We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Preferred Hotel Old City
Ranked #600 of 1,047 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Bansko
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great hosts”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

As a base for exploring the Sultanahmet area of Istanbul this hotel is so well located. Just 100 metres off the main road with all the hussle and bustle and noise of city life, it is in a little side street with no noise... From the moment we arrived the staff couldnt have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. They always had a smile and spent a little time to make sure we were ok. Not just niceties but converstion... The rooms were perfectly adequate as a base and were always clean and tidy. The beds were proper divans and really comfotable, which was a definite plus after a long day in the city. The free Wifi was a definite bonus too as I need access whilst away from home. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glynis_gm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    21
    14
    13
    17
See reviews for
22
28
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights wie a group of friends. We were put into one of the big family rooms which turned out to be really great value for money, spacious and a great deal for a bigger group like us. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone, seeing that both service and most of all location are amazing and certainly among the best you can get within this price category. Nice breakfast was another bonus. Many thanks to the staff again and hope to return soon !

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HannoverPeterM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sousse, Tunisia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

following our stay in Istanbul and specially in the nice hotel called preferred old city hotel .this small hotel , very clean comfortable ,serving an excellent breakfast buffet with a nice choice of bread,cheese, a variety of juice ,and a super quality of coffee and tee .
Also this hotel is runner by a sympathetic man called Mehetabel looking after his guests with the most details ,also we do not forgot slahetine a good waiter in restaurant ,ogoul in the reception ,so far was the very gentile girl who's taking care of the room we recommand this hotel for people who will visit Turkey and the old city

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mourad22817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

The hotel has some problems because it is under Renovation BUT the location is perfect near the tram and ALL sightseeing.there is a police station close to the hotel so it is very safe neighborhood.The best part of hotel is the staff. they are Very hospitable and helpful English speaking.They are very kind and all the time time ask us if we need anything else (tee coffee fruit etc). Mechmet is the best manager i have ever met.He is funny and very kind.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Is a small hotel, located near in the middle of historical area.
The rooms are not big but are clean and have brand new furniture.Bath room is big and had great shower cab.
The service is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquarius2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel.The staff were friendly and helpful.However,they didn't tell us to leave the key to them to get our room cleaned when we went out.they had better inform their guests about that on arrival.

We booked a double room.but we were given a family room on arrival.the room was big enough.but the bathroom was not finished yet.and the water was leaking from the toilet and the bath-tube which didn't look so clean.

The day after,we wanted to get an another room and we got.that double room was too small even for 1 person.it can't be more than 9 square meters!additional to this, the bath-tube didn't have windows nor curtains.therefore,while taking shower the bathroom got all wet even the towels!

Then finally we got the double room we asked for which was the same on the pictures.the shower was so nice.the room was clean even had a sea-view.but unfourtunetly we got this room when 1 day left to leave!

The breakfast was mediocre.there was no even a coffee machine (instant coffee).the tables were not enough.there was not even a breakfast room!the breakfast was served next to the reception.

Lastly, the hotel is new and still being refurnished.All the rooms are not finished.but still they want to sell the unfinished rooms.be aware you may get an unfinished if you book here.we are really disappointed about this!the best thing about this hotel is that it is near the tourist attractions.it's only 2 minutes away from both gülhane and sirkeci tram-stops.however, there are many other hotels nearby.so next time,we will definitely not book this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ist-tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I stayed in the hotel a few weeks ago when they were doing a lot of refurbishment work. Having travelled round turkey for a bit I'm back in Istanbul at a different hotel, but I popped in to say hello because the staff are so nice there. It's definitely looking a lot nicer than it did when I was there. I didn't see the bedrooms but the reception/breakfast area is much smarter already.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#93 of 1,141 in Istanbul
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,273 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#216 of 1,141 in Istanbul
114 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#156 of 1,141 in Istanbul
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preferred Hotel Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preferred Hotel Old City

Property: Preferred Hotel Old City
Address: Tayahatun Sokak No 15 Sirkeci, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #600 of 1,047 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Centrally located in Istanbul’s historic Sultanahmet area, Historical Preferred Hotel Old City is situated only walking distance away from Istanbul’s popular historical attractions, Topkapi Palace, Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, Spice and Grand Bazaars. Our hotel restoration took 3 years. İt is decorated with handy-crafts, engravings,forged iron, paintings, glassware, etc, which are reflecting Ottoman naval force history and different periods of Turkey's history. Historical Preferred Hotel Old City offers comfortable accommodations with traditional and modern features at it's best. Each room has LCD TV, free Wi-Fi, air condition and private bathrooms; some rooms provide sea view. Guests can enjoy breakfast with traditional Turkish specialties and some international classics at the restaurant of the hotel" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Preferred Hotel Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing