We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, excellent service”
Review of Hotel Santa Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Hill
Ranked #269 of 1,115 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I and a friden stayed in recently for a week 2, July, 13 to 10, July 13. The Hotel is very central location good value for the money rooms are beautifully decorated I loved the service, staff is very friendly specially the General Manager and Mr.Jihad Fatih who I think is night shift manager very helpful and friendly we had a little problem with our air-condition in the room and we were offered the bigger room on the same night with no extra charge .I will go there again and recommend it to everyone who wants to visit Istanbul.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawood A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

I have been stayed from 30-5-2013 until 2-6-2013 in room 301.It was very nice.big room,cleen,with view in the steet of pera.The staff very helfpul.Only the breakfast was a litlle be poor.ONE man of the the group who stayed in one room in fist floor 101 told us that was very small and very noisy the night.From that word of him I understood that the hotel have a lot differrent types of rooms.So I reccoment to choose someone, one room in the highers floors.My experience was very good.The place of the hotel was very very close to istiklal steet 200m and taxim square 800m.If someone would not give so much money and want to have a good place,clean to stay, should stay.

Room Tip: choose a room in higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleni r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Where should I start? We traveled as group of 10 people (8 rooms total) and we had too many unpleasant experiences.
My basement room had window looking directly at steep hill and window of adjacent private house (not even 2 meters apart). So, no daylight at all, and starring at someone else room.
Room had wooden ceiling. I could hear even the slightest movements upstairs. There is no place to leave luggage, so we had to put it between beds. I won't even start with "small things" as only one large/small towel in twin rooms, inadequate light (couldn't even read), small safe which is enough only for papers, and not bolted to anything (anyone could just take it away), etc. Minibar was empty, but fridge worked and at least we could fill it ourselves.
All beds were too short for anybody higher than 175 cm, and extremely hard (of course, someone could prefer that). A/C didn't work in some rooms.
Our group requested quite a few room changes, as at first some of us got extremely small rooms (certainly not those advertised and paid for).
Breakfast consisted of hardboiled eggs, two cheeses and some kind of inedible salami. Same every day for a week.
Male receptionist was all the time on youtube (that's the first time ever that I had to wait for receptionist to finish watching video), and very unhelpful. His greeting upon arrival was at least catastrophic. Another day we asked him to call a taxi, and when taxi arrived, he said that the price will be double of that quoted over phone. Of course, we didn't take it. We asked for wifi password, and he didn't want to copy it 8x (so every room gets one copy). Wifi coverage is limited.

BUT MOST IMPORTANT: They charged all rooms on single credit card, on our arrival. I didn't give them card or card number, or permission to do so. They just copied number from booking web site in their POS system, and right before departure produced slip for me to sign. This is pure scam, and evidently they did it more than once. I had a choice of signing of credit card slip, argue with them (which resolved nothing), maybe call police and probably miss flight home (thus incurring more costs). I lost money on their exchange rate, amex exchange rate and fee, and I had to collect money from 10 people.

Room Tip: Don't take basement room. Or even better, any room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvenCro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The location is excellent: walking distance to trendy Tepebasi bars and restaurants.The rooms are well decorated, but ours was a former small attic. This is not necessarily bad, but when i saw the room where the other couple we were travelling with stayed (bigger room and bathroom), i was a bit envious. The rooms are clean. One negative point is that due to the wooden floor one can hear the neighbours. The Tv set was not set and could not be easily set (small drawback as when in Istanbul, one will probably not spend too much time in the room). The price could have been a bit better. As for the staff, one of the guys and a girl are super and very good english speakers, the other one kind of slow. Breakfast ok,not enough turkish products but more supermarket products. As it is a small boutique hotel, if you want to spend a chatty night in the lobby, they cant serve you beers or anything, but they will lead you to the delicious street food makers just around the corner, where u can buy great food and beverages.
Good stay overall, mainly due to location.

Room Tip: Not in the attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manolia_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The hotel was perfect for our trip. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast each morning was a great way to start a long day in the center of Istanbul. If we are ever lucky enough to return to Istanbul, we will stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Loved everything about this hotel. From their location to cleaniness of the room to their excellent customer service. The manager is extremely nice and helpful so as their staff. Great breakfast. And wonderful view. Close to taksim square and istikbal st with all the bars and shopping mall and stores. Loved this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mbeheshti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

very good hotel , nice and so clean and well situated near taksim and istiklal street
i love the hotel i got big room conditioned with great bed and with good internet speed .staff are friendly
i recommend hotel santa hill at all for staying in istanbul and have nice time
(ghada)

Room Tip: room 201 sultanahmet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghada s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Mint Residence Taksim
Mint Residence Taksim
#142 of 1,260 in Istanbul
29 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,181 in Istanbul
3,178 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#874 of 1,181 in Istanbul
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#77 of 1,181 in Istanbul
832 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,181 in Istanbul
1,841 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#72 of 1,181 in Istanbul
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Hill

Address: Tepebasi Refik Saydam Cad. No:14-16 | Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 1,115 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: £23 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Santa Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Santa Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing