We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hotel for family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Preferred Hotel Old City
Ranked #603 of 1,061 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect hotel for family”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

i was say at this hotel for five day /four nigh the hoel satff is very nice/copretive. Specially whan u want to go istanbul sightseening thay will arange for u the best tour agency.if u safe your time u can use the troum gulhan station is almost 2min far from the hotel sultan ahmed mouseq/shopiha/topcapi palace is the very near almos 5 min distance also the gulhan park/ harbour on the back side 5 min walking distance.if i came back 2 istanbul next time i will make reservion a same hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fahim siddiq c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    21
    14
    13
    17
See reviews for
22
28
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poljica, Zadar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Preferred Oldcity Hotel

First of all, my credit card didn't function when I booked a room for family of four through booking.com service but nevertheless they accepted our reservation.

We didn't get a room with a view but we had a spacious one on the first floor, less stairs to walk and in peaceful surrounding.

Breakfast is not as in five stars hotels but nice choice of what is tipical in Turkey. The service is gentile and quick. Once the cheese was over and they got it in 10 minutes.

Hotel is not only the building itself and service you get, but even more important it is people who come and people who work there. Regarding guests, those who come to Oldcity Hotel are very friendly and the atmosphere is worm. On the other hand, stuff is always at your disposal helping in every occasion (sometimes for even stupid mattersJ)

Our vivid children were too happy to use their computer for playing games. Although the Oldcity Hotel is not a kindergarten, we felt safe to leave our children under the supervision of their stuff while doing the last minute buying.

And the last, but not less important, I emphasize the role of receptionists, with Mr Medeni ahead , who made our stay to be like home.

If I ever come to Istanbul again I would probably go to Oldcity hotel again and I'll suggest it to my friends, too.

Sandra Babac, Croatia

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sinjorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

When we reached the hotel on first day of our reservation , we were told that room has been double booked and either we will have to go to a nearby different hotel or we will have to settle for a different room . We had to wait for nearly 2 hours at the reception before we were put in a room which has two beds instead of 3 we paid for and toilet door was broken . We refused to stay in that room and spoke with hotel manager Medni who temporarily fixed the door ( still door could only be half closed ) and assured us that next day we will be given a different room which never happened.Later we saw the same thing happening to other guests.There are plenty of reviews on tripadviser where people had exactly the same issue but i didnt beleive it until i experienced it myself .All in all really poor customer services , room and staff . Great city but hotel ruined our experience .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shabi105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

shiraz
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2012

the manager and the personnel are so polite,friendly and hospitable.it is near the public transport stations and also near the historical buildings such as the mosque ao ayasophiya and topkapi palace.i like the quarter too.

Room Tip: choose the rooms of upstairs.it seems that they are more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nazi e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I had a great time in Istanbul and the hotel was very good. The best part of the hotel where The service! It was super, lovely people! They where very helpfull and made sure we had a pleasent stay. It was close to the things we really wanted to see and it was easy to find our way home to.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasselino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randers, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed in the family room across the street from the main hotel, and it was a wonderful room, fully modern and beautifully decorated. The room has everything you need, and everything actually works, which is not always the case in Istanbul hotels! The room has a very comfortable and very big king size bed and feels very much like a real little home. The fact that it is just across the street from the main hotel contributes to the feeling that you are living in a real home and not a hotel room. We were just two people, but the room would also be great for a family. Breakfast was in the breakfast hall of the main hotel and was good and more varied than in many other Turkish hotels.
The location of the hotel is very good indeed, it is very close to everything you need, but it is still in a fairly quiet street. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
All in all, a very good hotel and a great room. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josefine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This hotel was very very bad and the account manager was very rude, the A/C didnt work just blowing hot air! The towels had large holes in them, it was disgusting. when i asked for refund the account manager said he wont give my money back and then they will try to charge you for using the mini bar even you have not touched anything, everything should be based on trust.. It really hurt knowing that i was on my 1 year anniversary with my wife.

The other hotel was excellent historical old preffered thats what its called the manager is called medeni very big heart!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rizwan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Gulhane Park Hotel
Gulhane Park Hotel
#380 of 1,155 in Istanbul
290 reviews
Sultanahmet
Taya Hatun Hotel
Taya Hatun Hotel
#109 of 1,061 in Istanbul
87 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,155 in Istanbul
3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#87 of 1,155 in Istanbul
815 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#156 of 1,155 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#25 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preferred Hotel Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preferred Hotel Old City

Property: Preferred Hotel Old City
Address: Tayahatun Sokak No 15 Sirkeci, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #603 of 1,061 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Centrally located in Istanbul’s historic Sultanahmet area, Historical Preferred Hotel Old City is situated only walking distance away from Istanbul’s popular historical attractions, Topkapi Palace, Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, Spice and Grand Bazaars. Our hotel restoration took 3 years. İt is decorated with handy-crafts, engravings,forged iron, paintings, glassware, etc, which are reflecting Ottoman naval force history and different periods of Turkey's history. Historical Preferred Hotel Old City offers comfortable accommodations with traditional and modern features at it's best. Each room has LCD TV, free Wi-Fi, air condition and private bathrooms; some rooms provide sea view. Guests can enjoy breakfast with traditional Turkish specialties and some international classics at the restaurant of the hotel" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Preferred Hotel Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing