We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galata Life Istanbul
Ranked #551 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We had a wonderful two night stay at Galata Life. The location was convenient and colourful and the staff speak excellent English. Our room was spacious and clean. The terrace had a nice view. Breakfast was good and served whenever you wake up. Amazing coffee! A great way to end our one month tour of Turkey. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Galata Life is a small, family ran business which offers visitors - in my opinion - the best opportunity to experience the "real" Istanbul, with it's bustling narrow streets, vibrant music scene and wonderful street food. I've been to bigger, fancier hotels in my previous visits to this beloved city (my mother's hometown...), but never felt so close to being a local before. There are only 5 rooms here. The one we were in - a 4 bedrooms suite named Topkapi, if I'm not mistaken - was facing the street, which we liked very much, and yet quiet enough to allow for a good night's sleep. The room was quite simle - no fancy furniture or decoration - but very spacious, well lit and clean. The owners, a young couple, were lovely and helpful. Thank U2 for their 2010 Istanbul show, allowing us to experience Galate Life in the full.

Room Tip: Topkapi room - spacious and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galiavu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I was only at the Galata Life for about 7 hours on my last night in Istanbul, but it was in a good location for getting in late at night and crashing. Close to nightlife means there are people around and places to eat even late at night - definitely not isolated area. Staff was very helpful: carrying our bags upstairs, fixing the toilet immediately when we realized it didn't flush.

The room was what one would expect at a hostel, but there was air conditioning! This was the first hostel we stayed in that had AC and it was very welcome in the July heat. Included a private bathroom as well.

Was a bit more expensive than another hostel I stayed in while in Istanbul, but was worth it for better amenities and location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We stayed in the double room. It was small but we like the simplicity of the room. After a long and tiring day from all the wanderings around the city, the beds were really comfortable to relax and have a good rest. If you have time it is really nice to spend some time in the restaurant area from where you can watch all the people passing by the street. It was nice to chat with the staff, the hotel is being runned by a family so it makes it feel at home. After reading the previous reviews we were a little worried about the breakfast, but the it was good compared to the other B&Bs' breakfast and the pancake was included. So except the smallness of the room, it was a really lovely hotel...Thank you guys !

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaworld1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We loved the location of the hotel a stone's throw from Galata tower but were disappointed with the quality of the hotel and the service. We shared a room for four which was spacious but very basic and dirtier with every day we stayed even after a complaint. The excuse: The caretaker didn't show up - and the staff present could not be bothered. There was life music at night without advance notice although we were travelling with children and I got sick. Breakfast for hotel guests is worse than breakfast for restaurant guests, eg. processed cheese instead of local fresh cheese. Why ? No nutella for the kids, eggs and pancakes charged extra.
The staff were neither helpful - especially when I got sick - nor professional. If you want to experience the famous Turkish hospitality avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oe69il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The twin bed room was tiny! it should be a single room. the bathroom was a joke. it was about 0.8m x 1.5m. when you open the door, it would hit the sink - the sink which was already the tiniest thing you've ever seen. the shower was above the toilet bowl. so when you shower, everything gets wet, including the door. The photos you see on the website are probably of the largest room they have. check out our photos!

no lifts, so you'd better not get a room on the upper most floor.

Breakfast in the cafe/reception room was just a slices of tomatoes, cucumber, olives (all of which i do not eat), a hard boiled egg and slices of bread with some packets of jam/butter. compared to the buffet spread at the other b&b we stayed at accross the river which cost just a little more, we were much disappointed.

Definitely more of a hostel-type establishment then a b&b/hotel. staff were helpful but did not speak much english. wireless only available in the cafe/reception on your own device. no shared computers available. Could not tap on to the wireless from our room.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eeshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Galata life is situated conveniently in a grat and booming quarter of Istanbul - close to lots of bars and restaurants and just a few stops from the touristic areas. The rooms are spacious but very simply furnished. Breakfast is enough to start the day but could be more generous. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the atmosphere in general was really relxed and accomodating.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Istanbul
Beyoglu
Duo Galata Hotel
Duo Galata Hotel
#539 of 1,163 in Istanbul
83 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata La Bella Hotel
Galata La Bella Hotel
#448 of 1,163 in Istanbul
279 reviews
Beyoglu
Troya Hotel
Troya Hotel
#240 of 1,163 in Istanbul
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Meroddi Pera Hotel
Meroddi Pera Hotel
#219 of 1,163 in Istanbul
332 reviews
White Palace Otel
#7 of 19 in Buyukada
121 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#20 of 1,163 in Istanbul
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galata Life Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galata Life Istanbul

Address: Galipdede No 75 Galata | Karakoy Galata, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #551 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £25 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galata Life Istanbul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of Istanbul, Galata Life Istanbul takes you on an unforgettable journey where the sense of hospitality is hold on a high esteem. Our commitment to provide a friendly yet discreet service, makes sure that you feel home in an impeccable ambiance where the orient meets the Occident. Featuring just 5 guest rooms, this cosy boutique hotel distinguishes itself thanks to its small size and individual design. Each guest room is named and dedicated to the most important sightseeing attractions of Istanbul, creating a sophisticated yet inviting and relaxing spirit. Evoking a home like atmosphere, the sense of harmony and intimacy is created by the careful selection of harmonious colours and materials in the interior design.. In walking distance from the most important museums and sight seeing attractions, such as the world renowned Galata Tower and Sultanahmet district, the city is right underneath your doorstep. Next to the most famous artistic district "Tunel" in Taksim with its celebrated bars and restaurants. During the warm season, the fabulous terrace, overlooking the Galata Tower and Hagia Sophia, provides the perfect way to start into the day. For breakfasts, brunches, lunches, coffee breaks and light dinners, you are more than welcome to take a culinary journey at our restaurant offering Turkish specialties and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Galata Life Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing