We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location to tram!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
Ranked #104 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

With Hilton Gold status, we received a fruit platter and four pieces of Turkish delight (nut "lokum") upon arrival, free wifi in our room, as well as free breakfasts each morning of our stay. Our corner room had a sliver of a view of the Mediterranean Sea between the buildings on the side street in the fashion district (quieter side compared to the main street). The bed was very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was an excellent assortment of hot dishes, omelet station (we ordered Turkish tomato/egg dish called menemen), giant honeycomb dripping with honey, 12 types of cheese and 8 types of olives, regular and Turkish coffee, juices, salad, jams, butter, cold cuts, beef sausages, sweet fruit/chocolate pastries and savory cheese/parsley pastries, fresh pineapple, mercimek corbasi (pronounced merjimek chorbaseu, Turkish lentil soup), fresh watermelon and canteloupe. The waiters were very attentive and very quick to ask if we wanted refills or the newspaper.

The tram across the street saved us taxi fare, and we took it to the erstwhile church/mosque, now-museum Aya Sofya (Hagia Sophia) and Dolmabahce palace at the end of the tram.

The only drawback is that there is no supermarket nearby, but we purchased bottled water from sidewalk kiosks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 1,892 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

My first time to Istanbul and I would say I was lucky that my friend and I have picked this hotel where we had all a decent hotel should offer: good location for attractions, friendly responds to requests, nice cafe where you won't hurry to leave after breakfast ... and some surprises out of your expectation, like the welcome cookie and a friendly valet who waived our daily fee of EU 15 (he said he requested the hotel management for all hotel visitors). Staff at reception seem not warm enough.

The traffic near the hotel could be a problem because it's a location of clothing wholesales in those small streets. There are hundred of rushing trolleys of fabrics fighting for ways with cars which caused terrible jam. Better not drive into the area, or leave enough space for carts - one impatient worker deliberately hit the mirror of my rented C180 when he got through. There may be certain time in a day which is better but I stayed too short to tell.

This DoubleTree changed my impression of the brand, especially right after another DoubleTree in Lisbon. Hilton should have standardized the rank of the brand to meet the customers' expectation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWPanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay in DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town.

We are so happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

It has good location in the old town near to attractions like grand bazaar and the old mosques near by the hotel.
Good breakfast
Nice restaurant for dinner in the top fifth floor easy walks to the heritage old town Istanbul
Crowded district

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nawaf555427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The room was fairly simple but clean and in good condition. It was the service that impressed me. The entire staff was very accommodating, friendly and helpful. The whirlpool and steam room were very nice with a wonderful area to relax. The location of the hotel was excellent; within walking distance to many sites. Overall a great place to stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank susantnqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write your comments after your recent visit on Trip Advisor.

First of all, I was delighted to read that you had positive thoughts about your stay at our hotel and you found all of our team members to be very helpful. Comments such as yours are shared with all of our Team Members as an initiative to encourage them to continue their efforts in making our guests feel welcome and ensuring them a pleasant stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town very soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at the Double Tree Old Town and found the location to be ideal. It is right there where the action is: Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, The Grand Bazaar. We also walked to the Topkapi Palace, the Spice Bazaar, and more. The walk to and from the hotel puts in you with some of the local vibe rather than just tourist sites. The street from the sites to the hotel was as interesting as anything we saw. Furthermore, the street car is located right outside the door.

The only this I would say is that breakfast was very, very expensive. So we hooked a right outside the hotel doors and went down a block to a little café. We were so close to the hotel, we could go back to the hotel and finish getting ready for the day.

Staff is really nice. The rooms are very clean. Very American. You will want for nothing.

Room Tip: We were right on the street. It was a little loud, but after 12 hours of walking and a couple of gla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay.

We appreciate your positive comments, as well as your constructive feedback which I have already shared with the team and I will follow up personally. Apologies for any expectation that we may have failed to fulfill.

We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and appreciate your valuable opinions.

I look forward to welcoming you soon and try to show you our improvement.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We arrived at the Doubletree after traveling from the USA at about 4:00 PM. They took our luggage and checked us in promptly. With all apologies that our room needed another ten minutes to be ready we were invited to enjoy a beverage on the house.

The room is adequate but nothing special, but the location is very central. The concierge had the six pre-ordered museum passes so they were obtained for our touring with friends starting tomorrow morning.

We walked around and explored the neighborhood, finally returning to the Doubletree at about 7:00. After a very long day, a short night, and another long day, it was time to shower and relax, and call it a day. A pleasant surprise awaited us in our room from the Doubletree! They left us a plate of sweets and a plate of fresh fruit. This sure helped round out our “Dinner” for the evening.

Our first morning traveling friends arrived and were surprised their rooms were ready before 8:00 AM. Kudos to the Doubletree for getting them situated so quickly! Due to our Hilton status, our breakfast was complementary. I wanted our friends to join us but was quite taken aback when I learned that for those who are paying, the breakfast is 47 Turkish Lira per person. That was nearly $25 US. This was a nice breakfast, but it's not near a $25 breakfast!

Our second evening the Doubletree left us some parting treats in our room. Again, very appreciated. All the staff we interacted with seemed very pleasant. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank startraindd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This was my first Double Tree experience.I would go back. The food was great, I loved the welcome cookie! Comfortable beds and a nice rooftop, lovely staff. Don't bother with breakfast - it's not bad but poor value and you can eat amazing stuff in local cafes. The location is perfect, no matter what you want to do in Istanbul.
I think that the staff should put guests directly in taxis as it's not outside the front door and I saw some taxi drivers trying to overcharge tourists and arguing with them. If the staff put them in and tell them to switch on the meter this wouldn't happen.
I usually refuse to stay in hotels without free wifi, that is my only complaint. It's not acceptable in this day and age.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remarkable_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read that you had positive thoughts about our hotel and your stay.

I would like to say the reason the internet is charged is because the Hilton Hotels have an agreement with an internet server called ‘’Swisscom’’ for your safety. This agreement applies to all the hotels. On the First Floor, we have a business centre which is open 24 hours for our guests and free of charge.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town in the near future.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Kadıköy
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda
Sultanahmet
Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul - Sirkeci
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#63 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#105 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,692 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,139 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town

Address: Beyazit Mahallesi, Ordu Caddesi No 31, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#49 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#80 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#97 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £51 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and homelike surroundings at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Istanbul - Old Town hotel. Our friendly and attentive staff will even greet you with our delicious chocolate chip cookie. Set in the heart of Istanbul's old town on the Historical Peninsula of Turkey, the contemporary DoubleTree Old Town Istanbul hotel is only 30 minutes east of the airport and is the nearest hotel to the famous covered Grand Bazaar. Visit attractions such as the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace near the hotel or discover this exciting city by foot. Retire to a spacious guest room or suite at this Istanbul hotel. All rooms are stylishly decorated and are fully equipped with modern amenities. Upgrade to a suite for extra space, including a separate living area and beautiful terrace, ideal for relaxing on sunny days. Host a meeting or celebrate a special event at the DoubleTree Old Town Istanbul hotel and choose between five flexible meeting rooms or the stunning top-floor ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Istanbul - Old Town Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing