We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good”
Review of Hush Hostel Lounge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hush Hostel Lounge
Ranked #6 of 1,201 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

It was a pleasure to stay at this hostel, everything was great.
I came there right after my flight, exhausted, all I needed was a good sleep and I was totally satisfied.
The breakfast was tasty, I liked it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    85
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
95
98
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I had to stay on the Anatolian side of Istanbul due to some recent business activities here and chose a "budget" way of accommodation as I wasn't expecting a lot. The fact is, I really enjoyed to stay in Hush Hostel, or so to say they made me enjoy my time here. The staff was very friendly from the moment I have arrived and the total experience was great. I loved to see many new people, enjoyed to have a drink upstairs on the terrace, not the mention that the facility was more than ok.

As a result I really got much more than what I was expecting from a "Hostel Lounge" in Kadikoy and surely will be back when I need to stay again in the region...

Room Tip: I stayed in a room (not the dorm) and it was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The hotel indeed is very nice, great breakfast, nice place... but its very far from the main turistic atractions, so you'll have to pay everyday for the ferry to get to Europe.

Also, the wi fi is VERY slow...

I was in a private single room, can say its ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Hush Hostel was a great base for our stay in Istanbul (very near the port and bus station) and extremely reasonably priced, especially for a major city. Staff were helpful, rooms were really clean. On our first night we were on the top floor which has a roof terrace so it was a little noisy until around midnight (when the roof terrace is locked) but this was OK. If you want to sleep before 12 then I would recommend staying on a lower floor. Breakfast was OK, but not great and you can find better cheap snacks nearby - simit sellers and bakeries are everywhere.

Even if you don't stay at Hush Hostel (or its sister hostel, Hush Moda) then please at least stay in Kadikoy! It's an incredible part of the city, it is on the Asian side (whereas the main tourist attractions like Hagia Sophia are on the European side) however there are very regular, reliable and cheap (less than £1) ferries which cross the water all day (around 6am - 11pm I think). We loved crossing the water each day (it means you save on doing a Bosphorus cruise as you can see all the sites every day from the ferry!) and we found everything in Kadikoy to be much better and more reasonably priced the the main tourist areas on the other side - eating out, souvenirs etc. (Hush provided a good map of Kadikoy which marked on the main restaurant and shopping areas)

The Havas bus departs from just down the road from Hush Hostel to Sabiha Gokcen airport (for domestic flights). We arrived at Ataturk Airport (international flights) quite late at night so got a taxi from the airport to Kadikoy which was around 80 TL (about £30) but if your flight arrives during the day you could get the metro and then a ferry. If you get a taxi (and don't have a great Turkish accent) then I would recommend writing down the address to show the driver - not many tourists seem to stay in Kadikoy so the taxi driver was convinced we were asking to go to the wrong place and kept trying to drive us to Karakoy (on the other side of the water)!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ane2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

It is certainly a place where u can find change to travel around the city and meet new friends. Also it is cheap n the staff are really friendly. In terms of cleanness of the room, the condition of the bathroom it deserves to be rated with a good mark.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinc888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed here for one night after four nights in the Sultanahmet area of Istanbul. Kadikoy is a hidden gem and my favourite part of the city that we visited.

The hostel itself is in a residential neighbourhood which allows a glimpse of how the locals really live. We stayed in a superior private room with brilliant air conditioning. The room was a good size and very clean and next to the shared bathroom which was also very clean. The breakfast had a good choice and there is wifi in your room and communal areas. Towels are provided in private rooms but have to be rented for 2 Lira if you are in a shared dorm. The hostel has a lovely garden and roof terrace as well as free walking tours of the Asian side.

The staff were very helpful and provided useful maps and tips of where to go. If you are staying on the Asian side you can get a ferryfor 3 Turkish Lira to the European side in 20 minutes.

If you are staying here definintely check out the restaurant street in Kadikoy and Kadife Soka which is the road with all the bars and clubs. Whilst we were staying there was the Kadikoy festival which had lots of street perfomances including music and an amazing shadow puppet act. On Sunday we went to the local fish and food market which was a lovely experience.

I would highly recommend this hostel and a trip to Kadikoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurachops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyberflânerie
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This hostel is easily reached from Kadıköy ferry docks on the Asian side of Istanbul. It's in a nice, quiet neighborhood that gives a bit of a glimpse into how the locals here live, away from all the tourist attractions. Worth a stay if you have some things you want to see on the Asian side (I, for instance, wanted to see Çamlıca Hill, which is reachable by bus from Kadıköy).

I was very impressed with the enthusiasm and friendliness of the reception staff upon check-in. They were very helpful with regard to helping me understand the local area.

The Hagia Sophia is still visible from a narrow but nevertheless striking viewpoint on the roof terrace. Wi-fi works quite well there as well.

A great deal of variety was available for breakfast. Excellent value overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrapDivisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Kadıköy
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda
Zirve Hotel
#304 of 1,148 in Istanbul
135 reviews
Kadıköy
Khalkedon Hotel Istanbul
Khalkedon Hotel Istanbul
#283 of 1,148 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
My Dora Hotel
#392 of 1,148 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Holiday Inn Istanbul - Kadikoy
#280 of 1,148 in Istanbul
55 reviews
Hush Hostel Moda
#64 of 1,201 in Istanbul
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hush Hostel Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hush Hostel Lounge

Property: Hush Hostel Lounge
Address: Rasimpasa Mah. Rihtim Cad. Iskele Sok. 46 Kadikoy, Istanbul 34716, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,201 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hush Hostel Lounge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hush Hostel Lounge is the ideal place for travelers seeking the true spirit of Istanbul. We are proud to be able to offer you fun, clean and affordable accommodations in a newly renovated historical and stylish building in the heart of Kadikoy, a vibrant (and safe) entertainment district full of indoor-outdoor bars, live music venues, shops, restaurants and cafes. Located on the Asian Side of the city, Hush is in close proximity to a transportation hub that services the whole city, including the ferry which takes you to the European side. The common area on the main floor consists of a guest kitchen and a cozy lounge area where guests can watch TV/DVDs, play musical instruments or attend to live performances. The hostel also boasts a spacious garden area for full relaxation and a terrace with a panoramic view of the city. With its high ceilings and new furnishings, your experience at the Hush Hostel Lounge will surely be unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hush Hostel Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing