar). I strongly recommend!

Room Tip: We took a room at the ground, it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thiago M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I showed up at 9:30 am to see if the hotel would hold my luggage until check in time, but they had a room available and let me have it right away for no extra fee! The staff were extremely friendly and answered all my questions about airport transfers and anything else I needed. I also had dinner at their restaurant, which was excellent. They have a guy who humorously convinces people to come into the restaurant. He was really funny and charming, hence our restaurant was much more full than the others on the
street. The hotel was also extremely close to Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque - about a 5 minute walk. I felt very safe in the neighborhood as a woman traveling solo.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HProwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel has a perfect location, close to everything you want to see and experiense in Istanbul! 3 minutes walk to Aya Sofia and sultanahmen Camii, 5 minutes walk to the Marmara sea.Its very clean and the bed was just wonderful. The staff was very nice and helpful, and they where very polite. There are many nice restaurants on the street, and the restaurant at the hotel is very good. I would absolutly stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank killemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The room was stunning and looked so new. It was spacious and even had a lounge for extra space. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and I had the best nights sleep. Location wise, it is fantastic for getting to all of the main tourist spots, and the street that the hotel is on is lined with restaurants so you don't have to go far for food. Transport wise, we chose to use the hotel transfer system and found that to be really convenient and luxurious (leather seats and rug even in the car!).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sb_koala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#36 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#45 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Otel
Saba Sultan Otel
#46 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#19 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Property: Senatus Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No: 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,120 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing