We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bring food into this hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia
Ranked #163 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This was my 3rd stay at this property and the first since Crown Plaza has taken over managing it. It is a nice hotel located next to an outlet mall and amusement center. It has a really good workout area and pool. The food in the restaurant is reasonable for the price.
The major issue I had at the hotel this stay is that they now do not allow outside food or beverage to be brought into the hotel. Imagine my surprise when I entered the hotel after shopping in the mall with a bag of chips and a pop only to learn that outside food was not allowed in the hotel or the room (the chips and pop in the mini-bar is allowed). I was instructed by security to go to reception before going to my room. I went there and was told that even the packaged food that I had purchased to take home as gifts were not allowed in my room and that I should bring everything I had down to reception and they would hold it for me until I checked-out. Initially I thought they were joking but they were serious. I saw one guest that was publicly embarrassed by the staff about the food they had brought into the hotel.

I attempted to contact management about the policy but have yet to obtain a response.

The above issue turned a great stay into an irritation. Due to this I will probably never stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Garious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2011

this hotel is very plush , with very nicely furnished rooms etc , the breakfast was great . the only issue is that its very far from the centre of istanbul , its only good for people who have a stopover etc at sabiha gokcen airport .
overall the staff were friendly and helpfull, the only minor issue was they charged me for 2 glasses of milk for my children at bedtime ! but other than that it was very nice , plus there is a nice shopping centre right nextdoor with a theme park and food court etc

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munnauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

a quite nice place to stay but very bad service no body from the hotel staff are smiling at all, food from the restaurant very expensive bad taste and late(order a pie pizza toke an hour and half after complaining to the manager ) , very bad English ( I ask for iron and ironing board they send me a drink), far a way ( one hour) from downtown Istanbul .

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hgoda5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I found my stay at this hotel to be a mix of pleasure and pain with some nice features let down by some terrible policies and service.

First, the good:

My room on the second floor was very spacious, bright with a large comfortable king-size bed and well-appointed bathroom with two showers, one walk-in and one in the bath. A decent sized LCD TV (that I didn't actually use) and a large window overlooking the shopping outlets.

Breakfast was excellent with a large slection of fresh meats, cheeses, fruit, olives, many types of bread, breakfast pastries and cereals. There were a few chefs in the dining area with some hot food but as I never sampled them, I couldn't comment on that. I used room service a few times in the evening and the food was okay. Not great but certainly not bad.

The service was a mixed bag - most of the hotel staff would give you a hello/good morning and a smile. A few didn't and almost seemed to begrudge you being there.. perhaps they were having a bad day at the time, whatever.

The location is good or bad depending what you want to do - for my purposes it was very convenient and the position of the hotel towering over a large outlets shopping centre with food court was quite nice. However, if you are using this hotel as a base of touring Istanbul, I wouldn't call it convenient with a taxi fare of up to 80TL to get to the most popular tourist areas on the European side (although it's possible to do this cheaply with a 10TL taxi to Sabiha Gokcen airport and then a 12TL Havas bus to Taksim - just be aware it's about an hour's ride).

My final positive note is regarding the fitness centre -the equipment is top notch with just about every type you could want and many of the machines (rowing and treadmills of which there were plenty) have large touch screen interfaces into which you can plug your iPod/iPhone and play music and even watch movies through).

Now for the bad and I apologize if this sounds like a rant in places:

I travel a lot - I've stayed in many hotels (i usually try and stay in ICHG hotels for the points but there were no nearby options here) and I have a fairly typical routine when staying away.

One of the first things I usualy do is to try and secure an iron & ironing board to iron all my shirts and any other clothing that can be ironed - my packing isn't the worst but I still find that my clothing rarely survives sans-wrinkles when travelling. As I didn't arrive at the hotel until very late (after 2am), I left it until next morning. However, when I called down to housekeeping in the morning and asked for an iron, I was told there were none available (they only have one for all guests apparently!) and they'd be happy to iron my shirts for me (for a fee of course). Now, I'm perfectly capable of ironing my own shirts and I have never - not once - had an issue like this before. Of course, having little choice (as my travel iron had also died), I submitted two shirts to housekeeping.

On the evening of the 3rd day, I did get an iron/board which i then used to iron everything assuming the iron would be removed next day for another guest (if they really do have just the one). It wasn't and in fact remained in my room for the rest of the week - I just hope there wasn't some other poor guest needing an iron during that time.

Next up.. during my stay, I spent one of the weekend days in my room catching up with some documentation. As such, around lunchtime, I dedcided to pop down to the convenience store for a couple of cans of soft drink and a bag of Doritos. On my return back to the hotel, the doorman asked to check the carrier bag and on seeing the contents said firmly "FORBIDDEN!" I thought he was playing some kind of joke but he went in and got the girl from the health spa out who spoke slightly better english and she explained that food and drink are not allowed to be brought into the hotel. Hotel policy (which isn't anywhere on the website or on any literature in the room by the way). Again, I've never experienced this before anywhere - I could understand it if I were trying to bring in, say - a big pizza or MacDonalds, but a packet of crisps and can of diet coke? Ridiculous.

Then there's the noise. As I said previously, my room was comfortable. However, despite the website promising sound proof windows, there's quite a bit of noise coming in from the nearby highway as well as any loud music from the shopping centre. Even if the windows were properly soundproofed, the ocassional banging and (what sounded like drilling) from within the hotel coupled with the late night club music (way past midnight were maddening at times.

There were also a few small niggles.. firstly, the walk-in shower had a tendency to leak water all over the rest of the bathroom floor.. not sure if this is supposed to happen (smooth shiny floor with no obvious drain so I suspected not) but it took a while to drain so I ended up using the one in the bath. Also, the WiFi was a little temperamental - I almost always had a signal but having a signal didin't necessarily mean you'd have any kind of connection to any sites - sometimes you;d get a slow or non-moving loading bar that you just had to wait out. Then when accessing some sites, I'd be presented with a page that seemed to suggest this site was banned (Youtube and a few others). Later on in the week, some of these sites were accessible again then next day not.

Oh and don't bother looking for the outdoor pool. At the time of writing, it's not finished and won't be till next year/2011 (despite what it says on the official hotel website).

Disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MProudfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

i was there last june, with my family. it was first time for us to be be in istanbul and we choese this hotel after advice from my friend. we enjoy the place .. it was avery nice vacation. i hope to go there again. we like it too much.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baha75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I spent 4 days in Via port hotel and I can summarize like below:

1- We were there to see Formula-1 races which took place in Istanbul-Park, so if you are going to see some race in Istanbul-Park, it's the perfect place you can stay.
2- You have 2 hours of driving from Ataturk Airport to Via port hotel. in Traffic rush hour+any car accident , you may stuck in traffic for more than 3 hours.
3- The hotel is a brand new one, just constructed therefore it's very clean.
4- No pool available but we have been told it's under construction.
5- Huge shopping center, including all brand outlet are just next to hotel. so no need to go anywhere in Istanbul . anything you want is in 2 minutes from your room.
6- the hotel people, incl receptions can speak with you in English and they are very friendly.
7- The breakfast is perfect, never miss it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coolboy6929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank ilker D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Istanbul
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Istanbul Kurtkoy
0.5 mi away
Miracle Istanbul Asia
Miracle Istanbul Asia
#928 of 1,160 in Istanbul
105 reviews
5.5 mi away
Divan Istanbul Asia
Divan Istanbul Asia
#201 of 1,160 in Istanbul
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nearport Hotel
Nearport Hotel
#547 of 1,160 in Istanbul
25 reviews
2.3 mi away
ISG Airport Hotel
ISG Airport Hotel
#220 of 1,160 in Istanbul
465 reviews
4.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa - Istanbul Tuzla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia

Address: Yenisehir Mah. Dede Pasa Cad. No:15 | Kurtkoy Pendik, Istanbul 34912, Turkey (Formerly Via Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#78 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#110 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#125 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#131 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £62 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia 5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first Intercontinental Hotels Group hotel on the Anatolian side, the Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia opens the doors of a world of privileges to its guests. Situated within the World of Via Port complex, the hotel is next to Via Port, the largest and most popular outlet mall in Turkey, and is within walking distance of a few minutes to Via Port Houses & Suites project, which combines nature and architecture. With its comprehensive service mentality offering business, holiday, shopping and entertainment opportunities as a package, the Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia adds a brand new dimension to the urban hotel concept. Situated in the heart of Istanbul's new development axis, the Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia combines personalized service with the comfort of luxury. Located within just a few minutes of the ever-rising prestigious business centers, modern living areas, and Sabiha Gokcen Airport, the Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia has 336 rooms on eight floors. In addition to its accommodation services, the Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia combines luster, luxury, comfort, and quality in its ballrooms. Crowne Plaza has two ballrooms with capacities of 700 and 1,000. Promising an experience beyond your vision of your wedding, Crowne Plaza meets your wants and needs with a professional team. The Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia offers its guests the most cutting-edge comfort and technology at every chance, from the lobby to the rooms. Sparing no expense even in the tiniest details to comfort its guests, the hotel culminates in offering its guests privileges with the Executive Club level. In Belvedere Restaurant & Bar (a la carte) and Cesni Restaurant, the most delicious foods from the Turkish and world cuisines are served accompanied by exquisite cocktails. A total covered area of 73,000 square meters on eight floors A total of 336 rooms, including 114 Standard, 114 Deluxe, 66 Club, 24 Corner, 16 Junior Suite and two Presidental Suite rooms. Starting from 35 square meters, all rooms offer spacious luxury. With its two ballrooms and 28 high-tech conference rooms with access from within the hotel, the Via Port Convention have a total conference and party area of 9,840 square meters. The main restaurant has a capacity of 300 while A la Carte Restaurant can entertain 60. All guests in the Executive Club rooms on the seventh and eighth floor can enjoy the Executive Club Lounge privileges free of charge. In addition, club room guests enjoy various privileges including a velvet bathrobe, slippers, turndown service, a spirit or soft drink coupon for the lobby bar, and a 15 percent discount on food, drink and laundry services within the hotel. 24-Hour room service Dry cleaning Parking lot & garage Hairdresser Car rental and transfer Fitness and SPA Center on a 2,500 square meter area 5 minutes from International Sabiha Gokcen Airport A part of the Via Port complex, the largest and most-visited outlet mall in Turkey Green Star Certification Green Star Certification Our hotel has been certified with an "Environment- friendly Accommodation Facility Certificate" by the Repuclic of Turkey Ministry of Culture and Tourism. Club rooms with the free privileges Executive Club Level is privately designed for Club Lounge Level's distinguished guests. Your accommodation in Crowne Plaza Istanbul-Asia will be much enjoyable with the rich breakfast opportunities, delicious buffet lunch, afternoon tea and tasty offers of Club Lounge Level. Hours of Operation 07.00 - 23.00 Breakfast 07.00 - 11.00 (Weekday), 07.00 - 12.00 (Weekend and special days) Lunch time 12.00 - 14.30 (Weekday), 12.00 - 13.00 Or 14.30 (Weekend) Happy hour 18.00 - 20.00 (Only for Executive Club Level's guest) Tea Hours 15.00 - 17.30 20:30 - 23:00 (Only for Executive Club Level's guest) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing