We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not too bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostelon

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostelon
Ranked #536 of 1,174 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“not too bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

First off I loved the location. Away from the hustle and bustle but still pretty central.
It was good value overall though the bathrooms could have used some looking over. Still pretty reasonable.
I'd say it gives you value for money for a couple of nights in Istanbul though in could surely imrpove in some areas. As far as hostels go, it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank vagresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    0
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Very good hostel. Staff were patient, room was clean, location was great - near Taksim Square, tram line, and a small grocery store. Sleep was good. The only minor quibble we had was that there was a mothball odor - a small price to pay for a cheap, clean, private room in a good location. We were out too much to be bugged by it anyway. No bedbugs - my biggest concern when sleeping away from home. Emailed to make the booking and had no problems.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LooBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

Hostelon was a great choice for several reasons. First, the location is very good. I didn't like the atmosphere in Sultanahmet so it was very nice to stay near Taksim square where it wasn't that touristic and where salesmen behaved politely and did not hassle. Second, the value for money is excellent. It included a small breakfast. The rooms were very clean, everything was new and the place had just been renovated. Third, the staff was very friendly and seemed to enjoy their work thus getting information and tips was very easy. I travelled by myself so it was a good idea to stay at Hostelon because I met other guests who were very friendly. So all in all, the atmosphere was pleasant. A special thanks to the owner who managed to make me feel very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanna6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

The staff were almost never there and when they were they made loud noises well into the night (including one of the staff taking her partner back to a room and waking us up at 1am having sex). The bathroom and bedrooms were disgusting and were not cleaned despite our requests. We had to pull a clump of hair and gunk out of the shared shower ourselves in order to enable it to drain. The sheets provided did not fit the bed. The staff left their rubbish and dirty dishes all over the hostel. I am dumbfounded as to how this hostel received posıtive reviews from anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFit01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Hostelon
We had a magnificent stay at Hostelon! You won't find a more centrally located hostel in the heart of Istanbul. Kerem and his staff go out of their way to assist you with small and big requests. The AC kept us cool and comfortable at night and was a welcomed luxury -- few hostels in Istanbul offer AC at that price. In addition, the place is very clean and secure. The front door is always locked and you have access to big and spacious lockers in each room. A great place we'll be sure to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thor_Ommund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goreme, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

Friendliest staff, clean rooms, AC @ night, perfect location & great value. Thanks Hostelon!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AYJCABRIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#349 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#155 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#233 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#127 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelon

Property: Hostelon
Address: Firuzaga Mah. Bogazkesen Cad. No:68 Kemankes, Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #536 of 1,174 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing