We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sumo Cat Hostel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Istanbul
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Incila Suites(Istanbul)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
SuB Karakoy(Istanbul)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tophane Suites(Istanbul)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
40
10
8
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
10
8
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed in the sultan suite and it was really nice. Its not as big as it seems on the pictures but theres enough room for two. You even have aircontidioning in the room (which didnt always work perfectly), which is not natural. I've stayed in some hostels around the world and none of them had airconditioning.

One thing that you cant see in the pictures of the website is, that the bathrooms are really really small. Its like one quare-meter / 10 square-feet and if you enter the bathroom you are already standing in the shower. Which means you can pee, wash your hands and shower at the same time :) That was a little suprise but it wasnt that bad, as the bathroom wasnt dirty or something.

The room was a little dusty and there were holes in the sheets. But we were okay with that, as we were still staying at a hostel and not in a hotel.

One thing that also was suprising, is that the people staying in the hostel dont really connect. When i was there everybody was caring about themselves and didnt really try to have a conversation with others. This is also one thing that i never experienced when staying at a hostel. Normally everybody is open to getting to know new people.

The staff was really nice. I whish they would have had more "secret tips" of where to go to or what to do.

One thing that would have been pretty normal are bugs - but there were none!

The location of the hostel is perfect. Its just by the galata tower where people sit, make musik, drink and laugh every night, but if you need sleep its still quiet at night. Theres a mosque nearby, that can wake you up in the morning, but actually there is no place without a mosque nearby. You can walk to all the important places, as istiklal street.

One more thing: You really shouldnt go in the summer because its really too hot to go anywhere. If you want to do sightseeing and get to know the history and culture of the city, you should go sometime between october and april.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dugsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I have stayed twice at Sumo Cat hostel, and it was friendly and had proper accommodation.
The location is also good, because it is not on the main street so you get less noise, and better sleep, yet it is still a walking distance from the main attractions. I like their little garden and for a smoker like me it is a nice little spot to enjoy a coffee.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roody K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I stayed twice during my vacation at Sumo cat.
The location is great if you are looking to go out at night in Istanbul, since it is in a very quiet street but very near to the Galata Tower and the Istiklal Street where a big part of Itsanbul's night action is.
I stayed in the dorms with my girlfriend. They have enough space, the beds are ok, you get clean sheets on arrival, but the bathrooms are not cleaned every day, which in a dorm can be quite a drag. The room floor was also not cleaned every day. And when it was cleaned it was not a very thorough thing. Even so, The overall cleaning rate was not bad. but it was not excelent either.
The personel is really nice and willing to help. If you have questions about the surroundings of the Galata tower they are able to help. They also provide you with a map of "the interesting part" of Istanbul, but in the end I got a feeling that anything out of this radius I knew more about it than they did with my six days in Istanbul. Nevertheless they always try to help with google and a smile.
There is Wifi on the Hostel but not all the rooms get the same coverage. On the top floor you can't get connected. On the basement you have a PC which you can use for free to get online.
The breakfast was the usual.
They let us have a bath at the end of the day on our check out day, which was pretty cool since we got some of the hottest days in Istanbul this year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flocooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

You are just in the middle of the most energetic location in Istanbul. While you experience Istanbul, you enjoy the friendly faces, finely designed and very clean rooms. The very best place to stay with a low price.
These people worked hard to create this concept hostel.
Thanks for this ambiance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beril T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

we stayed in sumo cat for 7 nights- 8 days , and all i can say is that the experience was real fun, the hostel is close to all the hip sites in istanbul, u can have an amazing night out for 5 tl in galata with all the locals singing and dancing through the night, and at the same time its very close to the tophane tram station! we met really nice travelers and the staff were very helpful and they guide you to whatever you need , always ready to look out anything for you ! if i come again i would definitely stay in sumo cat AGAIN :D

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibrahim-lh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews