We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good times in taksim”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taksim Sopha Hostel
Ranked #275 of 1,191 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good times in taksim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

this hostel was by far one of the cheaper options in Taksim but it certainly catered to all our needs, good clean bathrooms, enough room in the doorms and comfy beds ( all for about half the price of the rest of taksim). The manager, Onur was great in advising us places to eat, drink and visit, he even came out with us one night to personally show us around which was great and meant alot! We were constantly offered turkish tea and always made to feel at home. Overall its a great hostel for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliver p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    9
    8
    2
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
5
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Under new managment, much improved!!!!!!!!!! awesome spot!!
I had stayed at this hostel about a year ago, and wasn't particularly impressed with the management, but apart from that it was pretty good, good location, clean rooms etc, I was back in the area last week and decided to stay here for another few nights, and to my delight I found out it was under new management, Nathan I think his name was, really nice guy, lots of fun and always willing to help out with anything and have a good laugh, I always liked this hostel and now it is even better! Thanks Nathan I will definitely be dropping by again sometime-
Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great hostel to stay at, really friendly staff and great facilities, loved the atmosphere would recommend to anyone, have a chat to nathan the kiwi one of the owners he will give you a run Down of the area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Soho hostel for a couple nights which was horrid, rooms filled with ciggarette smoke and noises from the street. We decided to come here. Very quiet steet, yet so close to the action. Great cafes, shops and supermarkets near by. They have a kitchen which they allow you to cook in and a fridge to uses if you need to. The owner helps you with every thing!food to try, places to go, even will go out of his way to show you. Best inner city hostel yet!

Helpful?
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

When I arrived at the hostel in the morning, there was no staff on the counter. The staff was sleeping beside on the couch and totally ignoring me, it was funny. The room was just okay, but the the location of its site was so great. It wasn't too far to reach the shopping street(Taksim square) and the subway station. If you don't care the service and the room, it might be a well choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hsiang-Chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Ideal Hostel. Super cheap (6 euros a night for a shared room with 12 people), close to centre (5 minutes walking to Istiklal Cadessi). Ideal for people who don't mind to share with other people, and also it is quiet after 12 pm, so don't worry about your night rest. Fairly clean and friendly owner!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaNussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Staff is friendly, tahsin told me "this is your second home" ^^

They have everything; common kitchen, roof top, at the loby comfy sofas

They give all tips you need nice place to eat nice bars and clubs historical places, beaches

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onur k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#128 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#352 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#154 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#230 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taksim Sopha Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taksim Sopha Hostel

Property: Taksim Sopha Hostel
Address: Kuloglu Mah. Aga Kulhani Sok. No:5 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey (Formerly Taksim Sofa Hostel)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 1,191 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiwi and Turkish partnership bring in a new style.Taksim Sopha Hostel located in beyoglu/taksim area which is the heart of istanbul and heart of fun &places to see.We aim to give you a home away from home feel so you can make the most of your time in Istanbul as if you were visiting a old friend.We are located only 2 minutes to the famous Istiklal Street (pedestrian) which is the 24 hour party and shopping centre of istanbul. We are 10 minutes to the old city ( Sultanahmet ) where you can visit the famous Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace amongst other things.payments cash upon arrivalcheck in 14 :00check out 11:00 ( but you can hang out all day and leave your stuff here)We have 3 dormitories;10 bed shared bathroom6 bed shared bathroom4 bed with ensuite2 double private rooms with ensuitesFacilities:Free internet(wifi)Free luggage storageFree tea and coffeeFree lockersLaundry facilities to wash your clothes if you've been on the road for a whileA small modest guest kitchen24 hour receptionNo curfew or lockoutTravel information to help you plan the next stage of your journey without getting scammed by dodgy tour guidesCommon roomHot showersFree pub crawlsFree walking tour (not like the typical tourist walking tour scams, we will tell you the local and real stuff.)Free costume party (we have more than a thousand costumes, you will chose or combine your costume, and we will go out well dressed!)and free hug :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Taksim Sopha Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing