We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel marred by poor service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Green Park Pendik Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #736 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Loughborough
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel marred by poor service and location”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I don't think we have ever experienced such rude service on Reception as we received when we arrived. Our flight arrived at the European airport at about 10 pm, so it was midnight when we arrived at the hotel. There were no customers in Reception and three staff behind the counter. The staff were talking to each other, and ignored us completely - even though they knew we were there. One guy eventually checked us in (passport, credit card etc), gave us the key and then resumed his conversation with his colleagues. He didn't tell us where the elevators were situated, but fortunately a porter spotted our dilemma and helped us out - he was really kind.

Hotel is on the Asian side of the Bosphorus whereas the main sites are on the European side. Quite a lot of construction work is being carried out around the hotel and along the promenade. So location isn't ideal.

On the positive side, our bedroom was large, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was good (you can eat outside on the terrace), and free Wi-Fi was available in the Lobby. Swimming Pool was large, and there were plenty of loungers for sunbathing. Most of the other guests appeared to be at a conference, and I can image that this would be a good venue - if they can improve their service levels at Reception.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CalellaDePalafrugell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    119
    69
    45
    43
See reviews for
30
54
15
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel for coming 12 days . during my stay, the room and service staff is good. But two issues that extrremely annoyed me. Everyday, I will put my dirty laundry in the hotel laundry bag and hang at the room door knobs so that the housekeeping is aware there is laundry to collect for cleaning. 3 times, i cam back hotel at evenign after a long day work, to find the bag hanging at the same location and 3 times I have to call the reception to inform housekeeping to collect my laundry the following day. Today, thing got even worst. The housekeeping took my laundry to 2 days, and when I came back my room at night to find my laundry no where to be found. I call to receiption and told me housekeeping is close and will return me the following day. I have to go dwo nto the receiption at 12.15am at night, get the duty manager and to discover my laundry was labelled for another room no. It was so close to losing my laundry to a stranger. Also, there was once I cam back to find no housekeeping done with no towel change. My colleague whom has stayed in another room experience no toliet roll when doing his deed.

Also, the hotel hold funciton almost every fri and weekend. The music will be blasting from evening till late night 12-1am. i staying at the second floor, and I have to wake up everyday at 6am tio prep for my work. it is not difficult to imagine the dark circle under my eye.

i hope the management do call me at my room 2233 if they see this and provide me good explanation on this as i will be staying till 14 June.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We were in Istanbul for a romantic getaway and included a convention held at this hotel as part of our trip. Check-in was quick and easy. Room was clean and HUGE. The round bed was a nice touch. The bathroom was huge. We enjoyed the jacuzzi tub after a long day. The double rainforest shower heads were great. We had a corner room so all the windows and natural light was nice.

The dinner buffet was less than average. We didn't try the breakfast. The service during dinner service was minimal, and frankly one particular server was quite rude. Actually, the hotel service altogether was below average. They promised an iron and an extra blanket and never followed through or called to say there was not one coming. They kept us waiting. Needless to say, we never got an iron or blanket. Good thing we didn't call for room service.

The hotel was a 10-15 minute walk from a bustling area of restaurants and shops. We opted for McDonalds after our dinner disappointment.

Overall, the room was great. Service was below average for this type of hotel. Food was a disappointment. The convention venue was GREAT, but would not recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: Get a corner room! They're huge with lots of light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyssa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodside, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I stated at this Hotel for the 2nd Annual Istanbul dance festival ( April, 2013). This hotel is huge! and pretty much everything you need you will find it there: Such as small shops, Gym, Indoor and ourdoor pools, jacuzzis, spa, amazing auditorium, wide open hallways, plenty of elevators, its own parking, restaurants, ballrooms, etc... The staff was very friendly and professional, they def were quick at taking care of issues (if any) and were helpful at suggesting places to see etc...Check in was simple, all we needed was our passports (from US) and one Credit card (like most hotels). The room was requested for 4 people ( we each paid about 50 euros per person for 4 days) and to our surprise the room was set up with 4 beds!! no need to share! see the pictures (the room was big enough for all 4. The bathroom was clean, well put together and functional. The room was equipped with a safe box, coffee maker, hairdryer, flat screen tv, desk, closets, mirrors, huge window (openable on the sides), plenty of european outlets (be sure to bring adapters for US devices, also check that your devices can handle 110-240 voltage) etc... the hallways and all other areas i visited were very clean! (huge plus) we had complementary breakfast (with great variation of foods, fruits etc). Overall i was very pleased with the hotel. You may ask: why not 5 stars? the answer is simple: complementary WIFI can only be used in the lobby, restaurant and some hallways. BUT! if you bring your computer, they provide you with an Ethernet cable in your room, so you can have wired internet. the second thing i did not like much was the AC, though we lowered it to the minimum temperature is was not cool enough. Luckily, the temp outside was about 60, so by opening the windows we were able to cool the room enough for comfy cozy sleep!

Room Tip: ask for full ocean view! some rooms face away from the ocean, and others partial... also keep in min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Extorsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erbil, Iraq
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The Green Park Pendik Hotel is a nice Hotel, The Location is very good for those who have their works and meetings in the Anadolian side of Istanbul. Its just 8 KM from Sabiha Gohken Airport. Its also located in a very nice place, facing the Sea, The Hotel overall is very nice.
The best thing I loved about this Hotel is their Breakfast Buffet, I have not seen anything like that, so good, variety of things, you will be spoiled of choices really.
The only thing I have on this Hotel is their stuff can be better, they did few mistakes when I was there with my friends. But generally Its a very good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nawzad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We have stayed there for couple of nights. Had a very small, but clean & nicely furnished room. The breakfast and the view from the Hotel were lovely. The fitness center, the sauna, pools were great! Unfortunately the location was soo far from everything and it was really difficult to reach the Hotel. It takes a very long time and lots of money to go to visit anything from here and come back. It would have been a good stay if the reception staff and the impolite customer service lady wouldn’t be this much arrogant and make us feel terrible.

You should be aware that they don’t allow Turkish souvenirs, such as nuts, Turkish sweets to be taken to your room even on the very last night when you are usually packing your luggage and they talk to you as if you would be a low class tourist.

When we had chance to express our huge disappointment in the Hotel staff at the check-out time we just got the worst from the head of the customer service. She had absolutely no idea how to talk or comfort their guests and her way of talking was just impolite, arrogant and careless.

This was one of the worst experiences in our whole staying in Istanbul; we would not recommend this Hotel for their awful attitude and treating their guests!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HannahBoglarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I stayed at the Green Park Pendik Hotel 5 night with my customers. One the advantage of the hotel compare to other hotels in Istanbul Asian Side is much closed to Sabiha gokcen airport.
1- Reception: we arrived at 11:30 am and without any delay their accommodation us in our rooms. also receptions are very polite and warm welcome. Also there was a bellboy Arslan Bey who was very warm and professional in his Job.
2- My room was garden view and very cozy, not very big but enough space for me. Very clean and sleep quality was great. Bed was perfectly comfortable. Also Room Service and Housekeeping was very well and every day when I went back from breakfast my room was cleaned.
3- Breakfast was wonderful and huge range of choice.
All the staff was very polite and helpful and service was quite good.

Room Tip: Both Graden view and see view was nice but i think the best choice could be Sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamedTalaforoush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Istanbul
0.2 mi away
The Pendik Residence
The Pendik Residence
#798 of 1,155 in Istanbul
24 reviews
1.1 mi away
Divan Istanbul Asia
Divan Istanbul Asia
#200 of 1,155 in Istanbul
369 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inera Hotel
Inera Hotel
#2 of 6 in Pendik District
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Titanic Business Kartal
Titanic Business Kartal
#31 of 1,155 in Istanbul
759 reviews
3.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa - Istanbul Tuzla
0.6 mi away
Tuyap Palas
Tuyap Palas
#372 of 1,155 in Istanbul
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Pendik Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Pendik Hotel & Convention Center

Property: The Green Park Pendik Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Kaynarca Mahallesi, Ankara Cd. No: 204 | Pendik, Istanbul 34000, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#415 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Green Park Pendik Hotel & Convention Center 5*
Number of rooms: 538
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Park Pendik Hotel & Convention Center is located 500 m. away from 7 Km away from Sabiha Gokcen International Airport, 8 Km away from Formula 1 Istanbul GP, Pendik ferry terminal, 15 away from Bostanci ferry terminal. While guest rooms and suites will reflect the past, attention to the present will be evident with in-room features including high-speed Internet access. A fully equipped VIP Lounge, “Turkish Hamam” spa and specious fitness center, indoor and outdoor swimming pools are other hotel features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Green Park Pendik Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Park Pendik Hotel Istanbul
The Green Park Pendik Hotel And Convention Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing