We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Doubletree in an ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
Ranked #103 of 1,176 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We arrived at the Doubletree after traveling from the USA at about 4:00 PM. They took our luggage and checked us in promptly. With all apologies that our room needed another ten minutes to be ready we were invited to enjoy a beverage on the house.

The room is adequate but nothing special, but the location is very central. The concierge had the six pre-ordered museum passes so they were obtained for our touring with friends starting tomorrow morning.

We walked around and explored the neighborhood, finally returning to the Doubletree at about 7:00. After a very long day, a short night, and another long day, it was time to shower and relax, and call it a day. A pleasant surprise awaited us in our room from the Doubletree! They left us a plate of sweets and a plate of fresh fruit. This sure helped round out our “Dinner” for the evening.

Our first morning traveling friends arrived and were surprised their rooms were ready before 8:00 AM. Kudos to the Doubletree for getting them situated so quickly! Due to our Hilton status, our breakfast was complementary. I wanted our friends to join us but was quite taken aback when I learned that for those who are paying, the breakfast is 47 Turkish Lira per person. That was nearly $25 US. This was a nice breakfast, but it's not near a $25 breakfast!

Our second evening the Doubletree left us some parting treats in our room. Again, very appreciated. All the staff we interacted with seemed very pleasant. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank startraindd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,914 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

This was my first Double Tree experience.I would go back. The food was great, I loved the welcome cookie! Comfortable beds and a nice rooftop, lovely staff. Don't bother with breakfast - it's not bad but poor value and you can eat amazing stuff in local cafes. The location is perfect, no matter what you want to do in Istanbul.
I think that the staff should put guests directly in taxis as it's not outside the front door and I saw some taxi drivers trying to overcharge tourists and arguing with them. If the staff put them in and tell them to switch on the meter this wouldn't happen.
I usually refuse to stay in hotels without free wifi, that is my only complaint. It's not acceptable in this day and age.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remarkable_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read that you had positive thoughts about our hotel and your stay.

I would like to say the reason the internet is charged is because the Hilton Hotels have an agreement with an internet server called ‘’Swisscom’’ for your safety. This agreement applies to all the hotels. On the First Floor, we have a business centre which is open 24 hours for our guests and free of charge.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town in the near future.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel was clean, modern, and reasonably prices, service was also good. Much better experience then what I sometimes get in Istanbul and I would not hesitate to go there again any time. Did not like their Wifi policy though, paying first of all + paying for each device.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Telly2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read that you had positive thoughts about our hotel and your stay.

I would like to say the reason the internet is charged is because the Hilton Hotels have an agreement with an internet server called ‘’Swisscom’’ for your safety. This agreement applies to all the hotels. On the First Floor, we have a business centre which is open 24 hours for our guests and free of charge.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town in the near future.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

on arrival reception staff were very friendly & efficient and we were in room within 5 minutes.
Room was clean & comfortable with all the necessary extras.
Breakfast was excellent with a large variety of choice(cooked,cold meats & cheeses,fruit etc) and again staff very courteous and efficient.
Only slight complaint , the alcohol costs

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhillranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I just stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, departing yesterday.

The hotel is very well located for first time visitors to Istanbul looking to take in the wonderful historical sights, as I have just done. The people in Istanbul were great and overall, it's a terrific city to visit.

However, my hotel experience was completely ruined by one inexplicable incident. On the third night, after a long day out and about, I decided to get some take away food and eat it in comfort in my room. Upon returning to the hotel I was physically confronted at the hotel lobby door by one of their uniformed staff who proclaimed quite sternly that the hotel had a policy of not allowing take away food in the hotel.

Further, the hotel had supposedly written to all guests explaining this (not to me they hadn't and there was nothing in my room about this supposed "policy") after "a recent incident". Whatever that was.... The employee also declared that he didn't agree with this policy but was directed to implement it by Management. After an argument, he said that on this one occasion, he would let me take the food to my room!

I have stayed in dozens of hotels in my lifetime for business and pleasure, many of which were Hilton's, including some of the best hotels in the World and have never, ever, had such a policy declared to me. Nor have I ever been confronted in such an aggressive way at a hotel entrance where I was staying.

This confrontation completely soured my visit to Istanbul, my first, and, of the Hilton brand. I had just stayed in another Hilton the previous week in Europe and am booked to stay in another is the US in December. After that, I shall have to review whether I ever stay in a Hilton again. To be put in a position where one is uncomfortable about actually coming back to a hotel during a stay is simply unforgivable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay.

According to our Hotel policy and in terms of hygiene, it is not allowed to bring fast foods and hot foods from outside to the Hotel for your health & safety. We do have a tent card about it in all the rooms of the Hotel.

I would like you to know that this is a procedure regarding the comfort of our Guests. Because we care you.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Even though we visit Istanbul often, this was the first time staying at the DT OldTown. One of the Istanbul University campuses is right across the street, main religious buildings are a few blocks away and the Grand Bazar is less than a mile walking distance. However, there is no need to walk because the #1 Light Rail line is right in front of the hotel and it can take you across the river to the Asian side of the city. Get off right after crossing the river and take the Tunel that takes you to the famous Istiklal Caddesi Street. St. Anthony Puda Catholic church at no171 has a wonderful 19:00 Mass and we highly recommend the very tasty, solid service and reasonably priced LaFontana di trevi is up one of the side streets across the street from the church.

There are many wonderful restaurants, amazing number of shops, you can walk downhill to the new Marmaray subway line/station that goes under the Bosphorus and connects Europe to Asia.

The hotel's breakfast was very good with many choices for most tastes and the chefs are ready to please with eggs prepared anyway you would like. The poached eggs were some of the best I have had at a hotel.

The rooms are nice but make sure you inquire about street noise if you are a light sleeper. We stayed in 101 and it was very spacious but a bit on the noisy side as it is situated right above the main street.

Finding a good running trail isn't easy in the old part of town and they have dogs out if you run early in the morning. The best trail is along the Boshorus which is down the hill a few blocks from the Marmaray subway tunel station.

Room Tip: Be mindful of the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I can echo what others have said. The reason I am not giving a higher rating is the food. It was fine at the breakfast buffet but other than that it was awful. It was overpriced and overcooked. Don't bother with anything labeled "beef". I ordered a steak sandwich and what arrived was thin dry shredded meat. Horrible. We also ordered a chicken entre that was pounded flat and breaded, deep-fried and again so overcooked...dry and greasy. For a Hilton property this is not acceptable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay.

We appreciate your positive comments, as well as your constructive feedback which I have already shared with the team and I will follow up personally. Apologies for any expectation that we may have failed to fulfill.

We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and appreciate your valuable opinions.

I look forward to welcoming you soon and try to show you our improvement.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Kadıköy
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda
Sultanahmet
Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul - Sirkeci
Grand Bazaar
Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel
Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel
#154 of 1,176 in Istanbul
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#67 of 1,176 in Istanbul
2,378 reviews
Levent
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
#95 of 1,176 in Istanbul
1,306 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#104 of 1,176 in Istanbul
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town

Address: Beyazit Mahallesi, Ordu Caddesi No 31, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#47 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#80 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#95 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £66 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and homelike surroundings at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Istanbul - Old Town hotel. Our friendly and attentive staff will even greet you with our delicious chocolate chip cookie. Set in the heart of Istanbul's old town on the Historical Peninsula of Turkey, the contemporary DoubleTree Old Town Istanbul hotel is only 30 minutes east of the airport and is the nearest hotel to the famous covered Grand Bazaar. Visit attractions such as the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace near the hotel or discover this exciting city by foot. Retire to a spacious guest room or suite at this Istanbul hotel. All rooms are stylishly decorated and are fully equipped with modern amenities. Upgrade to a suite for extra space, including a separate living area and beautiful terrace, ideal for relaxing on sunny days. Host a meeting or celebrate a special event at the DoubleTree Old Town Istanbul hotel and choose between five flexible meeting rooms or the stunning top-floor ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Istanbul - Old Town Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing