We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and perfect holiday”
Review of Optimist Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Optimist Hotel
Ranked #58 of 1,113 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Excellent position ( just across the road from the Blue Mosque), with excellent view of Blue Mosque and Hippodrom, friendly staff (nice and helpful), excellent Turkish food, good wifi connection, large room, clean up every day. Thanks to all employees and specially to Muhammed, the owner. See you soon.

Gabriel,

Bucharest, Romania

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Buricel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Location is perfect, all so close, very frendly and nice personal, Very nice room, Clean up every day, breakfast is good, cofee and tea include.
BUT
wi-fi is bad, works slowly
in our last day credit card not accept
iron, which we asked was very old and burned clothing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaximAlexandrovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Its good hotel . Thanks to all employees work in it and specially to weman who responsible for reservation (gaye) . The hotel submit excellent services and there are employees speak English language so they will facilitate dealing with costumers

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wisam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel is located opposite of the Blue Mosque on the hippodrom between the two obelisks. All the major attractions are within walking distance. There is no traffic in front of the hotel. So you can enjoy breakfast outside, even when it rains. The taxi can't stop in front of the hotel but they drop you at the corner and if the taxi driver calls the hotel beforehand somebody will even pick you up and help you with the luggage. The staff is very welcoming and helpful, friendly and generous. They treated me like a family member! Upon arrival I was offered tea and breakfast. We stayed 2 nights in the room on the first floor. The room has all you need. It's a bit outdated and we had a bit of a fight with the curtains but were happy with the beds. Internet works fine and is free. The only downside was the noise. Being just above the busy restaurant it is rather loud in the evening until late. We were so tired after hours of walking that we didn't care. Unfortunately the room on the top floor was taken but I had the chance to see it. The views are just amazing. This must be the best room in the city!
I would highly recommend this hotel and would like to thank all the staff for everything especially Gaye. You are a great host and made my day!

Room Tip: Room on the top floor has excellent views and less noise from the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kybtur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stopped at the café three days running for lunch - I think that says it all. Its a great place with excellent Turkish food and the usual warm Turkish hospitality. I didn't realise it was also an hotel until a couple of men arrived with suitcases and were greeted warmly by the staff. I recommend the mezze for lunch, one of the best I have had in Turkey with the new addition of hummus - this is not usually eaten in Turkey. We had the mezze twice and it was a little different the second time, but equally good on both occasions. The sigara boregi are also good. There seemed to be a good wine selection but we stuck with good old Efes, nice and cold. On our third visit we were given complimentary fruit on our arrival and apple tea at the end: this is the Turkish way and after over 20 years of visiting the country I still think it is charming. Great little restaurant in a good location for people watching - we all enjoy this - and plenty of shade on a hot day. Look forward to going back on my next visit to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Songara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel but drank here several times and had a pleasant lunch here too. Watch out for the unexpected service charge added to the bill when you eat here. Good wifi connection and excellent view of Blue Mosque. Only downside was this place is permanently in the shade.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank blackcatlois67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel, but we went here every night after dinner for apple tea and apple sheesha. The service is great - Ferdinando will take good care of you. The location is fantastic - just across the road from the Blue Mosque. The outdoor seating has a lot of character - very well done up with some mild romantic lighting. It's great for conversations - we ended up spending 2-3 hours there every night just drinking tea and talking about things. The sheesha itself is very reasonably priced and is well flavored. It costs about 20 liras for one, but the tea is a bit more expensive at about 4 liras for a cup. Still found it to be well worth it.

While we didn't order much food here, we did have a quick look at what the other tables had ordered - everything looked fantastic! Especially the cut fruit and desserts.

Strongly recommend this location if you're looking for some relaxing conversation and drink.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamondrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,176 in Istanbul
3,177 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#875 of 1,176 in Istanbul
629 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#75 of 1,176 in Istanbul
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,176 in Istanbul
1,840 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#68 of 1,176 in Istanbul
664 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#104 of 1,176 in Istanbul
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Optimist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Optimist Hotel

Address: At Meydani No:16, Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 1,113 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: £27 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Optimist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing