We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hostel Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taksim Sopha Hostel
Ranked #305 of 1,249 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This is the most fabulous hostel. The staff is friendly, the rooms spacious and clean, the bathrooms are spotless, and it is a great value. I felt at home here, which was a great value. If I have the chance to return to Istanbul I will be staying here. The hostel is in a great location and has everything you could possibly need. The walking tours offered are also very good. I cannot recommend this hostel highly enough

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinarboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

Well i stayed in Taksim Sofa Hostel for 2 nights in Nov'12. The best part about this hostel is the location , right in the middle of Istiklal street in Taksim Square. Rooms were quite small but neat. The staff is really helpful and they serve good breakfast :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DjDaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Myself and a friend stayed here for a couple of nights and had a great time. The staff were so friendly making sure we knew where we were going each day. I think I can say for both of us that we were sad to leave all the people behind, we made some great friends and had fun exploring. The hostel itself was right in the heart of all the places we wanted to see and the rooms were comfortable. On the last night a few of us staying there made pasta and had a big meal together, it was nice to be somewhere cosy and comforting, although its not the prettiest place to look at (originally I was a bit unsure) the bedding was clean and the company was great so any worries were soon gone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennykl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I have a problem rating this hostel. I stayed in a room which wasn't clean, and there was no everyday cleaning service offered. At some point I had to change rooms and I found myself without towels and toilet paper, because the cleaner had forgotten to provide them. On the other hand, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They ensured there would be a cozy atmosphere in the lounge and they went out of their way to offer tips. Breakfast was decent. The hostel lies just a few minutes walk from Istiklal street, the heart of Beyoglu. So, if you care more about the area than the room and cleanliness itself, this hostel would be a good choice. But if you can't stand seeing thick dust on the toilet trashcan and flush, then don't go.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

This is by far one of the best run hostels. When it bowls down to when you're staying in a host it matters most about the management. They went out of their way to accomodate you and they made me feel like a prince. I loved this place, wish I would have stayed here more days! The beds are SUPER comfy, the showers are adequate, and the breakfast actually provides you proteins!

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This hostel was awesome. Very social, friendly environment, guests and staff were all so nice. It was a great hostel to meet other travelers and share stories. The location is perfect, right in the middle of the main square. There are lots of shops, restaurants, pubs and cafes all around. www.TaksimSofa.com

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I was only here for night but had a great time. The lady on day shift was so lovely and gave me lots of tips on travel through Turkey. I was quite sick with Diarreah from drinking water in Cappadocia and the man on night shift made me tea and tried to make me feel better. The bed was comfy, dorm room was clean and cool.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renstak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#786 of 1,163 in Istanbul
626 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#455 of 1,163 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,138 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,163 in Istanbul
591 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#15 of 1,249 in Istanbul
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taksim Sopha Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taksim Sopha Hostel

Address: Kuloglu Mah. Aga Kulhani Sok. No:5 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey (Formerly Taksim Sofa Hostel)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 1,249 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiwi and Turkish partnership bring in a new style.Taksim Sopha Hostel located in beyoglu/taksim area which is the heart of istanbul and heart of fun &places to see.We aim to give you a home away from home feel so you can make the most of your time in Istanbul as if you were visiting a old friend.We are located only 2 minutes to the famous Istiklal Street (pedestrian) which is the 24 hour party and shopping centre of istanbul. We are 10 minutes to the old city ( Sultanahmet ) where you can visit the famous Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace amongst other things.payments cash upon arrivalcheck in 14 :00check out 11:00 ( but you can hang out all day and leave your stuff here)We have 3 dormitories;10 bed shared bathroom6 bed shared bathroom4 bed with ensuite2 double private rooms with ensuitesFacilities:Free internet(wifi)Free luggage storageFree tea and coffeeFree lockersLaundry facilities to wash your clothes if you've been on the road for a whileA small modest guest kitchen24 hour receptionNo curfew or lockoutTravel information to help you plan the next stage of your journey without getting scammed by dodgy tour guidesCommon roomHot showersFree pub crawlsFree walking tour (not like the typical tourist walking tour scams, we will tell you the local and real stuff.)Free costume party (we have more than a thousand costumes, you will chose or combine your costume, and we will go out well dressed!)and free hug :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd and HostelWorld so you can book your Taksim Sopha Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing