We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Galata Istanbul Hotel
Ranked #582 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great friendly budget hotel”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I from Australia spent a week in Istanbul and used the hotel as our base for exploring the old city and Gallipoli.
This is a small, clean, budget hotel in a great location and the staff did everything they could to make our trip enjoyable. They always welcomed us back from our day with a complementary cup of tea or coffee. They organised our transport to and from the airport as well as our trip to Gallipoli.
It was great to sit at the tables in the street and be part of the old city. The breakfasts had plenty of variety and we enjoyed these immensely. There are plenty of restaurants within five minutes walk and we ate at many of them.
We recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get away from the big international hotels where you could be anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 46BobD46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    39
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
19
38
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new orleans
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The most pleasant experıence at thıs hotel!....the most unforgettable memorıes of Turkey happened here, at thıs lıttle and very well attended hotel ın the best part of the Suntanhamet area,,,,,,I left today and I wıll return....

I arrıved ın Istanbul on August 12,2013 and I stayed at the Prınce Hotel, only because my frıends had reserved that hotel. Please read my revıew on the Prınce, ıf I could gıve that hotel MINUS 5 STARS, I would,,,,,,ıt was beyond horrıble.

After tourıng Turkey wıth my son I returned to thıs hotel. the Galata. whıch had honored my reservatıon even wıthout askıng for a deposıt. When I called from the aırport to tell them I was on my way wıth my son, the A,,C was turned on and our room was waıtıng for us!!!

Ugur, at the front desk ıs the absolute bestt!!! the hotel welcomes you,,,,you feel the warmth of the people workıng behınd the lıttle desk....coffee and water and tea are free of charge and the rooms are cleaned and adorable.

In thıs country, most of the bookıngs of hotels are done by bookıngs.com whıch ıs deplorable because they mıslead the customer and when you read my revıew of the Prınce hotel. around the corner from thıs one. you wıll see what I mean.

At breakfast tıme there ıs an attentıve server makıng sure that your cup of coffee ıs fılled all the tıme! and the most ımportant thıng that makes thıs lıttle place over a 5 star hotel ratıng ıs that when someone calls you, they know who you are and your room number and before passıng the call, the attendant lets you know who ıs callıng!!,,,,,your wake up calls happen at the tıme you request ıt,,,,

I am very tough at revıews not only because I have worked ın the hotel ındustry but mostly because I know that ıf I pay for 4 stars, I want to receıve what 4 stars delıver,,,,but wıth the Galata hotel I paıd very lıttle and I felt lıke an Empress!!!

I learned today that ıf you book the hotel dırectly, they wıll pıck you up at the aırport really free of charge, The Prınce Hotel offers the same but stıck you wıth 40 Euros for transfer when the real fare from the aırport to thıs part of town ıs maxımum 40 Turkısh Lıra whıch ıs about 20 Amercan Dollars.

I wıll return to the Galata Hotel and I am takıng fond memorıes of thıs place and the people that work at the hotel that have made ıt possıble.

Best,
Azulıca
New Orleans

Room Tip: I had room 303 wıth a lıttle covered balcony...nothıng espectacular but ohhhhhhhhhhh so nıce to plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Azulica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ittre, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I spent a night in galata istanbul hotel with my family.
The family room was very spacious and had two bathrooms.
and the most important point is that Ugur was very kind with us an the service was perfect!
If i come back in istanbul... i'll come back here again absolutely...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
Level Contributor
170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

an excellent location It is close to everything one needs yet in the privacy of a side lane. very friendly and cooperative staff. contributed towards a great holiday and we will certainly stay there again when in Istanbul. free wifi a great boon.!! wish they had more english channels on the TV though. Great budget hotel - will recommend for sure !

Room Tip: get a room facing street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rekha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

So I ended up at this hotel because my original hotel was overbooked. It is not the Hilton, but certainly has charm. The decor is a little dated, but that doesn't bother me as long as everything is clean and well maintained. I had the room right behind the breakfast area. It was spacious and clean. It had 2 beds sofa, TV, coffee and tea supplies, etc. The bathroom was well stocked with soaps, hair dryer, etc . Despite being on the main floor, I had no trouble sleeping. There is subway construction going on nearby but the noise seems to stop at around 10 in the evening. The staff were very helpful and attended to any requests quickly. Internet is free and works most times. The breakfast was adequate but then I am not particularly fussy. What makes this hotel very good, is really the staff. They have very good english skills and are always willing to provide information on getting around the old city. If I didn't have a previous reservation, I would have been quite happy to stay a few more nights at this hotel. Location is fantastic with lots of sites, shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yu243229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I chose this hotel because of its location and family room. We are a family of 5, my husband and I, a 14, 11 and 3 year old. We had room 202 which included 2 bedrooms with 2 single beds, a sofa bed, a double bed and another sofa bed. The rooms are spacious enough with 2 big wardrobes. Air conditioner was only in our room but the kids seemed to sleep through the heat in the other room. The room was a back facing room to the train station but we hardly heard a sound from there, more noise from passerbys. The room was fairly clean, towels replaced daily and room cleaned too. Decor was nice, a bit unfinished but expected for the style of place it is. Breakfast was plenty with a few options. The hotel was close to the tram, train, ferries and a few minutes walk to Sultanahmet with the historic sites. We found it easy enough to get to Istiklal and Taksim by tram. The staff was friendly and helpful. The price was a little high but we chose the convenience of the hotel location and room. Plenty of eateries around. Recommended place to stay.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryEvano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missoula/MT/USA Rome/Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Small hotel at walking distance from everything you would like to see in Istanbul (5 minutes to Aya Sofia)Rooms are very clean with beautiful decor and air conditioning that works perfectly. Bathrooms are modern though not extremely large. Breakfast is good with plenty of choices. Reception very kind with good spoken English. I will strongly suggest the Galata hotel especially for the quality versus price. I paid less then 40 euros and felt I was staying in a good 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kara368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#147 of 1,140 in Istanbul
923 reviews
Sultanahmet
Flower Palace Hotel
Flower Palace Hotel
#373 of 1,140 in Istanbul
167 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Nobel Hotel
Best Nobel Hotel
#661 of 1,140 in Istanbul
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Old City Viva Hotel
Old City Viva Hotel
#597 of 1,140 in Istanbul
201 reviews
Sultanahmet
Septimum Hotel
Septimum Hotel
#484 of 1,140 in Istanbul
71 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
#293 of 1,140 in Istanbul
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galata Istanbul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galata Istanbul Hotel

Property: Galata Istanbul Hotel
Address: Hocapasa Mah. Nobethane Cd. No: 24 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #582 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Galata Istanbul Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galata Istanbul Hotel is a small and exclusive hotel newly opened in the exciting and historic centre of Sirkeci, adjacent to Sultanahmet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galata Istanbul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing