We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value in Sultanahmed for Families”
Review of Asitane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Asitane Hotel
Ranked #163 of 1,047 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Value in Sultanahmed for Families”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We decided to rent the family room, since we were traveling with our 2 kids for a 2 week vacation in Istanbul. The price we paid was an excellent value- one double bed and two twin beds in a double room with views of both the Marmara Sea and the minarets of the Blue Mosque. Breakfast was included, which is nice to be able to take care of at the hotel before you go on a day of walking, taking in the sites, etc... The staff is very friendly and hospitable and the hotel is very clean. The air conditioning works very well. There is a nearby grocery store, which we would frequent to put drinks in our in-room refrigerator. Trust me, after a long day of exploring the city, it is great to come back to a clean room with air conditioning, clean nice bedsheets and cold drinks. It is also nice to have a friendly staff that tries to their best to make sure you are comfortable.
You can certainly find fancier hotels in Istanbul- with swimming pools, larger rooms, etc... but it is important to note that those hotels are not usually in Sultanahmed and come with a much bigger price tag. If you want to stay at the Four Seasons, be prepared to pay for it! This hotel is true to how it is advertised. The pictures are realistic. Again, the staff is great. Our son is a picky eater and the staff helped us order Dominos Pizza several times at our hotel (embarrassing to admit since the food in Istanbul was amazing, but you know how kids can be). We loved our two week vacation in Istanbul with our kids and are happy we chose the family room at this hotel.
I would also recommend arranging airport transfer through the hotel. The van that picked us up from the airport was very comfortable and large enough for all of our luggage. It was also air-conditioned and had a tv inside playing a "Welcome to Istanbul" video. The driver greeted us immediately and took care of everything. You do not want to start your vacation getting ripped off by a cabbie taking you around in circles after a long flight. This was the best way for us to start our trip, especially as we were exhausted and had young children with us. A great value for families with kids!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelwithKids69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    35
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
21
23
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

My husband and I had booked to stay here for one night with my parents-in-law. Unfortunately, when we arrived, the manager told us that one of his staff had taken our booking when he was absent, not realising that there were no rooms left. Since I had booked online some weeks previously and then had been corresponding with the hotel since my booking about a number of things (what payment types they accept etc), I found it frankly unbelievable that there had been no opportunity to tell us this. I suspect that they had the opportunity to take a booking that was longer than one night, so decided to 'bump' us off without having the courtesy to tell us.

They had organised a room for us at another hotel round the corner (the Serdivan Apart Hotel - see separate review). By the time we had reached Istanbul and realised we no longer had a booking at Asitane Hotel, we didn't have much choice than to accept this. It was OK in the end, but if I had wanted to stay there I would have booked direct!! I wouldn't be surprised if Asitane Hotel deliberately takes double bookings so they could pass the excess on to their friends at Serdivan Apart Hotel - speaking to staff at the Serdivan Apart Hotel, it seemed to be something that happened quite frequently.

So frankly a totally unacceptable way to treat people who have booked at your hotel - I would recommend avoiding this hotel and going for somewhere more reliable that won't let you down.

By the way, from what we saw of the hotel it wasn't in a very good area - it was quite a run down district and the steep hills could make walking difficult for some people, especially if carrying luggage. At the beginning of our trip, we stayed closer to the Ayia Sofia which much more convenient and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki,Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The triple room is very big and comfortable! Also, it is very clean and the staff is very polite ! The hotel is located very close to historical monuments and the only negative point is the noise from outdoors! Good price and good breakfast!

Room Tip: triple room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntemis81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
386 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

this is a nice hotel in a very touristy area. very comfy beds. have a good breakfast spread too. if unavailable try hotel serdevin just across the road. ask for lower floor as they dont have elevator.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aspi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

i never thought i can get such a nice hotel with such a good price. rooms are very clean and stuff in the hotel are very friendly and specially atilla and ozan. hotel is situated in the heart of istanbul and very close to all historical places in the istanbul. breakfast is very nice and fresh and you can go by hotel transport service to airport and any other place for cheaper price than taking taxi.if i go to istanbul and if i meet anybody who has plan to go to istanbul i will recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooman_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I am a twenty-three year-old Southern girl who has spent the last three years living in Italy, Hungary, and Austria. My parents trade off coming to visit each year and it was Daddy's turn to come. Dad and I chose to take a trip throughout Turkey and Istanbul was our first stop. We were so pleased! Our stay at the Asitane was fabulous.

We arrived in the evening and were invited to share Turkish tea with the owner as he gave us ideas for our days in Istanbul. He was incredibly helpful, spending a lot of time setting up a shuttle bus to the airport and calling travel agencies regarding the remainder of our trip. He gave us great suggestions of places to go and restaurants to try, and always was there to ask about our outings when we returned. The entire staff was quick to accommodate us in every situation.

The room itself was very spacious, clean, and nice. It was tastefully decorated and quite comfortable. The included wifi and breakfast were perfect! The location of the hotel is central to all of the main sights in Turkey.

I was so pleased with our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay at the Asitane to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaKristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asitanehotel, Sahibi at Asitane Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for your kind interest to our Hotel. Asitane Life Hotel is always willing to improve the service quality for its quests in the historic peninsula ( Sultanahmet ) with its service team, cleanness and peaceful atmosphere. We know our responsblity to business, culture and hospitality.

* As you can imagine this is not our first review, unfortunately we lost our reviews last month because of some technical problems issued on tripadvisor.com we wish to see the website will solve the problem and put back to our page the lost information which was, 7 perfect and 8 very good rated reviews with beautiful words about our stuff and familly running lovely hotel.


best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Tayhan Hotel
#997 of 1,141 in Istanbul
75 reviews
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#245 of 1,141 in Istanbul
712 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Nobel Hotel
Best Nobel Hotel
#663 of 1,141 in Istanbul
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyazıt
Hotel Gedik Pasa Konagi
Hotel Gedik Pasa Konagi
#897 of 1,141 in Istanbul
214 reviews
Fors Hotel
#575 of 1,141 in Istanbul
113 reviews
Grand Mark Hotel
#846 of 1,141 in Istanbul
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asitane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asitane Hotel

Property: Asitane Hotel
Address: Emin Sinan Mah. Piyerloti Cad. Tulcu Sok. No:35 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 1,047 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Asitane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capital of the Civilizations that not only made their own but many other countries’ history, ISTANBUL! Our hotel which is located in Sultanahmet area that sheltered the most significant historical and touristique places of Istanbul city which has hosted many civilizations and has been a bridge between East and West, Asia and Europe; provides you a peaceful ambiance with its walking distance to Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia and Topkapi Museums, Grand Bazaar, Hippodrome and Suleymaniye Mosque and all of the rooms with sea view which was designed according to the comfortableness and ease of our guests no matter what is the goal of your trip; business or touristique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Asitane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing