We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and good services”
Review of Optimist Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Optimist Hotel
Ranked #90 of 1,061 Istanbul B&B and Inns
1 review
“Good hotel and good services”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Its good hotel . Thanks to all employees work in it and specially to weman who responsible for reservation (gaye) . The hotel submit excellent services and there are employees speak English language so they will facilitate dealing with costumers

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wisam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    31
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
13
59
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel is located opposite of the Blue Mosque on the hippodrom between the two obelisks. All the major attractions are within walking distance. There is no traffic in front of the hotel. So you can enjoy breakfast outside, even when it rains. The taxi can't stop in front of the hotel but they drop you at the corner and if the taxi driver calls the hotel beforehand somebody will even pick you up and help you with the luggage. The staff is very welcoming and helpful, friendly and generous. They treated me like a family member! Upon arrival I was offered tea and breakfast. We stayed 2 nights in the room on the first floor. The room has all you need. It's a bit outdated and we had a bit of a fight with the curtains but were happy with the beds. Internet works fine and is free. The only downside was the noise. Being just above the busy restaurant it is rather loud in the evening until late. We were so tired after hours of walking that we didn't care. Unfortunately the room on the top floor was taken but I had the chance to see it. The views are just amazing. This must be the best room in the city!
I would highly recommend this hotel and would like to thank all the staff for everything especially Gaye. You are a great host and made my day!

Room Tip: Room on the top floor has excellent views and less noise from the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kybtur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stopped at the café three days running for lunch - I think that says it all. Its a great place with excellent Turkish food and the usual warm Turkish hospitality. I didn't realise it was also an hotel until a couple of men arrived with suitcases and were greeted warmly by the staff. I recommend the mezze for lunch, one of the best I have had in Turkey with the new addition of hummus - this is not usually eaten in Turkey. We had the mezze twice and it was a little different the second time, but equally good on both occasions. The sigara boregi are also good. There seemed to be a good wine selection but we stuck with good old Efes, nice and cold. On our third visit we were given complimentary fruit on our arrival and apple tea at the end: this is the Turkish way and after over 20 years of visiting the country I still think it is charming. Great little restaurant in a good location for people watching - we all enjoy this - and plenty of shade on a hot day. Look forward to going back on my next visit to Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Songara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel but drank here several times and had a pleasant lunch here too. Watch out for the unexpected service charge added to the bill when you eat here. Good wifi connection and excellent view of Blue Mosque. Only downside was this place is permanently in the shade.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blackcatlois67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel, but we went here every night after dinner for apple tea and apple sheesha. The service is great - Ferdinando will take good care of you. The location is fantastic - just across the road from the Blue Mosque. The outdoor seating has a lot of character - very well done up with some mild romantic lighting. It's great for conversations - we ended up spending 2-3 hours there every night just drinking tea and talking about things. The sheesha itself is very reasonably priced and is well flavored. It costs about 20 liras for one, but the tea is a bit more expensive at about 4 liras for a cup. Still found it to be well worth it.

While we didn't order much food here, we did have a quick look at what the other tables had ordered - everything looked fantastic! Especially the cut fruit and desserts.

Strongly recommend this location if you're looking for some relaxing conversation and drink.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kos Town, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed in a hotel closed by and stopped almost every day for a quick break in the restaurant. Waiters are really nice and helpful- we enjoyed the service, drinks and the food. WIFI available and the view to the Blue Mosque in the evening is just amazing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilina00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

didnt stay in the hotel but ate in the restaurant .The food was brilliant .The waiter was so friendly and helpful without being in the way or annoying. We had a dish which is cooked in a clay pot at the table and how its served is great fun .I would highly recommend a meal there

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Spectra
Hotel Spectra
#222 of 1,156 in Istanbul
238 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Turkoman
Hotel Turkoman
#522 of 1,156 in Istanbul
131 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Djem
Hotel Djem
#322 of 1,156 in Istanbul
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#339 of 1,156 in Istanbul
342 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultan Hill
Hotel Sultan Hill
#425 of 1,156 in Istanbul
184 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#21 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Optimist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Optimist Hotel

Property: Optimist Hotel
Address: At Meydani No:16, Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 1,061 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Optimist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing